Dynetics "employee owned" Reviews | Glassdoor

Dynetics Employee Reviews about "employee owned"

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Dynetics CEO David King
David King
37 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Dynetics' pay does not match other companies in Huntsville, but the benefits and quality of treatment have kept it above(in 8 reviews)

  • "Since crossing the large business threshold, there is no real plan on how to evolve and succeed as a large defense contractor(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee owned"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Best private company to work for in Huntsville!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dynetics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Employee-owned, ethical, young work-force, great co-workers, family friendly. They really care about customers and employees. Growing really fast in last few years.

    Cons

    Need to be able to wear several hats all the time. Health benefits are competitive for defense industry but could be better, however, we do have a great nurse onsite.

    Advice to Management

    A bit too conservative which makes it hard to match the company's growth.

    Dynetics2018-03-29
  2. "Dream job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electro-mechanical Technician in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dynetics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    100 percent employee owned company with great benefits...

    Cons

    Haven't found any yet.. I've been here for 8 years now..

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Dynetics2017-12-14

    Dynetics Response

    December 14, 2017Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your comments.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Mid-size company that still puts employees first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RF Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dynetics for less than a year

    Pros

    Dynetics is employee-owned and has great benefits. They do a lot of interesting work, without all the layers and layers of middle management that some larger companies have. Working at a customer site away from the headquarters in Huntsville, our team is mostly autonomous without any pains of micromanagement.

    Cons

    None that I know of, but I also don't work at the primary location.

    Dynetics2016-01-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Very positive, leaders and managers genuinely seem to care and try their best to help when they can."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Analyst II in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dynetics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Outstanding facilities. Tons of opportunities assuming you have the right skill sets. Being employee owned seems to make people care more about the little things.

    Cons

    Very conservative. Very "culture" driven. Advancement into management seems to be a tough nut to crack. To take any of their courses in project management or the like reading requires nominations.

    Advice to Management

    Clearly lay out how to advance within the organization.

    Dynetics2015-11-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Employee owned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dynetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Being an employee-owned company, everyone feels a commitment to work their best and continue to add value to the company. And people at this company actually care, unlike many of the giants in the industry.

    Cons

    I have heard that the non-engineering groups can be a bit disfunctional. This is a carry-over from still having some of the original employees on staff, even though they may not be the best candidate for their position anymore. This should phase out over the next five years.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to hire the best and offer competitive benefits. Dynetics has its priorities straight -- create an environment where people are encouraged to excel -- let's keep it that way.

    Dynetics2015-06-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "When you're here...you're family!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dynetics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is an employee-owned, flexible and friendly place to work with excellent benefits.

    Cons

    Older buildings need some deep cleaning and updates.

    Advice to Management

    We could use a mentoring program for new employees

    Dynetics2015-05-14
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Dynetics is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Dynetics for more than 3 years

    Pros

    After reviewing some of the posts, it seems many people are confusing Dynetics with Dynetics Technical Services (completely separate company). Dynetics is a great place to work and provides a fantastic benefits package. The retirement package and medical plans are exceptional. Dynetics is a ESOP employee owned company. The company has a great reputation in the community, treats employees fairly, highly ethical and family...

    Show More

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunities for advancement. The company is currently mid-sized, but is growing and hiring fast. If Dynetics continues to grow, more advancement opportunities will be available. This is especially true in the non-technical business operation groups. The company is very conservative and is not quick to make big changes (that can be seen as good or bad).

    Advice to Management

    Our current executives are some of the founders of the company. They have helped build Dynetics from the ground up. They take great pride and have done an exceptional job. All of our execs have an open door policy and are all very approachable and engaging with employees. I have an enormous amount of respect for them. With that being said, our previous president just stepped down (phased retirement) and our CEO is retiring...

    Show More
    Dynetics2015-05-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "The single most challenging - and rewarding - job I've ever had... and I've had a lot of jobs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dynetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Boredom is not an option, as no two days are ever the same. I rarely require or get direct daily supervision. I have a job to do, many tasks to attend to, several people for whom I am responsible, and managers even three generations above me sincerely care about whether I have the resources I need on a daily basis - but they don't intervene or micro-manage. They encourage, and they resource when/where necessary, according...

    Show More

    Cons

    Being an employee owned company, being a company that grows based on the activities and interest levels of the employees... the only negative that comes to my mind at the moment is that I've only been involved here for a few years.

    Advice to Management

    When you stop by today to see if I need anything, please bring some coffee.

    Dynetics2014-08-14
  9. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dynetics

    Pros

    Truly is concerned about their employees. It is an employee owned company and they take that seriously.

    Cons

    Unfortunately their are few positions other than for engineers.

    Dynetics2014-01-10
  10. "Dynetics is an amazing company with great leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dynetics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, employee owned, good management, great benefits...

    Cons

    Not many! I actually have no complaints about anything at Dynetics.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Dynetics2013-04-15
Found 102 reviews