Dynetics Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Dynetics Engineer Reviews

Updated May 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Dynetics CEO David King
David King
19 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dynetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company with challenging problems. The amount of work can be overwhelming at times due to growth, but the technical challenges is something I have been unable to find elsewhere. Management has been great and very understanding when life happens. Management encourages time off with family and friends! Plenty of paid time off and the ability to bank comp time is a great benefit!

    Cons

    The company is growing at a rapid pace. With that said they are still only hiring the best employees to get the job done.

    Dynetics2019-01-31
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Company culture is stuck in 1974, but the work is interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dynetics full-time

    Pros

    Interesting work for interesting customers. Great ability to flex your schedule, depending on which group you work with.

    Cons

    Unnecessary emphasis on getting post grad degrees just to say you have it. No diversity or inclusion, and no signs management sees this as an area to improve. Manangement is stale and stagnant.

    Dynetics2019-05-09
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Aerospace Engineer 

      I have been working at Dynetics full-time

      Pros

      Great culture, great benefits, growing company

      Cons

      Growing too fast which has the potential to erode culture

      Dynetics2019-04-14
    • "Passive Aggressive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Computer Engineer 

        I worked at Dynetics full-time

        Pros

        Nice campus, interesting work, coworkers were friendly, benefits were reasonably good

        Cons

        Management was passive aggressive, and it felt like I was joining a cult. I kept getting called in to get warned that I should "be careful" about doing this or that. I'd ask if I had done any such thing, or if there had been any complaints, and I'd be told no. When I asked around to my project lead or other coworkers they'd have no idea either.

        Advice to Management

        Be more direct. And have your employee orientation before they've been there 3 months already. And nix the bit where you polish the TBP bent of the founder with a Dynetics towel...it's super creepy.

        Dynetics2019-04-23
      • "good place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Electrical Engineer in Huntsville, AL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Dynetics full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        interesting work and assignments, good people

        Cons

        starting to get the too big of a company feel

        Advice to Management

        not everyone that wants to be, makes a good leader

        Dynetics2019-03-31
      • "Field Service Engineer Automotive Quality Assurance IT"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Field Service Engineer in Huntsville, AL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Dynetics for less than a year

        Pros

        It seems actually working for Dynetics is very lucrative and rewarding. My interactions with Dynetics personnel was always excellent and I always learned a lot.

        Cons

        Unfortunately the contract location was nearly intolerable.

        Advice to Management

        Consider treating contracted employees with slighlty more regard.

        Dynetics2019-01-15
      • "Intern"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Software Engineer() in Huntsville, AL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Dynetics for less than a year

        Pros

        Great team. Friendly, welcoming, and helpful. They set you up with one or two mentors to work with and then you also check in with your supervisor now and then. Very laid back for a contractor in terms of culture. Flexible starting/ending times (although they're firm on the 40-hr week for interns). Some teams do jeans/polo but others want business casual. Interesting work! Almost every team does some cool stuff,...

        Show More

        Cons

        It is a defense contractor, so there can be a lot of red tape on startup (getting SW/HW reqs fulfilled, access, etc). They place interns based on their needs, so you may not get placed in a position you necessarily want (although it worked out for me). The campus is large with multiple buildings, and the teams can be spread out, so it wasn't easy to connect with the other interns sometimes.

        Dynetics2018-11-09
      • Helpful (1)

        "Best Defense Contractor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Principal Engineer 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Dynetics full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Excellent company. Focused on taking care of employees. Ethics are a top priority. A lot of smart people. I would not work for another defense contractor.

        Cons

        Growing too fast. Not sure the overhead functions are keeping up with the growth.

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the good work. Continue to take care of your people.

        Dynetics2018-10-25

        Dynetics Response

        October 31, 2018Corporate Recruiter

        Thank you for your comments!

      • "Senior Engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Huntsville, AL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Dynetics full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Very Exciting Work, Started out with really Good Benefits, Medical Clinic and Nurse Practitioner on Campus is awesome

        Cons

        Focus on growing the company over the employee, Upper management seems to only care about the stock prices even at the expense of employee happiness, when questioned about cutting benefits was told that the company was trying to match the industry standard, Far too many chiefs and not enough Indians, Employee treated like he/she is replaceable unlike years before, Too much micro-managing.

        Advice to Management

        Good companies are made up of happy employees. Go back to the things that used to make Dynetics far better than the industry standard. Dynetics USE to give 15% toward an employees retirement without matching. Dynetics USE to have unparalleled Personal Time Off (PTO) from a holding standpoint and from an earning standpoint. Dynetics USE to be an environment where an ambitious Engineer could help shape the job/work and...

        Show More
        Dynetics2018-11-21
      • Helpful (1)

        "Electrical Engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Huntsville, AL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Dynetics full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        People are good. Lots of different work.

        Cons

        cant think of any cons

        Dynetics2018-09-05
      Found 40 reviews