E.A. Renfroe & Company Reviews | Glassdoor

E.A. Renfroe & Company Reviews

Updated Apr 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
E.A. Renfroe & Company CEO Eugene A. Renfroe (no image)
Eugene A. Renfroe
22 Ratings
  1. "Claims Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Claims Adjuster in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E.A. Renfroe & Company

    Pros

    The pay and training are great

    Cons

    I would like more consistent work

    Advice to Management

    The training I receive from Renfroe is alway superb. The only thing I would like to see is more daily claim work.

    E.A. Renfroe & Company2017-01-02

    E.A. Renfroe & Company Response

    January 4, 2017Director, HR

    Your feedback is very valuable to us so thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind comments about the pay and training we offer. We are very proud of our Training Department and our managers and trainers. We are glad to know that you would like to work with us more. We are constantly working to provide more deployment opportunities to our employees. Be sure to keep your experience and availability updated so that we will have the most recent information about you when those opportunities become available.

    Show Less
  2. "Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E.A. Renfroe & Company

    Pros

    Good infrastructure and managent. Family friendly

    Cons

    Sometimes sporadic and communication with Human Resources is sometimes difficult

    E.A. Renfroe & Company2016-12-29
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Horrible Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I worked at E.A. Renfroe & Company

    Pros

    Benefits were 100% paid for a while. The stress of the job outweighed any other pros there might have been.

    Cons

    They treat long standing employees like they are a dime a dozen. They bring in outside people for management positions that were never posted for current employees to apply for. They bring in temporary help and make them think they will hire them and then release them with no notice at all. They make you work 14+ hours a day when a storm my be 12,000 miles off the coast with no promise of it hitting. You are on call... 24/7 with no on-call pay. If you are one second late you will get in trouble. They make you choose the company first at all times and never work with you when you have an emergency. They constantly lead adjusters to believe they will be deployed and then lead them on for months to years and never deploy them. I would not recommend anyone to work here.

    Show More
    E.A. Renfroe & Company2016-12-09

    E.A. Renfroe & Company Response

    December 27, 2016Director, HR

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, and we regret that your work with RENFROE did not meet your expectations. As we explain to all candidates when they apply to RENFROE, the independent adjusting industry is dependent upon the weather and is thus, by its very nature, unpredictable. Our job is to be prepared to service the needs of our clients and their policyholders regardless of when, where, or how big an incident might be, and we prepare for that the best that we can. This includes having employees on standby in case they are needed, working extended hours while responding to an event if necessary, and traveling. While this may pose a slight burden for some, our employees have chosen to work for us because they feel that this burden is more than outweighed by both the benefits of the position and the knowledge that the work they do is valuable and meaningful to our clients and to their policyholders in their time of need. RENFROE prides itself on doing everything we can to support our employees in their positions, including providing standby pay based upon the needs of the storm and our clients, paying project employees on a weekly basis, providing our employees up-to-date deployment information, and offering a number of other services and benefits to our employees not offered by others in the industry. Finally, RENFROE’s management team is the strongest in the industry because we only consider the highest quality and most effective leaders for our management team. Those skills are generally developed working for RENFROE, and in fact the vast majority of our managers, both in our corporate office and in the field, were promoted to their positions after adjusting for RENFROE.

    Show Less
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E.A. Renfroe & Company

    Pros

    Pay, by the book , fair, understandable when personal time is needed

    Cons

    Unable to use lunch time to extend personal needs

    E.A. Renfroe & Company2016-10-14
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Independent Catastrophe Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Birmingham, AL

    I have been working at E.A. Renfroe & Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training Free of charge. You are trained in Estimatics, Catastrophe Fire Adjusting, Auto and XactAnalysis. The great thing is all your certifications are through State Farm. You receive classroom training and you also get Video tutorials to help you study. They have a nice friendly atmosphere. Excellent place to work.

    Cons

    The normal for Independent Adjusting just waiting to be deployed. A disaster needs to occur but that comes with the territory. They provide you with all the information you need to ensure you have a great chance to be deployed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    E.A. Renfroe & Company2016-09-12
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Run!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at E.A. Renfroe & Company

    Pros

    Upper management doesn't know most of what the lower level managers are enforcing on us. If they knew they might fix it,

    Cons

    This was the most awful company I've ever worked for in my life. They bend the rules for their favorites & strictly enforce the rules on everyone else. They expect you to work 16 hours a day with no notice & be on call 24/7 with no on call pay. There is nowhere to move up and grow. It's a revolving door & most importantly they do not care about their people. If you clock in 1 minute late you get in trouble. Everyone... at home office is unhappy & looking to leave. I got in trouble for showing too many toes on shoes, don't go to the break room or restroom before 9am, etc.

    Show More
    E.A. Renfroe & Company2016-10-13

    E.A. Renfroe & Company Response

    October 19, 2016Director, HR

    At RENFROE, we have a great team of home office staff who work hard to provide support to the victims of catastrophes. In order to provide a fair and comfortable office environment for that work, we have implemented some common-sense policies that apply to and are clearly explained to all employees, including being on time to work and dressing professionally. We are a family-owned and family-operated company, and while we expect everyone to work the hours they committed to when a disaster strikes, we strive to treat all of our employees like family, even during those busy times. We are proud of our team and of the work that they do, and regularly promote employees to management positions; in fact, almost all of our managers have been promoted through the ranks to their current positions. We also pay our employees for all of the work they do, including any overtime work that may be required when a large catastrophe strikes.

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Fairly new to adjusting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in West Chester, PA

    I have been working at E.A. Renfroe & Company for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, variety of the assignments

    Cons

    Hard to get first deployment without connections

    E.A. Renfroe & Company2016-08-31
  8. "Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at E.A. Renfroe & Company

    Pros

    The pay is good at times

    Cons

    You never know when you will be called for work

    E.A. Renfroe & Company2016-08-31
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Independent Catastrophic Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at E.A. Renfroe & Company

    Pros

    Pay for performance is the main pro

    Cons

    Politics matter more than performance.

    Advice to Management

    Value top performers.

    E.A. Renfroe & Company2016-09-06
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Excellent Company - Challenging Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Independent Claims Adjuster in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E.A. Renfroe & Company

    Pros

    My title is "Independent Adjuster" with emphasis on independent. This is a fascinating and challenging career field for individuals who are fiscally savvy, self motivated, self-starters and competent decision makers. If you struggle with decision making this career path is not for you. But if you can make it in this field the job is very rewarding. You will be responsible for writing the checks that aid... policyholders in putting their lives back together. The salary, when deployed, is very much worth the sacrifices that will be made. But if you get into the fielded for the money only you will be disappointed.

    Show More

    Cons

    Waiting and waiting to get deployed. And when you do get deployed, it's likely it will not be in your hometown. Travel and hours works can be taxing.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the compensation. The industry has not increased wages/salaries in years. The top performer is paid equal to the bottom performer. Establish a tiered pay structure.

    E.A. Renfroe & Company2016-06-14
Found 40 reviews