Duke Clinical Research Institute "dcri" Reviews | Glassdoor

Duke Clinical Research Institute Employee Reviews about "dcri"

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 154 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Duke Clinical Research Institute CEO Lesley Curtis, PhD
Lesley Curtis, PhD
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "9 to 5 job with great work life balance(in 31 reviews)

  • "DCRI is a great company to work for(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "What you end up with are the people who are complacent and less interested in change and the big ideas DCRI has for its future(in 24 reviews)

  • "Upper management had this bright idea to build a new building in downtown Durham(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "dcri"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "So much untapped potential! DCRI could be THE company...But"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Associate in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall DCRI is a great place to work - the benefits are fantastic, the work/life balance and schedule flexibility is great, usually good job security/stability (aside from upcoming RIF/Layoff), numerous discounts for products and services in the Raleigh-Durham area, lots of training and development opportunities via programs and conferences offered by Duke University and the Hospital, will pay for you to attend... local conferences in your field/educational reimbursement, gives you access to a lot of educational programs and entertainment and the overall company culture is supportive/friendly with lots of employee recognition- as an ARO they don't engage in a lot of the overly metric driven cut throat non-sense I have seen at CROs that lead to burn out and well paid, but demoralized and jaded staff. I give DCRI a lot of credit for doing more than most companies to foster diversity, inclusion and cohesion among staff and for encouraging fun and engagement in the work place.

    Show More

    Cons

    The problem (and this is said with love) is that there is so much potential for this company to be exceptional on so many fronts, but they consistently fail to fully tap into that potential. whether it is forgetting to fully leverage the skills of their staff, taking on too many poorly organized/poorly funded and poorly written study protocols, being slow to improve and modernize work processes so that they are... more efficient/less redundant and less error ridden or offering enough opportunities for EVERYONE to grow and move up the career ladder. So, many people have left simply because they hit a wall in terms of career advancement/mobility and financial compensation. I can't tell you how many times people have said "I love my co-workers, I love the company and it's mission, I don't want to leave, but they aren't utilizing me properly and I have to move on and find something where I can have an impact and grow". In the end, this leads to mostly younger people leaving, the people with advanced degrees/certifications and the people with a generally higher subset of skills and or investment in the quality of the work - and as a company, if they want innovative, new and energized staff who are going to push for and achieve bold things in the world of research (as they say), they can't continue to be OK with all of their entry level and mid-level staff who are aching for a chance to be heard and utilized leaving or staying, but languishing. The people under 35 stay for a few years (1-3), get experience or connections and then they move on because they feel like they can't implement their ideas, contribute in novel ways and or expand in their therapeutic areas of interest. What you have left over are the people who are OK with being in the same role, doing the same things for below market/ below industry pay for 30 years (which in turn suppresses the pay of everyone else when you have someone who has been in a role for 20 years and only makes $50,000/yr) and who are literally just waiting on their retirement check and the benefits duke offers for college tuition to pay for their kid's education. What you end up with are the people who are complacent and less interested in change and the big ideas DCRI has for its future. Until DCRI decides that it can do more and be more, and is willing to expand its roster of clinical research positions, expand the types of studies they take on, asks for and bids for what they are actually worth, expands its roster of therapeutic areas and works to keep the employees that are still bright eyed enough to care about the quality and direction of their work, they will continue to be a company that gets high marks for what they try to do and what they claim they to want to be, but will keep hemorrhaging the people who could be helping them make it a reality. Lastly, DCRI is unique in that they have "thought leaders" - these are doctors and other high-level professionals who are actively involved either as PIs or advisers on the trials we have. Although they are really great resources in many ways, I have also heard/seen a number of people in management and leadership positions, who's job it is to make sure that the operational/logistical aspects of the trials and the resourcing are in order, regularly find their hands tied and can't do their jobs in the most effective manner because everyone cow-tows to the thought leaders. So, to avoid office politics and fall-out, management gives into requests or wants of the thought leaders that aren't always feasible or that don't always make sense for a given trial or task...as one can imagine, this doesn't always bode well for the staff working on said trial or for management who at some point has to answer for the progress, mistakes, planning or timelines of a given trial. In the end, DCRI could have it all - they could be THE company. And I honestly hope that one day, they find a way to do just that. But at present, they seem to be OK with trying to convince people that the status quo is acceptable - that mediocre pay, decent benefits, the Duke nomenclature and the company culture outweighs being challenged, outweighs progression and outweighs making enough money to actually use all of that fabulous vacation time you've accrued...to actually take a vacation. Other "con" is paying for parking - can range from $15.00 -$200.00 per month depending on where you park/what is available/proximity to work location etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Despite the unfortunate round of layoffs, please don't lose sight of one of your biggest assets and what sets this company apart from a lot of the CROs (aside from the thought leaders and connection to academia) and that is the culture. Although the company is restructuring (or whatever HR buzzword is cool right now), the vibe we used to have that encouraged learning, recognition of employees, training/support..., engagement with social issues/local community, fun and connection should continue to be a focal point. These things will be more important than ever for morale and productivity post-RIF. "Train people well enough so they can leave, treat them well enough, so they don't want to"

