Duke University Health System IT Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

Duke University Health System IT Analyst Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Eugene Washington, M.D., M.P.H., M.Sc.
1 Ratings
  1. "Duke Health System is a great place to work. The people are wonderful and I love the benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The retirement is the best of any place I have worked. They give a lot of PTO as well.

    Cons

    Working across multiple teams. Some of the technical teams sit in different buildings so it lowers the amount of collaboration.

    Duke University Health System2019-04-14
  2. "IT Analyst Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duke University Health System full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, and people to work for!

    Cons

    Not always understanding of personal issues and how things can affect a person long term.

    Advice to Management

    If a person has a legitimate medical reason for something, do not take it out them when they may have no control of its side effects.

    Duke University Health System2017-08-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst, IT in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Mostly skilled, talented and dedicated coworkers. Leadership is approachable and they seem to care about the needs and satisfaction of the employees. Job security, great benefits, 35+ PTO days/yr., work from home options, very flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    Job security - unfortunately under-performers are difficult to let go. This creates an imbalance on an otherwise great team. Salaries are at the very bottom of the national average. The dedicated employees are here because we love Duke, the others are here because we get what you pay for.

    Advice to Management

    Fight to pay your valued employees what they deserve or we will continue to jump ship.

    Duke University Health System2016-09-21
  4. "Good Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IT Analyst in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Good health benefits, PTO is very generous, 403 contribution is outstanding

    Cons

    keep doing the same work, less promotion opportunities

    Advice to Management

    encourage your employee, motivate them.

    Duke University Health System2015-11-25
  5. "IT is very clustered, Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Durham, NC

    I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities for advancement Annual performance raises (small, but raises nonetheless in a tough economy) Great benefits

    Cons

    Poor inter-departmental communication in IT

    Advice to Management

    We implement process improvements for the clinical side, but need to address IT processes so we can beter serve clinical and be more efficient

    Duke University Health System2014-10-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IT Analyst in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Sr leadership has focus on work life balance

    Cons

    Long hours...lots of high profile projects

    Advice to Management

    Continue focus on work life balance for employees

    Duke University Health System2014-07-22
  7. "Outstanding Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    As the largest health system in North Carolina, the largest employer in the triangle area, and the second largest employer in the state (besides the state itself) Duke provides a list of employee benefits second to none.

    Cons

    As the largest health system in North Carolina, the largest employer in the triangle area, and the second largest employer in the state (besides the state itself) Duke attracts so many candidates that they are able to pay on the low side.

    Duke University Health System2014-04-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Duke University health System"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst, IT in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time

    Pros

    Fair to strong job security, ability to move around (or up) to other departments within job title. Seemingly fair market value salary.

    Cons

    Training... within position, and for available positions is not strong. Severe lack of diversity, especially in the Sr. Analyst and management ranks. You must do your homework on the market, or you will not be compensated properly. Almost impossible to increase your salary, and even a vertical move (e.g. from Analyst to Sr. Analyst) will generally come with an offer of the lowest possible pay increase, despite established...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When someone is promoted, compensate them appropriately. If they deserved the promotion, they should deserve the pay that goes with it. Increase available training opportunities, it benefits everyone involved to have a knowledgeable and competent workforce.

    Duke University Health System2013-04-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent benefits, limited upward mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IT Analyst in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    The benefits and retirement plan for monthly employees are excellent.

    Cons

    My current Sr. manager is great. My former one was terrible. No matter how much work you did, it was never good enough and it was never enough. His favorites were given excellent reviews and allowed to do very little work.

    Advice to Management

    Some of the department directors in DHTS need to go. They have been allowed to run over employees for too many years.

    Duke University Health System2012-09-15
  10. "Could be worse..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior IT Analyst in Durham, NC
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Duke University Health System

    Pros

    Work life balance, competitive salary (if you know how to demand it)

    Cons

    Advancement is scarce, very flat hierarchy where they don't differentiate between higher performers and others. Poor raises annually don't even cover inflation.

    Duke University Health System2012-02-25
Found 13 reviews