Dudnyk Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Dudnyk President Chris Tobias, PhD (no image)
Chris Tobias, PhD
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Account Management in Horsham, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dudnyk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really like the agency's location because I don't live too far away from Horsham and it beats relying on SEPTA to get into the city. The office is just a few minutes from the PA Turnpike and easy to get to. It's nice to be able to work for a top agency and NOT have to commute to the city to do so. The people who work at Dudnyk are amazing and I felt "at home" very quickly after I started here. I have read some reviews on here about egos, but I don't really think that's the case anymore (for the most part - you always have people with big egos at ANY company.) Team members are respected for their contributions and people work very hard to deliver very high quality work to our clients. The creative produced by the agency is amazing. We don't always get to share it publicly though, because MLR reviews can water it down from time to time. But, that doesn't stop the team from exploring new and different ways to advertise to patients and HCPS and the creative juices are always flowing here.

    Cons

    Although, I do feel that my salary is competitive vs. other agencies, my job title is at a lower level than where I would like to be at this point in my career and expectations for my job level are comparable to job titles 1-2 levels above my current title at other agencies. I could move to a position 1-2 levels above where I am if I wanted to move to another agency, but I really do love my job here at Dudnyk and I do get paid well. I just don't feel my title reflects the level of responsibility that I've taken on while working here.

    Continue reading

    Dudnyk Response

    September 20, 2018HR

    I appreciate you taking the time to share your supportive thoughts and experiences while working here with us at Dudnyk. I encourage you to have a conversation with your manager about your concern related to your title and level of responsibilities. Having an open dialogue with your manager on this topic may help you define your career ladder better and outline the trajectory you would like to have in our organization. Thank you again for your thoughts. Christopher Tobias, PhD President

  2. "Overall a great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Department 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dudnyk full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great work/life balance. You can leave work at the office without being on call after hours. (This may be different for the account team). No one checks email when they're on PTO. Hours are flexible enough for people to come in a little later or leave a little earlier for the occasional doctor's appointment or kid's soccer game. - People actually care about each other here. Departments might send a basket of food for someone with a new baby or throw a shower with a nice card and monetary gift for someone getting married. The atmosphere is casual enough that you'll get to know a little bit about your coworkers' families and can joke about the funny things your kids say. Chris, the president, actually knows everyone by name even if they don't work with him directly. - They invest in their employees, so they're willing to train you in new skills or let you work on more of the things you're interested in, when possible. They've brought in instructors from AGI for Sketch (the design program) and UI/UX, among others. - They produce excellent work and are a growing company. There's a number of openings because the agency has won some new business. They've recently been acquired by Fishawack, and upper management says that the agency will pretty much be allowed to continue operating as usual. Fishawack isn't legally allowed to make changes for at least another year, so hopefully the promise will turn out to be true. Overall, it's a great place to work if you're looking for strong work/life balance and the pharmaceutical marketing industry.

    Cons

    - Very few people here care about the environment and there's a lot of unnecessary waste. People use disposable plates, cups, and silverware like it's going out of style. They did buy branded ceramic mugs for the copious amounts of k-cup coffee people consume, so at least that helps when people actually use them. People print a LOT of documents, sometimes because they want to and sometimes because agency processes require it. - The location is terrible. It's not close to any decent public transportation, and it's a 15 minute drive from the downtown area. The agency has lost a number of employees to other agencies located in the city. However, they won't be moving any time soon because the office space out here is significantly cheaper than downtown. - Client teams can be unorganized and cause the team members to stay late working, but the workload fluctuates. Sometimes it's caused by big things like a launch or small things like miscommunication within the team. Sometimes the communication between account and creative can get a little fuzzy and cause problems. However, higher-ups do try to smooth out processes and improve communication to avoid these types of problems.

