Duke Clinical Research Institute "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Duke Clinical Research Institute Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 14, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
36%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Duke Clinical Research Institute Interim Executive Director Lesley Curtis, PhD
Lesley Curtis, PhD
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "9 to 5 job with great work life balance(in 32 reviews)

  • "DCRI is a great company to work for(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "The DCRI launched a strategic planning effort in response to changes occurring across the clinical research industry(in 26 reviews)

  • "Upper management had this bright idea to build a new building in downtown Durham(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Work is somewhat satisfying but too much is expected for not enough compensation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse Clinician in Durham, NC
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Patient contact, mostly 8-5pm for work hours.

    Cons

    Low compensation, upper management out of touch with actual work.

    Continue reading
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2013-12-31
  2. Helpful (2)

    "It's like herding cats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Programmer Analyst in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Insanely luxurious PTO/Medical/Retirement benefits. Ability to work from home part or full time. Updated working environment to attract millennials. Talented, friendly, dedicated coworkers.

    Cons

    unfocused upper management high turnover of middle management standardized processes are constantly changing and inconsistently practiced aggressively expands into new markets and technologies without proper planning, infrastructure or resources insufficient training - you will have to figure things out on your own

    Continue reading
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2018-11-14
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Don’t waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Leader in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people help encourage each other and work together because we understand that we have to depend on each other because there is no upper management support.

    Cons

    Management. It’s amazing that this company has lasted this long. I’m convinced that it has only survived because it’s a Duke brand. The upper management in Clinical Operations, specifically the co-directors, alone are a joke. They only see numbers and not the drivers behind the numbers. Studies are extremely underbid then Project Leaders are expected to perform miracles. The site management teams are expected to do the same or they get talked to by the Project Leader that has a shoestring budget that upper management is fully aware of. Upper management had this bright idea to build a new building in downtown Durham. Prior to this, quite a few groups were moved to the current downtown building. Then they plan to move some of the same folks that they just moved to the current downtown building to the new building then they send out a memo from the CEO basically stating that the budget is strained. It doesn’t take an accountant to figure that one out. Obviously no one thought about the budget before all of the shuffling of people began and if they did think about it they didn’t think about it too long and in detail. The whole move appears to be a cluster mess.

    Continue reading
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2018-04-11

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    May 1, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. It’s never easy to receive feedback of this nature, but as the co-directors of Clinical Operations, we want to assure you that we are not only invested in the success of the department and the Institute, but we are fully committed to supporting our staff. We are always striving to find the right balance between the needs of the business and the needs of our people. Every day our dedicated staff devotes their time, talent, and energy to fulfilling our mission to improve patient care. Therefore, understanding their satisfaction with their job or leadership, and finding ways to improve their satisfaction is paramount to our collective success. Please know that we are listening and, hopefully, we will have the opportunity to meet and talk through your concerns. Our doors are open. Sincerely, Renee Pridgen and Michelle Immelmann

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Project Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and opportunity to participate in various medical disciplines, as well as pharma and government research endeavors.

    Cons

    Poor management skills practiced by upper management. Endless talk about positive changes and support of employees to no avail. This has been an ongoing problem well known to HR for years.

    Continue reading
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2016-05-04
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Exhausting."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Duke Clinical Research Institute for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Conveniently located, convenient parking, cute cubicles.

    Cons

    It has now become necessary to change the cooperate image now and the reasons why are... 1. They have mostly negative reviews from employees who experienced being a target. 2. Having a bad reputation is not good. Current employees have been asked to post positive reviews. Don't believe everything you read. This is not a healthy place to work. The work life balance is nonexistent. There is no such thing except for management. The pay is way less than the surrounding neighbors, however if you can stand it, the experience you can gain is invaluable. Advice to upper management, get new managers. The current ones are horrible.

    Continue reading
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2015-04-27
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Poor management for such a great name"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The mission and values of DCRI as a non profit and highly scientific organization attracted me to join several years ago. There are a lot of smart MDs to support their clinical research, a good office building conveniently located near Duke Hospital. Good employer's matching for 403b, good benefits and good IT support.

    Cons

    A year ago, the company had massive lay-offs and the remaining employees have been left to work the same amount of work with "skeleton" teams. Upper management made the wrong decisions and middle management were not supportive. The best and brightest employees are leaving every month, putting tremendous pressures to exempt employees who have to work more than 50 - 60 hours/ week to compensate for this. Training has been neglected, time-off policies encourage bad employees to take advantage and leave the good employees to work even harder. DCRI is a leaking boat waiting to sink deeper every day.

    Continue reading
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2014-02-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "AA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Associate in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and adequate leave time. Continuing education and training is encouraged. Parking is close by (though you pay dearly for it).

    Cons

    Upper management has no interest in lower-level employees, initiating changes in processes and procedures without obtaining feedback. When inevitable problems arise, the employees are ignored.

    Continue reading
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2013-10-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews