KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Duke Clinical Research Institute

Engaged Employer

Duke Clinical Research Institute

Add a Review

Duke Clinical Research Institute Employee Reviews about "duke"

Updated Mar 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 of over 210 reviews

3.0
58%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Duke Clinical Research Institute Executive Director Adrian Hernandez
Adrian Hernandez
12 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "out, management gives into requests or wants of the thought leaders that aren't always feasible or that don't always make sense for a given trial or task...as one can imagine, this doesn't always bode well for the staff working on said trial or for management who at some point has to answer for the progress, mistakes, planning or timelines of a given trial.(in 16 reviews)
  • "It is hard to bring (or keep) quality employees because of the low pay structure and terrible annual raises.(in 10 reviews)
  • "They are always researching the low salaries with other companies but salaries never change.(in 10 reviews)
  • "HR doesn't listen either and are of no help when an employee has an issue with a bad manager(in 8 reviews)
  • "no leadership to fix problems(in 6 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "duke"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    From authoring THE textbook on clinical research, to becoming an MBA case study. Look elsewhere for your next job.

    Jan 25, 2020 - Management in Durham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Duke’s 403-b employer retirement contributions are attractive. The ability to work with Duke faculty on leading edge science can be very rewarding.

    Cons

    #1. DCRI's rainmakers have left the building. The key faculty members who attracted profitable industry-sponsored research a decade ago are no longer with the DCRI. Without a significant mix of high-margin commercial research projects, the DCRI’s business model is not sustainable – more layoffs are inevitable. #2. Minimal investment over the past ten years in modern information technology and automation. Without a war chest to make the necessary improvements, nor an organization willing to change - the DCRI will continue to fall further behind its growing list of competitors. #3. A government heavy revenue stream is unsustainable. When the United States’ federal deficit hawks reawaken, or the current administration’s mission to de-fund spending on science reaches the NIH – the flow of government funds will dry up. Underbidding government work in order to keep the doors open is not a sound business strategy, long-term underbidding is unsustainable. #4. The DCRI naiveté. Statements like: “The DCRI launched a strategic planning effort in response to changes occurring across the clinical research industry.” Other CROs are doing very well financially and have been keeping pace with the changing market, they are hiring, not laying off. #5. The DCRI’s operating model is based on a twenty-year old direct labor pricing model. The world has changed; direct labor is no longer the primary cost driver in the age of digital research. A revenue model based solely on direct labor costs cannot make the necessary investments in technology to be competitive in the digital world - further evidence of an unsustainable business model. #6. The DCRI is a career killer. Don’t accept lower pay to get your foot in the door, you will be stuck in the same position for eternity, getting 2% annual increases for as long as you stick it out. Promotions will be very rare events in a collapsing organization.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    DCRI

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Understandably, we disagree with your outlook for DCRI’s future, yet we appreciate your passion. As an academic research organization (ARO), we pride ourselves on working in a mission-based institute that is shaped by more than 125 dedicated faculty who develop clinical research based on the chronic diseases they treat each day at our hospital and clinics. The world’s largest commercial pharmaceutical companies and federal health institutes rely on the DCRI as a trusted partner to lead the way—taking the first steps—in how clinical research should be done. We get to work on some of the most forward-thinking and interesting research being conducted today; we have the opportunity to test innovative methods, especially in the areas of real-word evidence and pragmatic approaches. We are especially proud of the work we do on government grants, which is some of the most rewarding work our teams get to lead. It’s in this spirit that we fully understand that an ARO is not for everyone, but it is for those who approach each day with an unwavering belief that we can change patients’ lives, no matter the challenges we face in the day-to-day design and implementation of clinical trials and studies. Finally, we’re not alone. The DCRI is a part of the Duke School of Medicine and Duke’s larger health system. This association provides great benefits and flexibility, as well as a large playing field for finding ways to advance your career. Again thank you for taking time to share your thoughts and we wish you well in your career.

  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Overworked & underpaid

    May 1, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Most faculty are engaged and want to be involved in the research - Innovative research - Staff members are supporting - Lots of talent that can be leveraged across the organization - Relatively stable place to work, in that there has only ever been on major layoff and HR hurdles make it nearly impossible to fire someone who isn't performing - Great benefits, as DCRI is part of Duke. One of the best benefits is that Duke contributes heftily to retirement accounts.

