Duluth Trading Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Duluth Trading Company Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Duluth Trading Company CEO Stephanie Pugliese
Stephanie Pugliese
24 Ratings
  1. "Simply Awesome! I loved my store in OH. I am still sad I had to moved to TX and we have no Duluth here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in West Chester, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duluth Trading Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The OH team, HR and our trainers, the products that customers love. Best manager I ever had. He was kind, and cared about me and the employees, like we were part of his family. Just awesome to be a part of a great company!!!

    Cons

    Wish there was a store in Texas. So I could work there again. Shoes with some more flare would be a nice option, especially for women. Comfort is great, but flare makes them cute.

    Advice to Management

    Bring Duluth and your awesome managers to TX. Thank you for a great experience. Keep up the great job, you have great people supporting the employees and customers.

    Duluth Trading Company2017-08-13

    Duluth Trading Company Response

    May 9, 2018Talent Acquisition Manager

    You're in luck! In 2018, Duluth Trading Company will be opening stores in Lubbock, Denton, and Arlington! We're excited to have the opportunity to better serve the fine folks in Texas!

  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duluth Trading Company full-time

    Pros

    Really enjoyed my time there. Very nice.

    Cons

    It's a job. What more is there to say?

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Duluth Trading Company2017-08-09
  3. Helpful (3)

    "CSA Home Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Belleville, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duluth Trading Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ability to work from home, excellent training, helpful supervisors on the helpline if questions come up, fun environment, easy to request days off or pick up/trade shifts, and good pay.

    Cons

    Expected to write e-mail replies while talking on the phone which can get confusing while multi-tasking, they will schedule you full-time even if you're only part-time during their peak season.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    Duluth Trading Company2017-07-07
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Chester, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Duluth Trading Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None, the only positive would be the actions or rather inactions of the company easily set them up for lawsuits

    Cons

    West Chester Ohio manager sexually harasses employees and HR department condones the behavior. Repeated complaints are ignored by HR and employee rights are ignored

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees when they complain of sexual harassment instead of telling them to deal with it

    Duluth Trading Company2017-08-08

    Duluth Trading Company Response

    July 25, 2018HR Manager

    Duluth Trading apologizes for the disheartening concerns you have expressed regarding your experience. One of our core values is that we treat our customers and co-workers like next door neighbors and Duluth Trading takes a zero tolerance stance on any sort of harassment and/or discrimination ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Part-time sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Duluth Trading Company part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We have a good crew, and managers are generally good. The store environment is good. We get generally positive feedback from customers about the store and our service.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the company seems to be spiraling downward, with too much out-of-stock merchandise, confusing and even contradictory instructions and sales, discounts, specials, etc. We are usually in the dark about important details regarding products and specials. The POS system sucks. I worked at another retailer for several years where I saw the same things happening. I think hq management has lost the focus of a few...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a grip on the direction you want to go and put the necessary resources behind going there. Stupid stuff like changing the typeface in the company logo doesn't make any difference to the customers or the frontline troops.

    Duluth Trading Company2017-06-16
  6. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Lead in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duluth Trading Company

    Pros

    Good people, solid business model, HR group cares, and the owner is a pretty cool guy. I need a few more words

    Cons

    Public company whose middle management is stressed out making the retail staff stressed. Only seem to care about KPI increasing.

    Duluth Trading Company2017-05-26
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Order Taker /Tsr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Belleville, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Duluth Trading Company part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed inviroment. And nice parking

    Cons

    Seasonal.offer those who gave you years of seasonal help first chance for full time instead of those that came in later and became full time employees..Plus make your employees comfortable in asking questions any type without no knowlege of them.

    Advice to Management

    Better chairs

    Duluth Trading Company2017-05-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Home Agents are treated like serfs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TSR 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Duluth Trading Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, get to work at home

    Cons

    Weekly hours vary wildly, non-stop problems with ordering systems, inventories, shipping, etc. and really really mean manament

    Advice to Management

    Replace yourselves with professionals

    Duluth Trading Company2017-04-11
  9. "Temps are disposable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Seasonal Customer Service Representative in Belleville, WI

      I worked at Duluth Trading Company part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great training; generous employee discount

      Cons

      Poor communication from call center management regarding end dates. One day most of us found our seasonal job was finished because we were not listed on the latest schedule.

      Duluth Trading Company2017-04-04
    • Helpful (4)

      "Excellent company! I love my job!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Duluth Trading Company full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Work/family balance to ensure happy, satisfied employees who want to come to work each day. Opportunities to work from home, if necessary.

      Cons

      Advancement opportunities are not always recognized. With dedicated, happy employees already coming into work each day, why not promote within, even if it may mean more training.

      Advice to Management

      Look within before hiring off the street.

      Duluth Trading Company2017-03-03
    Found 76 reviews