Dyn "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Dyn Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 7, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Dyn CEO Colin Doherty
Colin Doherty
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "great people, paid gym membership, 401k up to 4% match, unlimited PTO free lunch on Tuesdays, phenomenal commute(in 17 reviews)

  • "Excellent employees and great benefits(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Decisions seem to be siloed a bit in upper management(in 8 reviews)

  • "There's a high level of office politicking and in-fighting from a directionless mid-management team(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Growing company finding their way, and I'm glad I'm along for the ride!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    New Hampshire in Manchester, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Dyn

    Pros

    Dyn's benefit package is better than any company I have ever worked for. They seem to work hard to ensure the benefits are unique and competitive. It is nice to not have health insurance take a big chunk out of your paycheck. It is also nice to have a gym onsite, dog-friendly workspaces, a cafe 100 feet from my desk and an opportunity to take a break and play some arcade games. Unlimited paid time off was hard to understand at first, but I love being able to take time off as I need it and not have to worry about ensuring I have "earned" the time first. This is a great model that I recommend everywhere! But Dyn is not all fun and games. We do work and we work hard. It is a growing company which means there are a lot of things to do. I like being busy and creative and Dyn affords me that opportunity. It is fun to be a direct contributor to such impressive growth.

    Show More

    Cons

    Dyn is growing and changing, and as we all know, change is HARD!! Many of the negative reviews I see are because people have a hard time adjusting to the frequent changes that happen so Dyn can continue to evolve. Change may happen a bit too often here, though. But I think that the reason it does is because Dyn doesn't like to be stuck with a decision they made if it isn't working. They are okay with changing it and moving on. This can be very hard for people who are much more used to the tried-and-true, steady-eddy companies that take an act of Congress to make any changes there. Decisions seem to be siloed a bit in upper management. Lower levels of management don't seem to be able to effect much change. I can't say I am super-surprised with this because it has been this way at all the other companies I have worked for as well.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep your eye on the prize. Change is good as long as it continues to be made to ensure we stay viable.

    Dyn2016-01-12
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Better than many, not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Dyn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO is great for a working parent, and the health care coverage was awesome. Those on my immediate team were wonderful to work with, and I was lucky enough to work for a manager who had my back. There are gems in upper management who really understand how to run a team. I saw many people get plenty of advancement opportunities within the company. Great place to learn.

    Cons

    Not sure at all where the company is going - and I'm not sure the leadership does either. The team I managed was grossly underpaid and upper management was in denial about it. Most communications from upper management were spun far too optimistically, which makes me wonder whether or not they could craft solutions to big problems. There were typically administrative processes serving as barriers to just get my job done - even when those tasks were essential to the business. These are all solvable issues, and if solved, that could convince me to work there again. Be aware that many of the perks are being slowly eroded - 100% paid medical is gone, and the small ones get removed one at a time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Foster a get-stuff-done mentality by removing unnecessary processes and trusting your individual contributors. Make more deliberate hires at that lower level. Remedy poor pay. Bring in transparency!

    Dyn2016-10-07
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (11)

    "Good People, Bad Decisions, Uncertain Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dyn full-time

    Pros

    - There are some truly amazing people at Dyn. You will make friends and enjoy coming to work if only to see some of the folks you'll get to know. There are many smart and talented people, especially for the area. - Unlimited PTO. Note: You will probably take less PTO than if you had a limit, it's counter intuitive but it's proven and explains why a company is comfortable offering it. BUT you will have the ease of mind of knowing you can take it when you need to without worrying about earned hours. - Free snacks and such in the kitchen are nice. - The office space creates a college student center vibe. If you're young this will be familiar and comfortable.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Upper management is disconnected from the masses. You will have zero time with C levels unless you are a senior director or above. For a company of a few hundred this seems like it could easily be fixed. - Culture is a mess. There is a concerning amount of distrust due to some easily avoidable incidents that honestly are a result of management not knowing their people and not knowing their own culture. Some perceived "wrongs" to multiple individuals who know and are liked by everyone over the course of the past 12 months lead to an "us vs them" mentality which is only solidified by a condescending tone to internal communications which has developed in the past 6 months. This is a MAJOR issue and it appears upper management isn't even aware. - Product. The product is fine. But it's not the best. It's not revolutionary. But it's one of the most expensive. Makes it hard to sell without bullshitting people, and in the technology world people can see right through marketing-speak. I have great hope that this will change in the next year or two, but management should be focused on one thing - making a product that leapfrogs every other competitor that can be packaged, marketed and sold like hotcakes. The talent is there to create such a thing. - Overall the cons should be on the priority list of management but are not insurmountable. There is a TREMENDOUS amount of talent at Dyn and the possibility for a very bright future.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Have brainstorming sessions with small groups of all levels. Get face time with everyone. The only way to build a sense of teamwork and shared purpose is to be honest, open, and available. People know they are underpaid. Admit it and give a reason. People will respect transparency. Don't try to convince them free beer is worth getting paid less.