    Cons

    - Inability to retain leadership, i.e. 6 directors of Clinical Operations in 7 years. High turn-over in leadership of data management and quality assurance. Each time leadership changes, it becomes like working for a new employer with new processes, rules. - High leadership turn-over leads to high management turn-over. Several staff members are now on manager number 6, 7, or 8 within the past year. - Lack of compassion and empathy for staff members is demoralizing. As part of Duke, one of the leading hospitals in the country, it would be expected that compassion and empathy extend for those who have major health crises or family members who are ill. It does not. Expect no latitude or leeway, at least within certain departments - You will work, work, and work some more. DCRI has been catering to millennials lately, loosening up the dress code, allowing better flexibility to work from home. But what's gotten worse is the number of hours one is expected to work has drastically increased. It is not unusual to be assigned to 4-6 projects at any given time.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our institute. We appreciate you noting that our faculty, who are also practicing physicians, are highly engaged. Their close involvement with the clinical research, along with the depth and breadth of experience of our operations teams, are integral to changing clinical practice through groundbreaking research. In regard to your concerns, please know that we are focused on building the workforce of the future where people can grow and thrive. We certainly understand that turnover of leadership within clinical operations can present challenges and increases the need for staff and the organization as a whole to be more agile and flexible. We have a number of professional development programs in place that are designed to support DCRI’s leaders and managers, including a training series called “Road to Resilience” as well as a number of courses from Organizational Learning. Additionally, we have an enterprise-wide initiative called DCRI 2.0 that is working to address DCRI’s research and operational infrastructure, processes, and technology. Our executive leadership team is dedicating themselves and the appropriate resources to these endeavors, which will benefit the entire DCRI organization. Finding the right balance between work and family life is an important part of our culture here at the DCRI. We recently revamped our work-at-home policy so that employees have the ability to work one to five days a week at home, depending on their role. We strive to allow our employees to have work-life integration and consider it a key benefit of working here. We encourage you to speak with your manager about your workload and work-from-home options. If you are not comfortable discussing your thoughts with your manager, we invite you to meet with your Human Resources representative and they can confidentially speak with you regarding your concerns. We hope that you take the time to share your concerns so we can continue the conversation with you and find ways to thrive at the DCRI. Best, Boo Samra, Chief Operating Officer, DCRI

  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Many Years of Dedication by Most ..turns to nothing for all

    Feb 15, 2014 - Clinical Operations Group in Durham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Benefits through Duke University Pride of working for large well known organization (Duke) No worries of company bankruptcy or merges with other firms, EVER

    Cons

    Horrendous employee development and Promotion possibilities (glass ceiling for all but faculty, even they get frustrated too ) Very Low pay for your title and overwork like INSANE levels Plenty of time off, but you can't take it because your study(ies) will suffer and others judge you for for taking time off

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Happy to work here!

    Apr 7, 2015 - Staff Specialist in Durham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    After working at Duke in various capacities for 15 years I have had the opportunity to transfer to the DCRI. I have been here for almost a year. What I have found is that this is one of the best places to work for at Duke. I feel as though I am a valued member of the team, where my experience is an asset. It's a relaxed atmosphere that is warm and inviting. People don't feel as though they have to compete with each other to get ahead, it's very collaborative. I feel as though I can o to my boss and eve to upper management with concerns, questions, praise, etc. My boss has actually said to me, 'I've got your back.' Not many places have I heard that. I enjoy coming in to work. I work in a staff position yet feel pride when I hear about innovations and breakthroughs made by DCRI because I know that my role behind the scenes has impacted the work that researchers are doing. I feel as though I make a difference here.

    Cons

    We are not all located in the same building. It would be nice if we could all be together instead of a shuttle ride away. There is not any cafeteria in the building so you either have to bring lunch or go out each day. Food trucks do come to the Durham Center 2 times a week so that's nice.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    CHRO

    Hearing that the Duke Clinical Research Institute (DCRI) is one of the best places to work at Duke from a 15-year university veteran is wonderful. But you’ve said something that’s even more meaningful—you feel pride when you hear about the breakthroughs the DCRI is making, and you know the work you do is important. You are making a difference at the DCRI—and in patients’ lives. Thank you. We know that our most valuable asset here at the DCRI is our people. So we strive to cultivate a community of excellence by engaging our employees with interesting work, supporting professional development, and promoting a collaborative work environment where innovation thrives—everywhere. Part of that collaborative work environment is good communication. Over the past 9 months, our leaders have met in person with more than 1,000 employees in small groups as part of our Leadership Round Table discussions. I hope you joined one of these meetings. As we enter our new fiscal year, we plan to continue this one-to-one outreach to ensure continued communication throughout the organization. Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts with us. ~Nicole Hedrick, Chief Human Resources Officer

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Have enjoyed my time at DCRI.

    Jun 25, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice balance. Growth opportunity within the Duke system. I will be leaving soon related to moving. Will miss what I have here.

    Cons

    Disparity across similar roles. Sometimes hard to meet people outside of your current trial. Can be isolating.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Strategy is Non existent, but they constantly talk about it

    Jun 3, 2019 - Clinical Operations Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    DCRI permanent Full time employees receive Duke University pay & benefits. Which are great in many ways (403B plan, Insurance options), BAD in many others.. Work life balance is good for some, horrible for others.