    Continue reading

    Dudnyk Response

    July 23, 2019HR

    Thank you for sharing your kind thoughts about our organization. Achieving work/life balance can be tough in this industry, but it has always been an important facet of our Agency's culture. I agree we can do more about the paper and plastic waste. We have a team implementing better sustainable options across the agency, and they always need additional ideas and participation. I welcome continued conversations on the topics you highlighted, so please stop by my office when you have time. Christopher Tobias, PhD President

  3. Helpful (11)

    "Meh"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dudnyk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • free food and drinks available • creating and launching new brands • a lot of employees have their own office • IT staff is awesome • Generally a lot of nice people work there

    Cons

    • BELIEVE IN OTHERS is a core value at Dudnyk. Unfortunately, too many people do not believe in others at Dudnyk. From account execs questioning every decision made by a creative to upper management snubbing opportunities from less seasoned team members to present work to clients, attend market research or many other career boosting experiences • turnover rate is ridiculously high • many on the account staff are not properly trained on managing client expectations • salaries seem on the mid to low end • healthcare coverage is poor • opportunities to grow are limited for many • project management has improved a lot over the past year but still has a long way to go due to the account driven nature of the old model • generally the account staff doesn’t work closely enough with the rest of the team to determine the best way forward when planning. Often times pm, art and copy are left trying to clean up and fix the disastrous situations they have been forced into by bad decisions made in private between AE and clients.

    Continue reading

    Dudnyk Response

    March 12, 2019HR

    I am saddened to have only learned of your feelings about our organization in this venue, especially while we are working together every day. I believe each member of our team has the ability to bring value and be valued, so your feelings about our culture is not in line with my beliefs or the culture we desire to establish. I would hope the negative comments you shared about the cross departmental communication challenges and lack of opportunities for career growth have been discussed with your manager. If you have, and you feel there has not been a benefit, please stop by my office. I welcome the opportunity to listen, learn more, and work to support the challenges all of us face each day. Let’s discuss this soon. Christopher Tobias, PhD President

  4. Helpful (7)

    "Account management"

    1.0
     

    I worked at Dudnyk

    Pros

    The infamous healthy free snacks & water

    Cons

    The location, horsham, and the dated talent

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Overall not great"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dudnyk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a few genuinely kind employees will want to help you succeed and who truly love their work. There are great office snacks and helpful tech support.

    Cons

    Company culture feels like forced fun and does little to bring people together in a very cliquey environment. Unless you live near Horsham, it's a hike to get to and offers very little (hope you like Corner Bakery and Qdoba). Critiques are expressed via passive aggression rather than direct guidance. Onboarding training is an overwhelming process that, in the end, contributes very little to your learning. Unless you have a good manager, training can be very difficult and you will be left to learn by making mistakes.

    Continue reading

    Dudnyk Response

    January 29, 2019HR

    I am sorry to only hear of your feelings about our organization after you have left. Organizational growth leads to many challenges and it can be difficult building relationships when an environment is dynamically changing. I value the unique contributions each employee can provide our teams and our clients, so certain statements you make about our culture and accountability are not in line with my belief in our core values. If you would be willing, I would like to speak with you to understand more about your negative perceptions. My direct line is 267-532-1026. I look forward to our discussion. Christopher Tobias, PhD, President

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great core beliefs guiding creative brand stories"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Dudnyk full-time

