Dubspot Reviews | Glassdoor

Dubspot Reviews

Updated Sep 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.6
3%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Dubspot full-time

    Pros

    The coworkers are amazing. And you can't beat being around inspired music producer students all day.

    Cons

    CEO is his own worst enemy

    Dubspot2018-09-18
  2. "Poor Mgmt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Dubspot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fun place great ppl its nice to get paid doin what you love

    Cons

    sucky mgmt owner is a narcissist

    Continue reading
    Dubspot2019-09-26
  3. "Sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Instructor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Dubspot full-time

    Pros

    Super great team, students are cool

    Cons

    boss is a narcissist, never pays on time

    Continue reading
    Dubspot2019-05-09
  4. "is there a 0 star rating?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Dubspot full-time

    Pros

    there are no pros, given that it's in the process of closing down

    Cons

    fraudulent culture, don't expect to get paid.

    Dubspot2018-03-21
  5. "Great curriculum. Great Teachers. Horrible management and CEO. Stay away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ableton Instructor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Dubspot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great curriculum. Great Teachers. Used to have a great community there.

    Cons

    Horrible management and CEO. They expanded too far and haven't paid instructors in months.

    Continue reading
    Dubspot2018-02-24
  6. "Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Dubspot part-time

    Pros

    Great teachers, ambitious students, good curriculum

    Cons

    Terrible management, lack of pay for teachers lead to no teachers for enrolled students which lead to student refund requests that didn't happen. An absolute mess!!

    Continue reading
    Dubspot2017-05-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ADMISSIONS & TECH in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Dubspot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You meet nice people who are also being ripped off.

    Cons

    Former employee here. Dubspot has fraudulent practices. Do not attend their classes. Do not work there. Classes: Course material for most of the classes ESPECIALLY the online courses is extremely outdated. The NY & LA school locations have shut down, and Dubspot is online-based currently. However, instead of updating material they will just continue to offer outdated lessons. Not to mention the curriculum designers that made these lessons for them have YET TO BE PAID. Also, Dubspot books full classes without having a classroom full of working equipment. They just book the class and hope enough students are absent so that every student that actually shows up has a station. If there are classes that are up to date such as Sound Design or Ableton (just a few examples) they have no instructor or the instructor will quit shortly after starting the class. DUBSPOT BOOKS CLASSES WITHOUT HAVING AN INSTRUCTOR TO TEACH THEM FIRST. THEN WHEN THE CLASS START DATE ACTUALLY APPROACHES, THEY POSTPONE THE CLASS. THEN IF THEY STILL CANT GET AN INSTRUCTOR THEY OFFER YOU A FREE CLASS OR ADDITIONAL CLASSES, DISCOUNTED OR FREE. The new class will have no instructor either or the instructor will drop out before the class finishes because DUBSPOT doesn't pay instructors. Refunds: Just get a lawyer. Dubspot is owned and ran by solely one individual. He will not give you your money back without a fight. The support, billing and admissions accounts for Dubspot are ran by one person at the moment who is not the owner. They have no control over refunds. You can contact the person all you want. They really can't help you. They will just point you to the Dubspot policies page because they don't know what else to do. Just join the rest of us and get a lawyer. Save the frustration of constantly reaching out and waiting for a response. Students spend their life savings and relocate from other countries to attend classes because of the prestige Dubspot used to have. They are out of luck. They will have to fight for their money back too. It's really sad. Teachers: Whatever money you pay for a class does not go to instructors. This problem has increased since 2015. There are LA and NYC and ONLINE instructors that have yet to be paid their wages for years now. Dubspot owes over 10K to MANY instructors. Before I left one instructor had no food to survive on and drank water all day…also many were in eviction court. This is all because The owner keeps promising to pay them and they feel committed to the students, so they try to finish out their classes. The owner tells them pay is late because of low course enrollment, yet the instructors miraculously USUALLY have full classes to teach on an ongoing basis. Dubspot in General: The business has been sinking for years. I worked there for almost two months because the owner hired me to help turn the business around. However, he refused to change business practices. He wires payment to those he does pay and never provides a stub or W2 so no one knows what/if taxes are even being paid. There were eviction notices every month at the old location in NYC and the new NYC location. The LA location as well suffered from Eviction. The owner would not pay to have trash picked up for months. So there was a sanitation problem. The new NYC location was also not insured. Also, the day before I resigned, the owner asked me to help sell a classroom full of MAC monitors. I refused, but he and another instructor who was rightfully desperate for money, sold the monitors. The school is obviously sinking to irreparable levels. Do not attend ANY classes. Do not teach ANY classes. You will regret it.

    Continue reading
    Dubspot2017-04-05
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Say goodbye to stability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dubspot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Other employees and students. The majority of people involved or wanting to get involved are passionate and talented people. Per hour pay is theoretically good for what the job asks of you.

    Cons

    No guarantee you'll be paid. Pay periods are meaningless, quite common to be behind 2 maybe even 4 paychecks. CEO is a guilt tripping ghost. He will make you feel like you mean a lot to the company and then vanish when you need him most.

    Continue reading
    Dubspot2016-12-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Dubspot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The teachers and students are an amazing network to be a part of and manage to do a ton with little support from the top

    Cons

    The CEO is inept, lies, and would benefit from a partner or some type of system of checks and balances.

    Continue reading
    Dubspot2016-09-21
  10. Helpful (7)

    "If you're thinking of working here...don't fall for the charade."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Dubspot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team that was once assembled there could have been called one of the most magnificent, top notch groups of staff in the entire world. This team disintegrated coast to coast within less than a year. What a waste.

    Cons

    Where to begin.... Late pay, ALWAYS. I was never less than three weeks behind in the entire two years I worked there. Didn't handle the state taxes to CA properly for the LA school employees, which the franchise tax board came down on me and some other W4 staff personally for. DS ended up paying it, nine months later, at the behest of their accountant, who said "the only ethical thing for you to do is pay it" (instead of the corrected W2 I waited months for which never came). Constantly late on the rent payments, so sheriffs visited the school, during class hours, in front of the students, to serve monthly eviction papers. Utilities (such as internet) were routinely left unpaid, and basic operations were often impossible. These things were always blamed on "low admissions sales/numbers," rather than "terrible finance management," which would've been much more accurate. CEO, in control of ALL finances and major decisions, would go radio silent for weeks sometimes. The NYC campus fared no better, and staff were dropping like flies from both campuses by the day. There was no HR department for the entire second year of my employment...two HR directors quit during the time I was there. The director of the NYC school was saddled with the responsibility of doing HR work. I hardly feel the need to go on at this point.

    Continue reading
    Dubspot2016-04-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 28 reviews