Dune London "amount of work" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Dune London Employee Reviews about "amount of work"

Updated Mar 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Dune London CEO  John Egan
John Egan
50 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours that you don't get back(in 6 reviews)

  • "The pay needs to be more especially with the amount of work one had to do as a member of management(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "amount of work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Loved Dune at first but things changed :("

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dune London full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    50% discount, uniform allowance, holiday allowance and the staff I worked with

    Cons

    The pay needs to be more especially with the amount of work one had to do as a member of management Give dedicated, hardworking staff a chance to progress in the company over externals Lack of staff in during the week meant you were chasing your own tail Delivery was always a nightmare to put away due to lack of space in the stockroom Working lates especially during Christmas 11 pm closing - but that is retail for you Manager was a bully and unsympatheic

    Continue reading
    Dune London2019-03-16
  2. "Questionable work ethic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dune London part-time

    Pros

    Good discounts and shoe allowances, you get to meet great people who could end up being your friends, rather than just colleagues.

    Cons

    The pay is awful for the amount of work you do and the responsibilities you have. Working in the flagship store is a nightmare, especially if your management team’s work ethic is questionable. Very poor (or non existent) management. The store manager only cared about meeting the targets and to have the shop floor flawless, otherwise nothing else mattered. Not the wellbeing of the staff, not the back of the house, nothing. Always understaffed, sometimes to the point where it is impossible to have the store open.

    Continue reading
    Dune London2017-10-14

    Dune London Response

    December 20, 2017HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry that you feel as though the management in your store put the customer experience before your own. As you say, we have great people working with us and we encourage all of our managers across the business to value their teams. One of our core values is “think customer” and they are very important to us, without them we wouldn’t have a business and as retail changes it’s the small things that can make a difference to a customer returning to shop with us, or not! I can see your point as to how this can result in a high turnover in staff, however, we continually benchmark this as well as pay and find that both are in line with the industry standard. I’m glad you enjoyed the discount and hope that you took lots of beautiful shoes away with you! If you wish to discuss your concerns further then please do let us know and we can arrange a call with you. Kind regards, Dune

    Continue reading
  3. "Sales Assistant Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Stratford, London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dune London full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This a good position for someone who wants to gain work experience or wants to work in retail. Great people to work with and everyone supports each other. All about team work! Discount is great (half price).

    Cons

    Too much pressure to meet targets. Awful low pay for the HUGE amount of work that you do. (Be aware that you will be expected to move big stacks of boxes in the stockroom - often taking them upstairs). Management cares more about meeting targets than your wellbeing/personal life. For example I was once told I couldn't swap my shift with a colleague to focus on my University work because she wasn't a till user and I was (this is ridiculous). I was also doing up to 20hrs a week on a 4 hour contract. Management used to moan when you tried to take holiday leave. Extreme pressures to approach customers to the extent where you seem like a robot. If you spoke to another colleague on the shop floor - management would walk right up to you and tell you to stop talking as if you were a child (but it was okay for them to talk all day long between each other). Expect to often stay behind after your shift if you are down for closing the store.

    Continue reading
    Dune London2017-07-26

    Dune London Response

    December 20, 2017HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! You’re right, it is all about team work and we actively that encourage that across all of our teams and team spirit is one of our core values! The role as a Sales Advisor for Dune London is very varied, and as you say, does include supporting the stockroom a little – or a lot, depending on which location you work in. We think this is great as it creates a more interesting day for our teams and exposes them to the inner workings of a store environment so I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy this aspect. We are very focussed on creating a work life balance and appreciate that personal lives change so encourage our managers to accommodate this where possible. A lot of work goes into a rota and it’s based on lots of differing factors, such as team members skills and experience; what seems like a small ask on your behalf can hugely impact on the running of a location. This being your personal life, we would ask our teams to be mindful of deadlines and making appointments etc. to meet us halfway. We love to talk and as much as our teams are important and we like everyone to get along, our customers have a piece of our heart and we also want our teams to get along with them too! Talk to them and see what interesting facts you can find out, it makes the day go along much quicker! I would like to thank you for the dedication you showed to the brand when you were with us in staying behind, I’m certain your manager would have very much appreciated your support. We completely understand that without our Sales Advisors we would struggle to put our beautiful products out there so thank you again for all of your hard work. If you would like to discuss any of your concerns further then please do let us know so we can arrange a call with you, as we really do value your feedback. Kind regards, Dune

    Continue reading
  4. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dune London part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    i was lucky and had a really fun and nice team, got on well with my manager and supervisor. good discount (50%), and uniform shoes. main benefit of the job was the team and occasional nice customers!

    Cons

    seriously low paid for the amount of work required, only £5.60 for under 21s. extremely optimistic unreachable targets were set by area managers, meaning store managers would be stressed and this passed onto the team. such high targets would be more understandable if the pay was higher, also no one in my store had ever received 'commission', not once. think this is a ploy from Dune, as monthly targets are so high they know stores won't reach them.

    Dune London2016-06-12

    Dune London Response

    July 21, 2016HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It's great that you had a good working relationship with your colleagues, Managers and customers. Team Spirit is so important and it's evident that this is demonstrated in your store. Monthly targets and pay are something that is reviewed on a regular basis. With pay, we make sure this is competitive was has recently been demonstrated in a salary benchmarking exercise and we also ensure that additional benefits also enhance the remuneration package our employees receive. Targets can be high but these are based on overall Company budget and allocated to each site dependent on their square footage, turnover, and levels of stock we anticipate being allocated over the months or year. I can assure you this is the only calculation and there is no deliberate tailoring of these to make them unachievable. In addition to this, incentives are offered regularly to reward performance in other areas as well as sales. Rewarding and recognising our teams through both monetary and other methods is always a priority and focus.

    Continue reading
  5. "Grateful to work for Dune"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dune London full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Dune London is a company that really wants their staff to progress with them and helps them do this. The discount and uniform allowance is great and in store management roles really help you find your strengths and weaknesses.

    Cons

    The only problems are that expectations are set high for supervisors especially because it feels as if the manager is doing more or less the same amount of work as you but get a lot more money for it.

    Continue reading
    Dune London2016-01-31

    Dune London Response

    February 1, 2016HR Manager

    Hi. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. It's great to hear your positive feedback and really constructive to understand your views on the management structure and difference in remit. We do have a high expectation of our Management teams and hope this gives them a full rounded exposure to all areas of Retail Management whilst being rewarding and recognises their achievements. If you'd like to talk to us in more detail about your experience then please do not hesitate to get in touch.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 5 reviews