    Pros

    Great people and innovative ideas

    Cons

    Commute can be hard from the city

  7. Helpful (9)

    "A Place Worth Your Talents"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Director, Vice President in Horsham, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dudnyk full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I am writing this as a personal testimony of my experience at Dudnyk. Not everyone will have this experience. But to allow these recent reviews to sit on this site without someone coming forward and offering their truth does a disservice to the employees who are here working hard every day, trying to produce great work for our clients and to make this company a place worth coming to every morning. I am part of the creative leadership team, and very recently added a VP title to my name. I’ve been here for 8 years, comprising most of my professional career. I have never worked at a network agency, digital-only agency, med comm agency, or payer agency. I am great friends with many of my colleagues. I guess this all makes me one of the types of people who have been mentioned several times in these Dudnyk reviews in recent months. I guess for people who look at jobs like stepping stones, they probably can’t understand why so many people choose to stay at Dudnyk for many years. I have always felt professionally and personally fulfilled at this agency, and I would love to share some examples of this. Career growth: Since my first year at Dudnyk, I’ve had open and honest conversations with my manager about my career path. Based on my own experience, people at Dudnyk are not handed titles. They earn them. Everyone at the management level has steadily worked their way into their current positions after spending many years in supporting roles. I’ve set goals and worked towards them, and I feel that my hard work has resulted in promotions at appropriate intervals. My manager has always done a great job at giving me real-time feedback, especially constructive feedback. Even when it’s hard to hear, I appreciate it because I know she cares enough to push me to be better. I believe creative leadership in general approaches management that way, although it is only when an employee is receptive to feedback that this model can truly work. Professional development: Dudnyk has provided on-site and off-site training to employees at regular intervals throughout the years. In some cases, such as presentation training and management training, Dudnyk has hired professionals to conduct workshops on site. In other cases, Dudnyk has paid for off-site training to help an employee strengthen a specific skill or learn a new skill. We all have access to an online system that offers classes and certifications in hundreds of topics, from an introduction to AfterEffects to SEO best practices. We constantly have opportunities to sharpen our skills to meet industry standards or step outside of our comfort zones and try something new. In addition, Dudnyk has facilitated employee attendance at some unique professional events, such as the Women’s Conference of PA. Creative work: We aren’t tossing bold creative into a powerpoint presentation for the sake of doing something cool. We approach every concepting job as an opportunity to be creative partners to our clients, developing strategic, focused, unique ideas that will help them accomplish their business goals and change behavior, most times in ways that can deliver a life-saving product to a person with a rare disease. We challenge ourselves to make our concepts bulletproof, both creatively and strategically, and we simply do not include ideas that we know won’t meet client expectations. Our creative philosophy has resulted in strong, award-winning work and has led to lasting client relationships. But we’re not close-minded about our creative process. One of the great things about our department’s growth over the last couple of years is that we’ve learned new ways to brainstorm and cultivate creative ideas, which has led to some truly awesome group concepting sessions. Many agencies produce work that we respect and admire, and as new team members come to us from other shops, we hope to learn new practices that can continue to push us creatively without sacrificing the quality of the final product. Social dynamic: People at Dudnyk are friendly, supportive, and generally pretty awesome. In my 8 years, I think I can count on one hand the number of truly crappy people who have worked here, and they didn’t last very long because we generally don’t put up with crappy people. Is it rainbows and sunshine 100% of the time? I mean, it’s advertising, so no. But when tensions are high or tough discussions are taking place, it’s for the sake of the work. In the past 3 years, I have seen a seismic shift in people checking their egos at the door and coming into a conversation with mutual respect. One of our core values is “Believe In Others,” and we live that out by believing that our colleagues have the best of intentions for each other and for our clients. Our EVP of Strategy recently shared his thoughts about how he feels accountable not only to the president (his boss) and the clients, but also to everyone on his team, and that is what drives him to put his best work forward. I do not think there are cliques at Dudnyk. I do think there are colleagues who know each other really well. Spending years of your life with people will generally result in genuine friendships. I honestly care about the people I work with, and I enjoy hanging out with them every day. I’ve celebrated with them, attended their weddings, hung out with their kids, and perhaps shared a microphone during an *NSYNC karaoke session (don’t judge). However, we do realize that as our agency has grown, we must make a stronger effort to bring new and veteran employees together, and we strive to do this with team-building and social activities both in and out of the office. Work/life balance: I truly feel that most of the time, I have balance between my job and the rest of my life. That doesn’t always mean that it’s an even 50/50 split. There are times when work requires much of my time and energy, and then there are times when my kids have a million recitals or playoff games, or they can’t stop catching each other’s colds. The key thing for me is that Dudnyk allows me flexibility when I need it. If you are looking for a 9 to 5 job, you’re probably in the wrong industry. Like any agency, work volume ebbs and flows based on your clients and your brands. I’ll have a few crazy weeks, then a few weeks when I can get a pedi on my lunch break and leave on time every day. Process: As any growing agency should, we are taking a hard look at our process and our approach to resourcing. We recognize that the previous PM model needed work, and we are currently taking steps to improve workflow and communication so that everyone feels they have the tools and time to do their jobs well. Even a few small changes put into practice over recent weeks have already made a huge difference, and I expect our evolving process will get even stronger in months to come. Misc: I could write about a million other things. The wellness programs. The paid volunteer time off. The book club. The trust clients have in us. The financial and hands-on support of various philanthropic causes. The freedom to play Disney music at an unreasonably loud volume. The covered parking, as mentioned in previous reviews. The ever-popular free snacks, although I personally think this pales in comparison to the free soda machine that provides flavored seltzer water and has helped me break my Diet Coke addiction.