    Cons

    Duke Health has become too big for any strategy to work for most departments, Duke School of Medicine, (SOM) of which DCRI is a part, is in debt and failing to retain the best professors or residents. Not to mention the huge negative press for many research fraud cases and just general mismanagement. DCRI has lost their magic pitches and pipeline of studies. SOM Faculty members at DCRI who run studies have a huge proclivity for picking favorites, and totally ignoring the careers of some who work longest hours. High level and expensive degrees MATTER here, so if you have one, apply and stay for a few years to get Duke on your resume--then leave for high dollars and great career future. Duke is SLOW to promote and very stingy with salaries, unless you are someone's son, daughter or other family member.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    Sr. Writer and Content Strategist

    Thank you for your input. The DCRI recently launched a strategic planning effort in response to changes occurring across the clinical research industry. Among other transformative measures, this planning determined that the DCRI needed to reduce its staff to align the size of its workforce with its current scope of studies. However, we remain deeply committed to ensuring the DCRI is at the forefront of innovation on behalf of our sponsors and partners, and we are excited about leading the way in sharing new knowledge in clinical research design and implementation. We also have been working stridently to make improvements in our operations. Our mission remains constant as we explore new areas of growth.

  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great people, poor paycheck

    Apr 8, 2015 - Learning Consultant in Durham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - I was fortunate to work in a department where we were my colleagues and manger were all close. - Professional development opportunities - Duke health insurance

    Cons

    - Very slow to change. - Lower than industry salary

    3 people found this review helpful

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    CHRO

    Thanks for sharing your input. I am so I’m pleased to hear you enjoy your team, which research says is a critical element of job satisfaction. It sounds like your department exemplifies our efforts to promote a work environment where growth, innovation, and excellence can thrive. You’ve included Duke health insurance and professional development opportunities as additional benefits for working at DCRI. Other benefits include a uniquely generous employer-provided retirement contribution, tuition assistance, a flexible environment supporting optimal work-life integration, and a robust employee discount program. I’m glad you joined DCRI! ~Nicole Hedrick, Chief Human Resources Officer

  8. 3.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Financial Assistant

    Sep 3, 2015 - Finance Specialist in Durham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Duke provides great training. Colleagues are knowledgeable and helpful. The work is challenging. Good work/life balance. Many employees work from home one day a week.

    Cons

    The department is not well-organized. The responsibilities for each employee in the department are always changing and not clear-cut. Management seems to be a revolving door.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    CHRO

    I’m glad to hear that you are enjoying many of my favorite aspects of the DCRI, such as our commitment to providing a wide range of training opportunities for employees, engaging in challenging but rewarding work, and maintaining a good balance between work and personal lives. Our work is always changing and evolving, especially as projects come and go. In HR, we are working closely with managers to help them set realistic expectations for different roles and to help their employees feel engaged, connected, and valued. Nicole Hedrick, Chief Human Resources Officer

  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Project Leader

    Sep 14, 2015 - Project Leader in Durham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    DCRI Leadership has taken some steps to reorganize and put in place who are good and come from outside. This is a vast improvement from leadership that has been here forever and no real world experience. Biggest advantage of DCRI is that it is part of Duke with great benefits and regular work hours

    Cons

    DCRI Leaders like AD and Directors are here for a long time. Even when the Executive Leadership makes changes, generally the person leaving anoints one of their buddies in place. Any questioning of these leaders will have a big negative impact during performance evaluation time. Race/Religion discrimination is subtle but exists

    3 people found this review helpful

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    CHRO

    Thank you for posting your concerns. We take any and all employee input we receive very seriously, and I need to emphasize that harassment of any kind is not acceptable at Duke. Duke promotes a respectful and productive work environment and prohibits harassment based upon an individual's race, religion, color, national origin, disability, sexual preference, sex, gender identity or age. It is mandated that all managers at DCRI be trained on these policies. I encourage you--and support you--to take your concerns to Duke's Office of Institutional Equity, the group that is repsonsible for supporting compliance efforts in the areas of equal opportunity, affirmative action and harassment prevention. With your number of years here at Duke, I also hope you know that you can speak directly to your manager, schedule time with your HR representative, or come direclty to me. Nicole Hedrick, Chief Human Resources Officer

  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Frustrations

    Jun 21, 2014 - Manager in Durham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    403b match is the best that I have come across. Access to Duke doctors is good for medical needs.

    Cons

    Compensation is not competitor. Came to DCRI for life/work balance which does exist anymore. Executive Team and Sr. Management is out of touch with what is needed to be done in the trenches. Any formed opinions by Sr. Management are perpetuated because it is easier than truly trying to understand issues. Good people and good employees want to leave. They are just waiting for right opportunity.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews

Popular Careers with Duke Clinical Research Institute Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Duke Clinical Research Institute? Share Your Experiences

Duke Clinical Research Institute logo
or

Duke Clinical Research Institute Photos

+ Add Photo
Duke Clinical Research Institute photo of: Road to Resilience Event
Duke Clinical Research Institute photo of: Snow fight!
Duke Clinical Research Institute photo of: Duke Chapel in the snow
Duke Clinical Research Institute photo of: Duke enjoying snow!
Duke Clinical Research Institute photo of: DCRI raised over $30K for American Heart Association Walk!
Duke Clinical Research Institute photo of: Why are these DCRI employee’s smiling with a bouquet of greens? They attended Living Well at DCRI Food Prep for Fall Fare!
Duke Clinical Research Institute photo of: Join the fun (and fitness) -- post your sneaker photos using the hashtags: #HealthyDuke & #SneakerDay
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Duke UniversityDuke University Health System
See all affiliated companies