    Dyn2015-02-17
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Depends on your middle management and your project"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Manchester, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dyn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CEO is genuinely a great person Coworkers are smart and really care about their work If you are responsible about your projects and PTO, you can have a pretty good work/life balance Benefits are great As an engineer, you get to rethink and reengineer older systems. Opportunity to work on projects with huge scale at a "smaller" company

    Cons

    Oppressive process creep over the last year has started the exodus of self-motivated and independent engineers Although most of the management team are good people, a lack of clear communication has created unrealistic expectations on some of the teams The increase in process has not translated into better communication between organizations. Each org does "their" job, but when communications break down and goals aren't achieved, the wrong people are sometimes held responsible. As an engineer, you get to reengineer older systems. This is also listed under "Pros", but sometimes the climb can be pretty steep and unfulfilling. There is a big push towards some sort of IPO or buyout, but no clear explanation of how this would benefit employees, since the recently bestowed equity is a joke. Worst of all, politics is starting to creep in, with all the associated maneuvering and creepiness. Upper management should make it clear that this will not be tolerated from anybody at any level.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Process is great, as long as management holds people in every organization responsible for their part of the endeavor. The engineers always seem to be the only ones without a chair when the music stops, since ultimately they must deliver the product. Trust your people. Tracking progress and holding people accountable is just good business, but you have to ensure that there isn't an undercurrent that people will screw up if you're not always on top of them. If you want employees to work towards the company goal of an IPO or acquisition, give them a reason to care. It's less risky for employees if it doesn't happen, as long as the company is profitable.

    Show More
    Dyn2014-12-29
  6. Helpful (24)

    "The (Once) Best and Worst Job I Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Manchester, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dyn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dyn was once a great place to work. I started when it was small and people focused. The culture was excellent. The dynamic was positive, one of collaboration. The health care benefits were and are particularly stellar. There's also video games, ping pong, foosball, beer, lots of fun events. Things weren't perfect but it was hands down the best company I worked for.

    Cons

    Once Dyn decided to grow and grow rapidly, things changed. The positive, collaborative atmosphere evaporated. Dyn’s upper management knew how to run a small start up, the fun dynamic roll up your sleeves incubator, but they did not understand how to run a full fledge corporate entity. Logistics matter at a larger scale. You can’t lean on the rising stars forever. Understanding, planning, and humility are key to maintaining organizational cohesion. Without cohesion, there is failure. Without humility, people who aren’t actually responsible are blamed. Since that blame is misplaced, the situation continues to deteriorate. When I left, so many things were horrible. Some of the least competent people were put in charge. Some of the hardest working had either quit or had been fired. Dyn has become a joke. Don’t believe the hype. Don’t believe the videos “It’s great to work at Dyn!” Don’t believe the oddly timed positive review that appears here right after a negative one. Believe in yourself. Believe you can do better. I say this and (Once) above because it took me only a few weeks to find a better paying, better treating, less stressful, and less off hours job than Dyn after the decline. Do not sell yourself short with their bs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit.

    Dyn2014-08-14
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Cool Tech, Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Manchester, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dyn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Their office is like an adult's playground. Beers on tap, whiskey in the hunting lodge.. Toys, outings, fun. Benefits better than most.

    Cons

    The culture has gone downhill and it's really a parody of itself. Employees are paid far less than they are worth. The influx of capital brought in lousy mid-upper management and terminated a lot of great people who built the company into what it is.

    Advice to Management

    Make the work-life balance actually balanced for engineers. Stop hiring awful middle and lower management. Find a long-term goal.

    Dyn2014-04-01
  8. Helpful (19)

    "Entry Level Company – Not Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Not In Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dyn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Jeremy is a good CEO. I'm not sure if he knows how his employees are treated, but he’s a very nice person.

    Cons

    Someone I used to work with wrote a review and it was eventually read by management at Dyn. The review made sense to a lot of the sales team because a lot of them feel the same way as what was written in the review. The upper-management team is young, arrogant and sometimes rude. They're ideal employee is 22-29, who they can pay below average salaries, pay them below average commissions, but excite them with a “cool” office and wearing t-shirts to work. To be clear, it’s not the culture that creates these issues, it’s the arrogance of upper management. Instead of just accepting the fact that this web site is here for employees to anonymously share insight about the company, one of the upper managers took it personal and sent emails basically reprimanding the employees and saying that writing the review was a “cop out”. He turned that review into a chance to blame the employees for not doing their jobs, and that’s why that person wrote it and why they are frustrated. I wasn't in sales, but I heard a lot about how they were treated and it doesn't seem fair. He went on to say “one more thing... and yes this "expletive" me off…the words in the post from glassdoor.com wasn't what "expletive" me off. "Expletive" rolls uphill and I've got thick skin after building this org from scratch for 5 years (and climbing the proverbial career ladder before that). I've been in every single one of your shoes in my career. It was that someone would feel the need to go to a public and anonymous feedback forum….especially in sales, when success is controlled by numero uno, I just thought it was a cop out and against what we stand for at Dyn…that has now changed, oh, and do your "expletive" job and sell!!!!!!”

