Duke Clinical Research Institute Reviews

Updated Apr 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
51%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Duke Clinical Research Institute Executive Director Adrian Hernandez
Adrian Hernandez
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent benefits, work life balance(in 33 reviews)

  • "DCRI offers great benefits for employees(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The only thing that I can even consider is a con is that the DCRI is still adapting to newer technologies(in 26 reviews)

  • "Must pay for parking if you want it(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      I love working here!

      Nov 15, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      After over 4 years working at DCRI, I can honestly say that I love it here! I find the work challenging, rewarding and fulfilling. The work/home balance (even before Covid), is great. My manager is caring, thoughtful, a great leader and overall just a pleasant person to work with. I feel like my time is valued, my skills are used efficiently, and I am appreciated. The way they have handled Covid is what really stands out (especially since I hear from my friends and family members how horrible the companies they work for are handling it). DCRI has been very transparent about Covid, working from home, plans to come back to work, and basically communicates regularly on how things are going. They mailed us masks in the mail and sanitizer, and are not rushing to make everyone go back to the office unless it is safe to do so. They very easily switched to working from home when the pandemic began and have been amazing at handling employee concerns. As an employee I feel that my safety is at the forefront of their decisions and myself and my family are so thankful for that. They have also addressed topics of diversity and equality head on and continue to make strides in ensuring a diverse workforce.

      Cons

      The lack of raises and contribution to the 403B plan this year isn’t great, but understandable due to Covid. I really hate having to pay for parking.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Overall positive experience

      Mar 11, 2021 - Manager/In in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good working conditions; management is interested in advancing staff in there careers; interesting and meaningful work; flexible work hours and good benefits; strong emphasis on making sure people didn't lose their jobs during COVID was really great.

      Cons

      Hard to break down silos; not enough innovation; too short-sighted about investments in innovation. due to being part of Duke University not as much flexibility as desirable;

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      No work life balance/too many Directors

      Mar 13, 2021 - Project Manager in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mission is about patient care - faculty genuinely care about the science behind the clinical trials. It is a pleasure working with the PI for each study.

      Cons

      Most of DCRI's issues arise from poor operational structure and a lack of robust systems. There is very little training, collaboration, and team support. Too many federal projects are overengineered and a lot of activities are outsourced. There is a lot of over-resourcing in the planning stages and then project leaders are left to fend for themselves. There are too many director-level resources who do not carry workload or offer support during the project lifecycle. There is no talent management or growth opportunities.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      B

      Mar 30, 2021 - Technician in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for

      Cons

      Not enough pay for bs degree

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A More Intimate Research Role

      Feb 16, 2021 - Associate Director, Project Management in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      . Great people . Cutting-edge science . Direct link to thought leaders . Real work-life balance

      Cons

      . Lack of career progression . Antiquated systems . Lots of red tape . Lack of budget and resources . Experience/morale completely dictated by manager (hit or miss) . Very political . Lack of diversity

      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good place to work

      Mar 8, 2021 - QA Ananylst in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance, typical 9 to 5 job

      Cons

      Slow, old technology, Less room for growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      no minority managers

      Apr 14, 2021 - Project Leader in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      low salary at least 5 words

      Cons

      long hours at least 5 words

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Pay is not competitive

      Feb 15, 2021 - Bioinformatician in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Schedule is flexible and timeline driven

      Cons

      Pay is not competitive to RTI, UNC

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Other than a shockingly low salary, it's a good place to work.

      Feb 10, 2021 - Program Coordinator in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are mostly great.

      Cons

      Salary far below industry standard

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Duke Clinical Research Institute

      Mar 25, 2021 - Clinical Research Associate in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and salary, most people are nice

      Cons

      There can be lots of nepotism depending on the department you are in

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 178 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Duke Clinical Research Institute Job Seekers

    Project Leader
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Clinical Research Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    Clinical Research Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    Clinical Research Nurse Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    Clinical Data Specialist III
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Duke Clinical Research Institute? Share Your Experiences

    Duke Clinical Research Institute logo
    or