E.L. Haynes Public Charter School Reviews

Updated Feb 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
E.L. Haynes Public Charter School CEO Hilary Darilek
Hilary Darilek
18 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Your voice matters.

    Feb 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Collaborative and inclusive. It is a pandemic, E.L. Haynes is making decisions with staff to determine what is best for the community as a whole. No other school in the city seems to be doing this. They take thoughtful approaches to changes and challenges, and work with staff to solve them. I believe and I know that leadership and management care about me as an employee.

    Cons

    Your experience with managers can be inconsistent, and this could impact your day-to-day experience at the school.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    El Haynes

    Jan 31, 2021 - Teacher in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Structured environment, supportive staff/admin, and long tenured staff

    Cons

    Work load, work/life balance, outside of work expectations

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Horrible treatment of teachers, unbelievably low expectations of students

    Feb 6, 2021 - Teacher in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay for teaching, pretty good benefits too. The school has decent resources, too - I didn't have to pay as much out of pocket for supplies as I normally do.

    Cons

    I had a very negative experience teaching here. The expectations they have for students both behaviorally and academically are shockingly low. When I worked there, it was school policy that there are no set-in-stone consequences for misbehavior (with the exception of illegal activity). The idea being that every misbehavior should be handled on a case-by-case basis. It might sound like a good idea in theory, but in practice it was a dumpster fire of a disaster. In practice, you'd have students who would face zero actual consequences for getting in physical fights with other students. There were even situations in which students threatened (or even physically tried to harm!!) teachers and faced absolutely zero consequences besides a call home. This fostered a culture of absolute chaos. I am someone who has an anxiety disorder, and even the act of driving to work each day would induce panic attacks due to how unsafe the environment was (and how unsupportive the leadership was too). Because our consequence system had essentially no gravity, all misbehavior had to be handled within the classroom. Teachers were on their own - and the students were absolutely aware of this fact. Students would even mock teachers when they used the walkie-talkie to call admin for support. A couple of students who I had gained rapport with told me that a lot of their peers misbehave because they knew they would get away with it. In their own words they said, "we know we run this school." The academic expectations were just as low. I was expected to spoon feed answers to students on their independent work. In fact, there were multiple times that I received negative observation feedback because I did not literally provide answers to independent work with students whole group. I am not exaggerating when I say that I was literally told to get up in front of the class and announce the answers to as many questions as possible on their worksheets. Not help students self-correct answers, but literally provide the answers to students who had not even bothered to read the instructions (let alone picked up their pencil to attempt the work). When I followed through on these directives from my supervisors, I felt like I was actively harming students who already had the odds stacked against them. All of these problems stem from what seem to be misaligned incentives structures in place for the leadership. Their goals were to reduce suspensions and to raise GPAs - which are obviously great goals. However, rather than actually working to improve student behavior and academic achievement, they just moved the goalposts. If you don't want students to be suspended, the easiest way to achieve that is to just not suspend them for harmful behavior. If you want students to pass their class, you can just pressure teachers to do the schoolwork for them. The school puts forth a very glossy image, but it's really smoke and mirrors. I cannot stress how deeply I regret taking the job at EL Haynes. I wasted a year of my life there. I worked overtime almost every single day and in return, I was mistreated by leadership and by my students. I have never worked as hard in my life as I did at Haynes, and I was treated like I was lazy and incompetent by my supervisors. Please, I implore you, before you accept a job at this school, really *really* do your research. All of the negative review you read are true, and then some.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Teacher Here

    Dec 3, 2020 - English Teacher in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Autonomy to lead your classroom as you see fit. They value teachers. Diverse student population.

    Cons

    Pay isn't that great compared to other schools.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Strong Community Focused on Social Equity

    Sep 17, 2020 - Data Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Caring community, mission-focused, passionate, supportive, skilled

    Cons

    No real cons. This is a great community.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    awesome place to work

    Aug 11, 2020 - Support Staff 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    At the elementary school staff is passionate and cares for students' education and progress deeply.

    Cons

    Needs more structure and support

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Has potential

    Jul 27, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    some school teams are strong and supportive

    Cons

    Policies and enforcement vary depending on relationship

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good place to grow and learn

    Jan 2, 2020 - Middle School Special Education Teacher in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers generally friendly and helpful

    Cons

    Racial discrimination, lack of consistency from adults in the building

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Hard Work Pays Off

    Apr 2, 2019 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone works super hard. The culture is fantastic and the supervisors are great.

    Cons

    Everyone works super hard, so you have to do that too. Teaching isn't a flexible job option.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great School Community

    Feb 14, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Positive adult culture; commitment to equity; connections with the community through events like Soccer Day and Black History Month Celebration

    Cons

    It's a small district, so you're often the only one doing your job, makes it harder to collaborate.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 English Reviews

Work at E.L. Haynes Public Charter School? Share Your Experiences

E.L. Haynes Public Charter School logo
or