Duke University Health System Reviews | Glassdoor

Duke University Health System Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 474 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Eugene Washington, M.D., M.P.H., M.Sc.
2 Ratings
  1. "Lab Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time

      Pros

      They provide good health benefits

      Cons

      It is difficult to find free parking anywhere

      Duke University Health System2019-01-31
    • Helpful (1)

      "Pretty Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Durham, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      You are able to get a lot of experience with difficult cases such as with patients that other hospitals are unable to take / refuse to do surgeries on. My floor has a great atmosphere in which we all work very well together. My management and coworkers are amazing and have allowed the transition from new grad to CNII smooth and encouraging. Also many people are not from in state which allows you to make a lot of friends...

      Show More

      Cons

      Pay is not competitive in the area. They say you are getting underpaid because you are able to use Duke on your resume. Sometimes billing and money is placed over care of individual patients.

      Duke University Health System2019-01-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great job, poor pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Durham, NC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Duke University Health System full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Co-workers, patients are great, management is easy to get along with and set clear expectations

      Cons

      Pay one of the worse in area

      Advice to Management

      Better compensation for employees

      Duke University Health System2019-02-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great support, not competitive pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Neuropsychological Technician 

        I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Great staff support, clear job description and expectations.

        Cons

        Poor salary compared to others in your field. No room for advancement due to red tape.

        Duke University Health System2019-01-18
      • "Good place to start"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Registered Nurse 

          I worked at Duke University Health System full-time

          Pros

          Co workers Benefits package Starbucks 24-7 Training Professional atmosphere

          Cons

          Parking ,Commute, Location, Understaffed, Crime in area

          Duke University Health System2019-01-29
        • Helpful (3)

          "They aren't blue devils for nothing"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Health Unit Coordinator 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time for more than 6 years

          Pros

          There are not really any pros to working for this company except maybe the Duke employee discounts or preferred employer benefits you get from some housing in the surrounding areas.

          Cons

          Pretty much everything about working here is a con the people the politics and the treatment. There isn't much if any camaraderie and everyone is malicious and at each others throats for a leg up. People will lie to your managers about you trying to stifle your progression all the way up to the point of termination. There really is no opportunity for growth and they will maliciously try to stop you from obtaining employment...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          My advice to the management I work under.......Quit. Do everyone who may have to work under you a favor and resign.

          Duke University Health System2019-02-15
        • "Good job"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I worked at Duke University Health System full-time

          Pros

          learned a lot, management helpful, providers helpful

          Cons

          work culture a work in progress

          Duke University Health System2018-12-22
        • "Friendly place to work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at Duke University Health System

            Pros

            Great training, lots of good teachers, good cases

            Cons

            Big academic medical center with all of the expected red tape.

            Duke University Health System2018-11-29
          • "RN"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time

            Pros

            Continuing education. PTO. Friendly coworkers. Benefits.

            Cons

            Commute. Traffic. Parking. Low starting pay.

            Duke University Health System2018-11-20
          • "Decent place to be a resident"

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

              I have been working at Duke University Health System full-time

              Pros

              The GME office is always accessible for any issues. It is a large health center with many interesting cases.

              Cons

              The insurance provided to residents can only be used within DUHS.

              Duke University Health System2018-11-19
            Found 474 reviews