    Show More
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-05-29

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    June 3, 2019Sr. Writer and Content Strategist

    Thank you for such a thoughtful response. We can tell that you really do love the DCRI. We believe the DCRI is at an inflection point that demands transformative change. That’s why, under the direction of our Interim Executive Director, Lesley Curtis, we launched a strategic ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Strategy is Non existent, but they constantly talk about it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Operations Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    DCRI permanent Full time employees receive Duke University pay & benefits. Which are great in many ways (403B plan, Insurance options), BAD in many others.. Work life balance is good for some, horrible for others.

    Cons

    Duke Health has become too big for any strategy to work for most departments, Duke School of Medicine, (SOM) of which DCRI is a part, is in debt and failing to retain the best professors or residents. Not to mention the huge negative press for many research fraud cases and just general mismanagement. DCRI has lost their magic pitches and pipeline of studies. SOM Faculty members at DCRI who run studies have a huge... proclivity for picking favorites, and totally ignoring the careers of some who work longest hours. High level and expensive degrees MATTER here, so if you have one, apply and stay for a few years to get Duke on your resume--then leave for high dollars and great career future. Duke is SLOW to promote and very stingy with salaries, unless you are someone's son, daughter or other family member.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cut your losses, since you just made that HUGE layoff last week, over 20% of your full time workforce~ WOW ! hope you all make it better, because CROs are killing you in the biz world !! Stop the nepotism ! makes you look bad and old fashioned to say the least. and No Lesley, no need to respond to this message. Bye.

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-06-04

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    June 5, 2019Sr. Writer and Content Strategist

    Thank you for your input. The DCRI recently launched a strategic planning effort in response to changes occurring across the clinical research industry. Among other transformative measures, this planning determined that the DCRI needed to reduce its staff to align the size of its ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible few years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Trials Specialist in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great resume builder for starting out career

    Cons

    Outdated technology, unhappy employees, horrible pay. Way too many instances of people who have worked here 20+ years and get away with whatever they want. Employees who produce quality work are not valued. No real opportunity for career growth. Management takes advantage of employees. RIF was announced in Januery 2019- people were not let go until June 2019 - 5 months of stressed out employees is a very bad thing... and a slap in the face to those who have worked hard for this company for years. DCRI has gone way downhill in the past 5 years. No real leadership.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on innovation- management HATES new ideas... even though DCRI claims innovation as one of their "5 values". LISTEN to your employees and make actual changes. The "way it's always been done" is no longer a valid excuse for sub-par work.

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-06-04

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    June 5, 2019Sr. Writer and Content Strategist

    Thank you for providing your thoughts and sharing your experience. We strive to strike a balance in all areas -- honoring our team members’ experience, offering growth and development opportunities, transparency, and implementing innovative ideas in a clinical research environment. ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Proposal Manager in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and work from home with tuition support

    Cons

    DCRI is about to have another layoff due to poor management and bad finances. It is not a healthy place to work at this time

    Advice to Management

    The good people are leaving as part of this announcement and the dead wood stays, one of the worst places I have ever worked

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-02-20

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    February 22, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your input. We are proud to provide our employees with numerous benefits, including flexible work arrangements, that traditional companies typically do not offer. At this time, there are transformative changes occurring at the Institute as we undertake a robust ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Dysfunctional & Unhealthy Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor/Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * The mission...if you can ever deliver on it with accuracy and on-time which is rare. * The health care coverage and PTO are good. However they tout all the other "benefits" they feel compensates for the lower pay scale such as children tuition assistance but if you don't have children, this is a meaningless benefit.