    Cons

    I’m not going to pretend that Dudnyk is a perfect place of employment, because no agency is like that. We have grown a lot over the last couple of years, both in the size of our staff and the size of our clients, and as a result, our agency looks and feels a little different than it did 5 years ago. But we are counting on each other to identify pain points and brainstorm solutions. Those who don’t wish to be a part of the solution are jumping ship and apparently posting reviews on Glassdoor. Are there tense days and long nights? Absolutely! Many of our brands are for rare diseases, and many of our clients are trusting us to deliver for patients who are counting on them. The stakes are high, and so anyone who works here should be willing to go all in. If you’re not on board, Dudnyk is not for you.

    Continue reading

    Dudnyk Response

    April 18, 2018HR

    Thank you for taking time to provide the breadth of experiences at Dudnyk through your eyes. You are correct, our agency is not perfect, but always a work in progress. We will continue our efforts to best support our employees and clients as our industry and our organization evolves. Thank you for helping lead us and sharing what matters to you most. Christopher Tobias, PhD, President

  8. Helpful (11)

    "A mixed experience"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dudnyk full-time

    Pros

    The office is conveniently located off the Pennsylvania turnpike. Many employees have offices (as opposed to cubicles), which is kind of nice. The creative teams produce some very compelling branding work (in my opinion this is Dudnyk’s greatest strength). Contrary to some reviews, I experienced a perfectly reasonable work/life balance, which can be a rare commodity in the agency world. There are also other perks, such as free snacks, healthy lifestyle incentives, etc. Dudnyk also had one of the better onboarding processes I’ve experienced, a welcomed change from the “trial by fire” some other companies seem to deploy.

    Cons

    I found Dudnyk to be inflexible in the way they do things, despite what I gathered to be a desire to evolve. It was my experience that when new hires were brought in, there often was a reluctance to entertain new or differing ways of approaching work. Deviations from the norm didn’t seem to be appreciated, especially from newer employees. Of particular disappointment to me personally was the execution of the company core behaviors, particularly “Culture Matters”. I read several other Glassdoor reviews which referenced favoritism or “cliques”, observations I found to be exceedingly accurate. When joining any new company, there will be groups of people who have worked together and gotten to know each other…this is not only normal, but a sign of a healthy workplace. These groups at Dudnyk, however, seemed particularly exclusive and devoid of evolution. I felt this was on display within meetings, company events, etc. leading to feelings of deliberate exclusion to some. A few other “cons” of note were feelings of managerial inflexibility/ego and a lack of digital chops. The lack of digital, in particular, latters up to my earlier comment regarding the agency’s aversion to change, despite the perceived desire to evolve it’s services to a more integrated skillset.

