Duke Realty Reviews | Glassdoor

Duke Realty Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Denny Oklak
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "great company if you get the right upper management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Duke Realty full-time

    Pros

    great project manager - highly recommend

    Cons

    upper management seems to be in the grey.

    Duke Realty2018-01-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Property Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duke Realty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic company. Was recognized by the CEO and received a discretionary bonus. Loved my co-workers and was given plenty of freedom to determine my schedule. I only left because I moved.

    Cons

    The only downside I can think of is dealing with some of the more challenging tenants. I was once texted at 6am to inform me the wrong type of toilet paper was delivered. Fun!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! The formula works and owner management shows in the product. The work culture is wonderful. I truly miss working with you all.

    Duke Realty2017-10-12
  3. "Commercial Real Estate and Facilities Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Property Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duke Realty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, Great learning, Team atmosphere

    Cons

    PA portfolio was spread out. traveling can be a little tough. Company outsourced maintenance which I believe was the wrong move. Puts a lot of burden on the Property Manager.

    Advice to Management

    Bring back in house maintenance team.

    Duke Realty2017-09-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Executive Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Duke Realty

    Pros

    Great people to work for. A "fun" office.

    Cons

    Location for me was an hour away.

    Advice to Management

    Just remember the little people.

    Duke Realty2017-07-15
  5. "Property Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duke Realty full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Caring culture, great practices and procedures, flexibility and autonomy. Like any "field" job in property management, the culture is really driven by your regional team. Duke hires great folks that tend to stick around.... and I was in a phenomenal region.

    Cons

    The transition from office, industrial and healthcare properties to focusing on industrial buildings caused some to lose their roles.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! Your clear vision and employee driven benefits (wellness, volunteering, diversity) made Duke a wonderful place to come to work every day.

    Duke Realty2017-06-26
  6. "2015 Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Duke Realty

    Pros

    Work with a lot of smart people. Can have a lot of responsibility if you ask for it, depending on your team. Flexible if you need it.

    Cons

    Not every office operates the same which can be extremely frustrating. Your want's are not always considered when put in a certain situation. Some of the upper management is great while others seem very unapproachable.

    Advice to Management

    When hiring someone, keep in mind their path forward instead of only focusing in the now.

    Duke Realty2015-07-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duke Realty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture, very focused on employee enrichment. Very nice working environment. Top of the line benefits and above industry pay scale. Fast paced, energetic environment that is challenging and spirited, but excellent work/life balance encouraged by management.

    Cons

    If you work for a commercial real estate investment trust, you have to keep in mind that the business is managing, building, buying and SELLING buildings. The sale of a large package of buildings resulted in restructuring in the market I was in and a number of positions were eliminated as a result - mine included. Still, the company was exemplary in dealing with associates - both those leaving and those who remained....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to promote and protect the company culture you have built.

    Duke Realty2014-11-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "This is one of the best places I have worked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Realty

    Pros

    Concern for employees and their families. Very friendly even the top bosses are open to talking with all employees. Very diverse and very concerned about customer service. Customer service at Duke Realty means other business and even other associates. Very good place to work.

    Cons

    Every place has its ups and downs, sometimes some of the employees do not get along with others but top personnel tries to work with keeping it to a minimum.

    Advice to Management

    Would like to see some money put in the budget to allow some employees the ability to go to training conferences.

    Duke Realty2011-03-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "DRE is a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager of Financial Analysis in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duke Realty

    Pros

    1. Strong business model - it's a reit run by accountants. They are not risk averse, but prudent in the manner in which they employ capital. Management seems to take a longer term view, than some of the other firms in the same competitive set. 2.Senior management is talented, sincere, and equitable - from the top down, the organization is run by good people. It is a very collaborative organization. Management is open...

    Show More

    Cons

    Many functional areas lack a definitive career path. There is room for advancement and growth, it's not as delineated as at some other firms.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the listed positives. Continue to address the career path issue.

    Duke Realty2008-10-21
  10. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duke Realty

    Pros

    Great people in management - really care about employees

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Duke Realty2018-04-10
Found 25 reviews