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I no longer work at Dyn and this is a perfect example of why. Take a close look at successful organizations, they don’t receive emails like this from the people who are supposedly “building” or leading their company. He should’ve also realized that writing this in an email wasn’t a good idea either since its permanent and can be shared. It’s too bad. Dyn offers a decent technology, they just need a lot of help to become a professional company.

    Show More
    Dyn2013-09-01
  9. Helpful (18)

    "Not As Wonderful as it Seems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dyn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dyn is a good company and the CEO, Jeremy, has great vision and drive. Jeremy believes in his company and the people who work hard for him each day. There is a very generous work - life balance. They do a lot of community work and partnerships for charity.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the team directly under Jeremy seems to be more focused on their long-term success and how to achieve their personal financial goals of eventual buy-out out IPO, than they are with any of the folks who work very hard every day to achieve their personal goals, which are ultimately helping Dyn grow and succeed. Dyn is a growing company and one would expect growing pains. Dyn’s upper management claims to be “transparent” in their decision making process, however, more and more often decisions are made with no explanation of why or who determined the change was necessary. We didn’t ask for transparency, they offered it, but they aren’t as transparent or even willing to share information as they think they are. More importantly, most of the major decisions that have been made in the past 6 months have had a direct negative impact on employee productivity or compensation, resulting in lower morale and less belief that our success is of any importance to upper management. For example; with compensation, a new comp plan was rolled out at the beginning of the year, and our commissions were reduced. Lowering individual commission 1% doesn’t sound like much, but when you multiply that by over 45+ sales folks, that’s hundreds of thousands of dollars that Dyn is now keeping and not paying out to those how earned it. It should also be noted that their compensation structure is far below industry standards to begin with, both in salary and commissions. With the lower commission, they created “accelerators” for those who performed well and achieved ‘above average’ sales. These “accelerators” are like Vegas house odds because odds are in Dyn’s favor that you won’t actually achieve all the qualifiers they put in place and they won’t have to pay the higher commission. Furthermore, it’s only been 6 months and they just announced they’ll be reducing the percentage paid if you did actually hit those accelerators. Regarding technology; it’s been a very sore subject internally, but instead of using Outlook as our internal email, Dyn used something called Zimbra, which was antiquated, clumsy and didn’t integrate well with SalesForce. Recognizing there may be a need for a change, the company migrated to Gmail. A lot of us use Gmail for personal email, and quite honestly, that’s all it is good for. Gmail is not a professional email service and doesn’t integrate at all with SalesForce, forcing us to use plug-ins and add-on software, which also hasn’t worked very well. Dyn has spent more money in internal support and add-on software to integrate email platforms with SalesForce than if they just used the most common, professional, email software available on the market – Outlook. However, they feel the move made it easier to ‘collaborate’ between departments and chat, and video conference….but we already had those services available with other software they had invested in Dyn has hired a few high-level professionals to help the company grow. Unfortunately, upper-management is young and they only have their experiences with Dyn and often feel they are the best at what they do. We have hired and fired these high-level professionals within months and we are told as a company that they were not a “good cultural fit” for Dyn. To the employees, it seems like if a business professional comes to Dyn with a solid foundation of business knowledge, and starts to understand how many problems there are with our systems and lack of processes between all departments, and then tries to help our upper-management team…..our upper-management team is either ego-driven to believe they have done everything right and this person, clearly with more experience, is wrong… or they are just too embarrassed to admit they did their job poorly up to this point and getting rid of the person is easier than making all the drastic changes that desperately need to be made internally.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You've done a great job "marketing" Dyn as this "really cool" company to work with. Unfortunately, to the corporate world who we try to do business with, they aren't concerned with our number of "Facebook likes" or that we have the sickest "SXSW Parties". Focus less on making decisions which will benefit you in the long run and let a business professional help you grow the company. We work hard and shouldn't have our compensation reduced, ever! You will never grow your sales organization by offering seasoned sales professionals, entry-level salaries with such low commissions. Take a closer look at how SaaS companies compensate their employees and if you want to be considered a professional IaaS company, then compensate your sales force according to industry standard, at the minimum.

    Show More
    Dyn2013-07-13
Found 8 reviews
</>Embed