Duke University Health System Reviews | Glassdoor

Duke University Health System Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 477 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Eugene Washington, M.D., M.P.H., M.Sc.
3 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Durham, NC

    I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Work Culture Benefits

    Cons

    No cons at the moment

    Duke University Health System2019-04-22
  2. "Duke Health System is a great place to work. The people are wonderful and I love the benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The retirement is the best of any place I have worked. They give a lot of PTO as well.

    Cons

    Working across multiple teams. Some of the technical teams sit in different buildings so it lowers the amount of collaboration.

    Duke University Health System2019-04-14
  3. "Positive organization with a focus on quality of care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Assistant in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duke University Health System full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very professional and cares about quality of care

    Cons

    large system with many layers of organization

    Duke University Health System2019-03-06
  4. "Fantastic Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CMA II in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duke University Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work Culture, providers are awesome, benefits are great

    Cons

    turnover rate is high, company is growing and making changes too fast for staffing

    Duke University Health System2019-02-01
  5. "Friendly place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Duke University Health System

      Pros

      Great training, lots of good teachers, good cases

      Cons

      Big academic medical center with all of the expected red tape.

      Duke University Health System2018-11-29
    • Helpful (3)

      "Nurse Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Nurse Manager in Durham, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      403b benefits for monthly staff

      Cons

      Constant change, high performing office offices are challenged with constant change, causing high turn over rates, unrealistic EJR’s and standard work for rooming staff causes burn out.

      Advice to Management

      Improve attrition, improve staffing , great job on encounter specialist model, however, as soon as a person as reached competency, high turn over rate bringing in 4 new grad students. Loved working here, management including HCA and NM should be fully trained in all aspects of their direct reports job, for several reasons to assist when needed and manadatory walk in your shoes 2x a month for 4 hours.

      Duke University Health System2018-11-08
    • "Clinical Nurse I (New grad)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time

        Pros

        great benefits, night shifts and weekends pay extra

        Cons

        work culture is not the greatest depending on the unit

        Duke University Health System2018-10-25
      • "Health information management specialist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - HIM Specialist in Durham, NC
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Duke University Health System full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The company cared very much for it's employees and were very supportive of career advancement from within.

        Cons

        High turnover rate in the HIM department.

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the good work.

        Duke University Health System2018-10-22
      • "Duke Research Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Duke University Health System part-time

        Pros

        Very nice people! They want to help you succeed

        Cons

        No cons to report it is great

        Duke University Health System2018-10-21
      • "I think they're great"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time

          Pros

          Large organization, great PTO and health benefits

          Cons

          Large organization-- hard to get anything done, very fractured; not always great communication

          Advice to Management

          Test the competency of your staff, and often?

          Duke University Health System2018-10-17
        Found 477 reviews