Dyno Nobel Reviews | Glassdoor

Dyno Nobel Reviews

Updated Jan 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Dyno Nobel CEO James Fazzino (no image)
James Fazzino
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and great atmosphere(in 7 reviews)

  • "Exciting opportunity for multi-site continuous improvement initiative rollout, good pay(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management talks of equal opportunity but when it comes to promoting and compensation they fail to follow through(in 5 reviews)

  • "The changes and influence from the Australian parent company was not a good thing(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company, tries to do things right"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Dyno Nobel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dyno Nobel North America currently has some very good leadership. Competitive pay and benefits.

    Cons

    A few strong personalities, but overall most people are pretty happy, not many cons.

    Dyno Nobel2020-02-01
  2. "Politics, Control, and Oppression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cottonwood Heights, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dyno Nobel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Talented people, decent pay and benefits, safety culture

    Cons

    Worst politics I've seen in my entire life. Those who speak up and share any inkling of disagreement with management are punished. Upper management blows obscene amounts of money on stupid stuff (Safety Partners, 150-person yearly management conference at Deer Valley) then cuts jobs and bonuses as a result. No transparency whatsoever. IT is a joke, their computers are worth $300 tops and you don't have any admin rights on your computer.

    Continue reading
    Dyno Nobel2019-12-28
  3. "30+ years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dyno Nobel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good opportunities. Decent treatment of people. Good safety culture.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations. Crumbling infrastructure. Poor succession plans.

    Continue reading
    Dyno Nobel2019-10-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Dyno says one thing, and does another"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - R&D Member in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dyno Nobel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - You get to take your own trash out because lehi doesn't care about cleanliness.

    Cons

    - Mandatory to complete safety training but no one follows it, and management doesn't enforce it even when safety concerns are brought up - Business accomplishments are not valued and do not contribute to salary or career advancement - Site has an engineer that doesn't engineer anything and breaks things that are already working - There is favoritism for a select few at lehi that is blatantly corrupt and it hinders others from being able to do their job. When reported to Corporate, all corrupt parties kept their supervisor positions. - Lehi lacks checks & balances - All lab equipment is broken, and management asks you to "work around" it

    Continue reading
    Dyno Nobel2019-09-26
  5. "Not Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Blast Operator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dyno Nobel full-time

    Pros

    Getting to work outdoors. Decent Pay

    Cons

    Politics, Favoritism, low opportunity for advancement

    Dyno Nobel2019-07-07
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Yard Worker in Carthage, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dyno Nobel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked at Carthage dyno Nobel plant for 20 years and quit to open restaurant

    Cons

    None at all I loved it

    Continue reading
    Dyno Nobel2019-06-15
  7. "Very good - salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - I&C Engineer in Winfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dyno Nobel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great safety program Good pay Flexible hours Okay benefits

    Cons

    Very flat organization; not much growth opportunities

    Continue reading
    Dyno Nobel2019-05-02
  8. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dyno Nobel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family orientated. Loved working there.

    Cons

    Located kind of in the middle of nowhere.

    Continue reading
    Dyno Nobel2019-04-08
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Command and control! Ego and political driven culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Cottonwood Heights, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dyno Nobel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good location. strong company performance

    Cons

    Micro-management, empire building, low morale, ego driven workforce. Worst politics I have ever seen. Very conservative and strict culture, command and control are everywhere. If you don't question management or anyone you will do fine.

    Continue reading
    Dyno Nobel2019-02-14
  10. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead in Cheyenne, WY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dyno Nobel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Everything is great working here.

    Cons

    Nothing is wrong working here

    Continue reading
    Dyno Nobel2018-12-21
Found 71 reviews