    Cons

    * No strategic vision or plan for DCRI or within the departments * Siloed work groups - lack of true collaboration * The pay is a joke. Well below the average for this area. 2% annual raise across the board (if you're lucky) and no bonuses. * Constant disputes among the Senior leadership team - everyone has their own agenda. No cohesive goal or vision. * Unrealistic expectations - DCRI wants to compete with the... organizations like IQVia, PPD, INC, etc. but lack but the vision, technology, and skill sets to do so.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    * DCRI was run so long as a Mom & Pop shop. This cannot continue if DCRI wants to remain IN business let allow be competitive. * Stop appointing people into the Senior Leadership position that don't have any knowledge and experience running a business or the area they are suppose to be in charge of and who do NOT know how motivate and lead people. * Change the pay structure to hire and retain competent people... - and listen to them. Too many times their advice and guidance for which they were hired is blatantly ignored. It should be no surprise to the organization when they leave. * Leslie needs to take charge of this organization NOW and be actively engaged full-time if she wants to save the company. Otherwise, put together an exit strategy to close the doors for good because that where DCRI is headed.

    Show More
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-01-04

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    January 14, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Every day, DCRI’s faculty and staff are focused on developing and sharing knowledge to improve patient care through innovative clinical research. To achieve our mission and plan for a vibrant future, we recognize the need to ...

    Show More
  6. "Professional Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The DCRI has a well-deserved excellent reputation. Everyone I worked with was incredibly capable . Accomplishment and achievement are celebrated by all levels of management.

    Cons

    Sometimes it can take a long time to get deserving projects approved and budgeted.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2017-09-11
  7. Helpful (10)

    "The execs don't care about the employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time

    Pros

    Nice perks overall w/being part of Duke. Great benefits, especially the PTO and reasonable health insurance plans. Good learning environment and opportunity to continue education.

    Cons

    Very toxic place to work at all levels and all departments. The execs put on a fake show but do not truly care about the happiness or success of individuals. They only care about their own advancement and money in their pocket. DCRI pretends to be this great research academic org but behind the scenes it is a very unorganized place. If you are not part of the click or in crowd you can forget ever moving up on... the career ladder regardless of hard or well you work. HR doesn't listen either and are of no help when an employee has an issue with a bad manager-which tends to happen alot.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people in the trenches and stop promoting horrible employees that are not qualified to manage people!!

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2017-09-13
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time

    Pros

    Best reasons for working at DCRI Work life balance and opportunity to work remotely. Collaborative and friendly environment. DCRI encourages and provides opportunities for supporting the Durham community.

    Cons

    You must ride the bus or pay for parking.

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2017-07-25

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    September 22, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We always strive to find ways to create a healthy working environment that supports our employees including fostering a culture of work-life balance and providing the opportunity to work remotely. Also, giving back to our local community—whether ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The New DCRI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been at the DCRI for over 15 years. The interaction with Faculty and key Thought Leaders in the medical community is a very unique and rewarding experience. There are also opportunities to work on innovative and groundbreaking projects that will ultimately be published regardless of the outcome. The new initiatives DCRI are looking to improve some of the issues that we have been experiencing and will... elevate the quality and level of service we are able to provide moving forward. The new direction DCRI is taking with the support of management and the initiatives and changes being implemented to make improve DCRI processes and systems is much needed and will no doubt make DCRI better than ever. The retirement plan, time away from work, tuition benefits and work life balance are the main reasons I have stayed instead of leaving for a higher salary elsewhere.

    Show More

    Cons

    There has been a lot of growth and change over the past few years and not all of the systems and processes have been able to keep up. The new DCRI initiatives should improve these issues.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support your employees and reward them for their hard work and dedication to DCRI. Support the initiatives and work needed to constantly make the DCRI a great place to work.

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2017-07-11
  10. "It's all about the mission!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time

    Pros

    I work with super intelligent, dedicated individuals who are all about the mission of the DCRI. I have been here for several years and see the work that is being done to make this an even better place to work. I get involved and being a part of the Employee Brigade has been great. We not only help patients, but the community around us. I am able to take advantage of the child tuition program and am saving thousands... of dollars!

    Show More

    Cons

    We have to wait a year for our new building. NP is old and ready for an update. While I would like to make more money, there is no way I would go back to a corporate life.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focused and communicating.

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2017-07-11

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    September 6, 2017

    We are delighted to hear about your positive experience at the DCRI. As you noted, in addition to developing and sharing our knowledge through our innovative research, our faculty who are practicing physicians, helps us stand apart. Furthermore, we are also highly committed to giving ...

    Show More
Found 154 reviews