    Continue reading

    Dudnyk Response

    April 10, 2018HR

    Thank you for the positive comments on our efforts related to work/life balance, workspace layout, focus on supporting a healthy lifestyle, and on-boarding process. We work hard to recognize areas that can best support our colleagues. I am sorry to learn of your negative perceptions pertaining to “change” through this venue. I welcome a conversation with you to better understand what led to these perceptions. My office line is 267-532-1026. Christopher Tobias, PhD, President

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Genuinely Very Good Place to Come to Work Everyday"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dudnyk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hardworking and motivated people galore; opportunity to work on great work; very good and direct review process; a genuine desire from leadership to make this a great place to work; most people at Dudnyk are genuinely doing their best and expect the same from everyone they work with - on many different levels. That may mean working hard, increasing your subject matter knowledge, treating your peers with respect, being direct, or keeping a positive attitude.

    Cons

    The former project management model has flaws, but is now changing; promotions do not seem standardized; consistently poor communicators not identified as major detractors from team morale

    Dudnyk Response

    March 22, 2018HR

    Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts about working at Dudnyk. We appreciate your comments and are grateful that you shared your experience. Feedback is the best way for us to learn how to support each member of our company and ensure we are continually striving to create a fulfilling work environment. I welcome a continued discussion on your topics when you have time. Thanks again. Christopher Tobias, PhD, President

  10. Helpful (16)

    "All the red flags just look like flags with your Dudnyk blinders"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dudnyk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Modern office, free snacks and drinks, basically everyone has a bar in their office (I will get to this later), safe location and parking, they recognize good branding, pay well, they hire well (but fire poorly, and make no incentive to stay for those contemplating moving on.)

    Cons

    As highlighted by the existing reviews, it is obvious even at first glance that virtually no-one is "on the fence" about Dudnyk. Its either 5 star or 1 star. The positive reviews were likely written by the management in an attempt to whitewash this site. Most of the senior management brags about being with the company for "X many years" as a boast of authority in their field, but in the creative/marketing industry, this can paralyze an organization, as in this example due to the lack of modern training. Many senior members have not held similar positions elsewhere and as such lack the real-world experience needed to successfully collaborate within a diverse team. This, I feel is the heart of the culture clash at Dudnyk. Senior creative employees are extremely insecure with their personal work and will often target individuals they perceive as a threat (self awareness of inevitable irrelevance maybe). As mentioned in other reviews, new ideas are encouraged but when presented, are often shot down and not actually welcomed. The fact that Dudnyk habitually hires senior employees from outside the organization instead of promoting from within shows the lack of faith this leadership places on mid-level and junior employees, which is in stark contrast to the amount of responsibility that is placed on junior and mid level employees, as noted by the poor work-life balance and the bar in every office. Late nights and weekends are something you better want to participate in if you consider working here. Work WILL come to your desk at 5:30 and you MUST stay till its done, and yes you are expected back in at 9 the next morning, regardless. Much of this is due to the lack of efficiency within the project management structure (which has been in flux for years). Egos. Holy smokes! In creative meetings mgmt. rallies around everyone to come up with "cutting edge - never been done before designs", however their cutting room floor is frequently their greatest creative resource [insert recycle symbol here]. Great ideas percolate up through the ranks from junior and mid-level artists until, it hits the brick wall of the management. ego. Make no mistake there is disdain in the ranks towards management because of this. If you find yourself as part of one of the few cliques, wonderful! If not... keep your head down, and resume` warm. There are many stories of people quitting or getting fired for "no reason given", as such, turnover is incredibly high. In spite of all of this, striking work does get delivered to the clients, though it needs to be said that this is at the cost of the lower level employees work-life balance, because the project management in this company is an absolute joke! Projects constantly need pointless rework because of poor, or no communication, lack of proper planning, failure to yield to warnings, leadership being disconnected from the modern digital age, and the wrong person doing the wrong job. (also just sloppy work because of unrealistic timelines and "process") If you are still considering Dudnyk, here is a fair warning: pay close attention to the sick day/PTO offerings, it is like no other white-collar job I've ever seen (its terrible!) Many people lost an average of 2 weeks when moving to Dudnyk. Also paychecks are for "X" hours... count on working more than that. Period. Negotiate your salary adjusted for min. 45 hours.

    Continue reading
Found 36 reviews