Duke Clinical Research Institute "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Duke Clinical Research Institute Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
36%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Duke Clinical Research Institute Interim Executive Director Lesley Curtis, PhD
Lesley Curtis, PhD
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "9 to 5 job with great work life balance(in 32 reviews)

  • "DCRI is a great company to work for(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "The DCRI launched a strategic planning effort in response to changes occurring across the clinical research industry(in 26 reviews)

  • "Upper management had this bright idea to build a new building in downtown Durham(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Clinical Trials Coordinator II - Clinical Events Classification – Safety Surveillance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Clinical Trials Coordinator II in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Leadership (M. Wilson, L. Lillis, R. Lopes, G. Haque and many others) - supportive of staff, Great nurturing environment - A HOME.. permanent employees do not leave... many here 10+ years, Executive leadership will grow you and support career path growth... Flexible work/life balance - my role was 100% remote, Leadership making real effort to get salaries up/more competitive, Duke Benefits/retirement the best I've ever seen in my life

    Cons

    can't think of any - Duke known to have salaries a little lower than private sector, but benefits/job security/perks more than make up for that

    Continue reading
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2018-04-27
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Terrible place to work — more layoffs!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time

    Pros

    Compensation and work/life balance are acceptable

    Cons

    In-fighting amongst senior leadership; bullying culture created by physicians; senior leadership lacking in leadership skills; lack of commitment to any real change

    Continue reading
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-08-06

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    August 14, 2019DCRI

    We appreciate your input on Glassdoor. We want to first address your reference to bullying. As you know, Duke University has clear policies that guide our behaviors. The DCRI does not condone any behavior that constitutes bullying. We hope that you contacted your HR representative in any instance where this may have occurred. Second, since posts on Glassdoor remain evergreen, we do want to clarify for our readers who might read this post in the future that there are no additional layoffs planned at the DCRI at this time. In terms of real change occurring at the DCRI, we are actively transforming our services and offerings to ensure that we are distinctive and relevant for our sponsors for the future, and we are ushering in new ways of doing things as a result. These new approaches include initiatives to improve operations at the DCRI, with a strong commitment to create faculty (physician) and operations partnerships in all that we do and to support our senior leaders in improving their management skills. The DCRI has a long history of leading the way in clinical research. Sponsors rely on our innovative, entrepreneurial and collaborative approach to discovering new ways to conduct clinical research. And the industry relies on our mission to share knowledge to help inform research methodologies and new paths to patient care. We are changing things here at the DCRI, with the goal to ensure that we evolve in line with our sponsors’ research plans and needs.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (7)

    "So much untapped potential! DCRI could be THE company...But"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Associate in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall DCRI is a great place to work - the benefits are fantastic, the work/life balance and schedule flexibility is great, usually good job security/stability (aside from upcoming RIF/Layoff), numerous discounts for products and services in the Raleigh-Durham area, lots of training and development opportunities via programs and conferences offered by Duke University and the Hospital, will pay for you to attend local conferences in your field/educational reimbursement, gives you access to a lot of educational programs and entertainment and the overall company culture is supportive/friendly with lots of employee recognition- as an ARO they don't engage in a lot of the overly metric driven cut throat non-sense I have seen at CROs that lead to burn out and well paid, but demoralized and jaded staff. I give DCRI a lot of credit for doing more than most companies to foster diversity, inclusion and cohesion among staff and for encouraging fun and engagement in the work place.

