Ducommun Aero Structures Reviews | Glassdoor

Ducommun Aero Structures Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Good management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Ducommun Aero Structures full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with at all divisions.

    Cons

    Limited opportunity for advancement. Huge gap between senior management salaries and middle management/non-management.

    Ducommun Aero Structures2014-07-04
  2. "Hot form operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - KS - Kansas in Parsons, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ducommun Aero Structures full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    This is a very good place to work you have good benefits and they have a pretty good pay.

    Cons

    They tell you that you are going to work ever other day and you end up working everyday of your life.

    Advice to Management

    Let more time off and keep the over time moving just not as much.

    Ducommun Aero Structures2017-08-16
  3. "Ducommun Aero Structures review by former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ducommun Aero Structures

    Pros

    1.good people 2. steady paycheck 3.most weekends off

    Cons

    1. low pay compared to rest of the industry 2.advancements in metallurgy is making chemical milling obsolete 3.band-aid company when it comes acquiring equipment to do job correctly 4. most current employees are very long term - little advancement oppurtunity

    Advice to Management

    1. improve pay and more preparation for future

    Ducommun Aero Structures2016-08-16
  4. "Sr. Scheduler & Project Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Scheduler & Project Planner in Van Nuys, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ducommun Aero Structures for more than 2 years

    Pros

    One of the oldest manufacturing companies left in CA. Great place to learn about structural aerospace engineering. Fast pace environment and very skilled technicians.

    Cons

    Lack of senior management at this site cost them a lot of business and trouble with federal regulations on aerospace manufacturing.

    Ducommun Aero Structures2016-08-05
  5. "Awful place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Parsons, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Ducommun Aero Structures full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Fellow employees are good people but exhausted from working 7 days a week.

    Cons

    Most pay is very low for aerospace industry. Equipment is okd. Adding onto the plant but little planning done prior to building.

    Advice to Management

    Actuallt pay attention and really listen to what employees have to say. Treat your employees like the are people too.

    Ducommun Aero Structures2016-08-25
  6. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ducommun Aero Structures

    Pros

    a lot of space for one to grow.

    Cons

    there are not enough engineers.

    Ducommun Aero Structures2016-06-17
  7. "One employees experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Bernardino, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ducommun Aero Structures for more than 4 years

    Pros

    1. Co-workers were friendly and willing to show new people the ropes 2. Informal enviroment and management was willing to talk to you about issues. 3. Free water

    Cons

    1. Very low pay for aerospace industry. 2. Small pay increases ( 30 or 40 cents an hour once a year was the norm) 3. Access to equipment to perform duties is hard to come by (usually had employees repair old equipment)

    Ducommun Aero Structures2016-04-03
  8. "Need to invest in the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manufacturing Engineer in Carson, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ducommun Aero Structures

    Pros

    Friendly environment. Carson leadership is very caring and wanting to engage employees

    Cons

    Equipment and process is old. Company needs to continue invest for the future business. Need more talent engineer not directors or corporate direction

    Advice to Management

    Invest in our future through new capital equipment, automation and training. Cannot harvesting Carson forever.

    Ducommun Aero Structures2015-12-23
  9. "Mixed messages from management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ducommun Aero Structures full-time

    Pros

    Solid product, factory workers really about about doing a good job, some really good people scattered through the organization, company has promise if they get their act together and invest

    Cons

    Lots of catering to problem employees, half-hearted attempted at LEAN, change management and reinventing the company beyond an old school job shop. Little to no administrative support, they tend to cheap out when it comes to investment in the company, and they're unwilling to remove negative employees that get in the way of progress. Lastly, the facility is a bit of a dump.

    Advice to Management

    If you are going to promote change, you need to see it all the way through

    Ducommun Aero Structures2015-10-27
  10. "Never ending..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Administrative Assistant in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ducommun Aero Structures full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The attention to detail in each job is something I enjoyed, due to my OCD.. The vast knowledge I have acquired at each job continue to improve my skills in other jobs.

    Cons

    I was so busy, I never had time to think of a negative thought. It was a great experience...

    Ducommun Aero Structures2015-06-26
Found 18 reviews