Duquesne Light Reviews | Glassdoor

Duquesne Light Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Richard (Rich) Riazzi
29 Ratings
  1. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Duquesne Light for less than a year

    Pros

    They motivated you to implement what you learned from class to the field. If you don't know how, they'll teach you. They're very knowledgeable and welcoming.

    Cons

    The demographic was concentrated in the 40-60 year old range.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more.

    Duquesne Light2017-02-17
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duquesne Light for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team members and helpful management

    Cons

    Not much to enter here

    Duquesne Light2017-02-07
  3. "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Duquesne Light full-time

    Pros

    Nice Pay for everyone there

    Cons

    Technology can be a pain point

    Duquesne Light2016-11-07
  4. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duquesne Light for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great pay for interns. I was very pleasantly surprised with their offer. - Fun events for interns (ex: full day of pay for going to see a Pirates game, paid for by the company) - My experience with my manager was amazing. He was very helpful and completely transparent with me. He was honest when I messed up, but helped me get back on my feet. He was very supportive and listened to all of my thoughts/concerns.

    Cons

    - Downtown location is a pain to get to sometimes, but this is true for anywhere in the city. Driving will require you to pay for parking. On Smithfield-Liberty, parking is $20/day. Consol (PPG Paints Center) is $6.50/day. This tends to add up pretty quickly. If you're local and can take public transportation, you'll have that benefit. - Company is a little slow technologically. Employee intranet is absolutely horrendous....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Consultants work well, but it's time to move away from having so many of them and hiring more full-time employees. You'll have more employee dedication to the company that way.

    Duquesne Light2016-10-15
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Nice place to work, but this is a utility not a business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Duquesne Light

    Pros

    As long as you put 40 hours in, there is flex time which works if you need to leave early. There are a lot of nice people that work here. Unfortunately, most of these people are not in upper management.

    Cons

    Good ole boys club is very noticeable Advancement not based on skill due to the point above

    Duquesne Light2016-09-29
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Old-school mentality with ZERO culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Duquesne Light full-time

    Pros

    The pay is good and they are trying to make positive changes. Probably one of the safer bets for longer term job security. A number of new employees have recently joined the company, but I don't imagine they will stick around very long if some changes are not made.

    Cons

    Technology is dated and the company is not very progressive. Management is very top/down and not very open to collaboration. Your time is managed and can be micromanaged. Some directors, not all, are too focused on minor details and are not looking at the big picture. They promote heavily from within which is both a pro and a con. A number of people in positions due to seniority and less to do with skills and abilities.

    Advice to Management

    Look at your directors and evaluate if they are concentrating on value-added issues. Upgrade your software and give your employees tools to do their jobs effectively. Hold people accountable and provide career training to your employees.

    Duquesne Light2016-08-09
  7. "On the Up and Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Duquesne Light full-time

    Pros

    Lots of hiring and raises the past year. Management willing to spend money and do things right. Big focus on safety.

    Cons

    Big organization, so lots and lots of managers. Decision making can be slow at times. Still some 35+ year employees who are fossils.

    Advice to Management

    Carry on spending money and hiring new employees. Good work updating the workforce. Work on HRs speed.

    Duquesne Light2016-06-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Puts Employees at Risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Duquesne Light for less than a year

    Pros

    Wages above electric utility industry average

    Cons

    Willingly puts employee safety at risk Management refuse to meet OSHA requirements Management rejects Continuous Improvement Directors are unqualified Manipulates info to PUC Unethical practices Poor culture

    Advice to Management

    Re-evaluate the Directors obtained from competitor. They are not qualified, unsafe, and non-compliant.

    Duquesne Light2016-04-25
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duquesne Light

    Pros

    Great place to work. Good pay and benefits. People are friendly and helpful Lots of areas of opportunity for the right person. Try to promote from within.

    Cons

    Occasional unfriendly, frustrated customers try to ruin your day or mood.Lots of overtime in summer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. We will get to the number one utility company in Pennsylvania soon. Starting with great reviews from employees.

    Duquesne Light2016-02-12
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Difficult culture to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aliquippa, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Duquesne Light for more than a year

    Pros

    I am really struggling here. Most of the people I worked with were great (pro) and really wanted to do a good job (pro). Certain upper management didn't let that happen easily or at all..

    Cons

    Difficult culture to work in.

    Duquesne Light2016-02-25
Found 49 reviews