    Cons

    The problem (and this is said with love) is that there is so much potential for this company to be exceptional on so many fronts, but they consistently fail to fully tap into that potential. whether it is forgetting to fully leverage the skills of their staff, taking on too many poorly organized/poorly funded and poorly written study protocols, being slow to improve and modernize work processes so that they are more efficient/less redundant and less error ridden or offering enough opportunities for EVERYONE to grow and move up the career ladder. So, many people have left simply because they hit a wall in terms of career advancement/mobility and financial compensation. I can't tell you how many times people have said "I love my co-workers, I love the company and it's mission, I don't want to leave, but they aren't utilizing me properly and I have to move on and find something where I can have an impact and grow". In the end, this leads to mostly younger people leaving, the people with advanced degrees/certifications and the people with a generally higher subset of skills and or investment in the quality of the work - and as a company, if they want innovative, new and energized staff who are going to push for and achieve bold things in the world of research (as they say), they can't continue to be OK with all of their entry level and mid-level staff who are aching for a chance to be heard and utilized leaving or staying, but languishing. The people under 35 stay for a few years (1-3), get experience or connections and then they move on because they feel like they can't implement their ideas, contribute in novel ways and or expand in their therapeutic areas of interest. What you have left over are the people who are OK with being in the same role, doing the same things for below market/ below industry pay for 30 years (which in turn suppresses the pay of everyone else when you have someone who has been in a role for 20 years and only makes $50,000/yr) and who are literally just waiting on their retirement check and the benefits duke offers for college tuition to pay for their kid's education. What you end up with are the people who are complacent and less interested in change and the big ideas DCRI has for its future. Until DCRI decides that it can do more and be more, and is willing to expand its roster of clinical research positions, expand the types of studies they take on, asks for and bids for what they are actually worth, expands its roster of therapeutic areas and works to keep the employees that are still bright eyed enough to care about the quality and direction of their work, they will continue to be a company that gets high marks for what they try to do and what they claim they to want to be, but will keep hemorrhaging the people who could be helping them make it a reality. Lastly, DCRI is unique in that they have "thought leaders" - these are doctors and other high-level professionals who are actively involved either as PIs or advisers on the trials we have. Although they are really great resources in many ways, I have also heard/seen a number of people in management and leadership positions, who's job it is to make sure that the operational/logistical aspects of the trials and the resourcing are in order, regularly find their hands tied and can't do their jobs in the most effective manner because everyone cow-tows to the thought leaders. So, to avoid office politics and fall-out, management gives into requests or wants of the thought leaders that aren't always feasible or that don't always make sense for a given trial or task...as one can imagine, this doesn't always bode well for the staff working on said trial or for management who at some point has to answer for the progress, mistakes, planning or timelines of a given trial. In the end, DCRI could have it all - they could be THE company. And I honestly hope that one day, they find a way to do just that. But at present, they seem to be OK with trying to convince people that the status quo is acceptable - that mediocre pay, decent benefits, the Duke nomenclature and the company culture outweighs being challenged, outweighs progression and outweighs making enough money to actually use all of that fabulous vacation time you've accrued...to actually take a vacation. Other "con" is paying for parking - can range from $15.00 -$200.00 per month depending on where you park/what is available/proximity to work location etc.

    Continue reading
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-05-29

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    June 3, 2019Sr. Writer and Content Strategist

    Thank you for such a thoughtful response. We can tell that you really do love the DCRI. We believe the DCRI is at an inflection point that demands transformative change. That’s why, under the direction of our Interim Executive Director, Lesley Curtis, we launched a strategic planning effort in response to changes we see occurring across the clinical research industry. We are committed to being strategic, distinct, and relevant for success in the future, and staying at the forefront of innovation on behalf of our sponsors and partners. We have a new head of operations, Ty Rorick, and we know that his vision encompasses many things you highlight. We are committed to ensuring that everyone reaches their potential and has every opportunity to contribute to our mission as they grow and develop here. Our mission remains constant as we evolve to align with our sponsors’ research plans and needs, and we make changes today that will ready our teams for the future. The DCRI has always been about discovery and innovation that shapes the future, and we are committed to using every bit of potential we have to transform for the future.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Strategy is Non existent, but they constantly talk about it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Operations Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    DCRI permanent Full time employees receive Duke University pay & benefits. Which are great in many ways (403B plan, Insurance options), BAD in many others.. Work life balance is good for some, horrible for others.

    Cons

    Duke Health has become too big for any strategy to work for most departments, Duke School of Medicine, (SOM) of which DCRI is a part, is in debt and failing to retain the best professors or residents. Not to mention the huge negative press for many research fraud cases and just general mismanagement. DCRI has lost their magic pitches and pipeline of studies. SOM Faculty members at DCRI who run studies have a huge proclivity for picking favorites, and totally ignoring the careers of some who work longest hours. High level and expensive degrees MATTER here, so if you have one, apply and stay for a few years to get Duke on your resume--then leave for high dollars and great career future. Duke is SLOW to promote and very stingy with salaries, unless you are someone's son, daughter or other family member.

    Continue reading
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-06-04

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    June 5, 2019Sr. Writer and Content Strategist

    Thank you for your input. The DCRI recently launched a strategic planning effort in response to changes occurring across the clinical research industry. Among other transformative measures, this planning determined that the DCRI needed to reduce its staff to align the size of its workforce with its current scope of studies. However, we remain deeply committed to ensuring the DCRI is at the forefront of innovation on behalf of our sponsors and partners, and we are excited about leading the way in sharing new knowledge in clinical research design and implementation. We also have been working stridently to make improvements in our operations. Our mission remains constant as we explore new areas of growth.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Leader 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Siloed, poor communication, lack of innovation.

    Continue reading
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-03-08
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Not a shadow of what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, work life balance, respectful environment

    Cons

    Poor employees have been allowed to languish for years and it is impossible to get rid of them no matter how bad they are. The good people have left or are leaving due to carrying the dead weight plus little support from management. Arrogant, unethical executive leadership have run the place into the ground.

    Continue reading
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-03-01

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    March 6, 2019

    Thank you recognizing that the DCRI offers a respectful environment with great benefits and sought after work-life balance. We agree there is room for improvement and are undertaking a comprehensive strategic plan that will enable us to grow and thrive in the years to come. This effort will result in a revised business strategy, a new organization structure, and a recommitment to leadership training—all underpinned by our mission to share knowledge that improves patient care through innovative clinical research. We are confident that our efforts will result in a stronger DCRI.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Needs some major improvements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead CRA in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The benefits are great. The ability to work from home either part time or full time and they really try to keep a good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Lack of consistent training for new employees. PM & SM continuously blaming each other. Consistently underbidding projects with sponsors. The constant threat of financial instability.

    Continue reading
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-01-22

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    February 6, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and suggestions. We are happy to hear that you feel the DCRI provides a good working environment that offers opportunities for learning and growth. As a mission-driven academic research organization, we believe that supporting professional growth fosters a community of excellence and continuous improvement. DCRI has been proactively and systematically driving change in the way we work—processes, technology, and organizational structure—to meet our needs and that of our sponsors. This commitment to change extends to finding better ways to work together, train employees, and set expectations. Please know that we are listening. I would welcome the opportunity to meet and talk through your concerns. Pam Buchholz, Senior Director, Clinical Trials

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Not what it used to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CRA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Good health benefits.

    Cons

    Lots of workplace gossip. Promotions are hard to come by. Parking is expensive.

    Continue reading
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-01-19
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Lived up to reputation - like working for the state"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Leader III in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/life balance, benefits, generally friendly environment

    Cons

    Management is incompetent, organization is VERY slow to adapt/change, there are a lot of “lifers” that clog up the organization with negativity and unproductive habits. Very little accountability for poor performers

    Continue reading
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2018-11-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Contract Senior CRA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior CRA in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    9 to 5 job with great work life balance.

    Cons

    No standard processes across the board. Each project has its own set of processes. Training is non-existent or lacking. Managers are terrible about communicating. If you ask too many questions, they assume you are not qualified and it will be a black mark against you. They say they are a collaborative environment but they ding you for asking questions.

    Continue reading
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2018-01-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 37 reviews