E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
86%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery President and CEO Ernest Gallo (no image)
Ernest Gallo
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "Demonstrated commitment to work-life balance(in 107 reviews)

  • "Family-owned, long-term view of success - willingness to invest(in 66 reviews)

Cons
  • "At times work life balance can be a challenge to balance against those high expectations(in 78 reviews)

  • "long hours, challenging, alot of drive time(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    COVID-19

    "Excellent company to work for in good times and bad."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I only recently joined on with Gallo a few weeks before the COVID-19 issues hit the US, but I have been working with Gallo as a consultant for several years prior to that. I can speak to Gallo's work culture now from an outside consultant's perspective as well as an official employee. Gallo has an excellent culture that is centered around collaboration and genuine interest in the opinions of others. Gallo has really taken the COVID-19 disruptions in stride. It is extremely difficult for any company of this size to navigate these times with everything evolving so quickly, but I can honestly say that Gallo has done an outstanding job and truly has the best intentions at heart (all the way up to the executive leadership). I would highly recommend a career at Gallo. You feel valued here and are not just a number. Being a private company, Gallo is able to do things that other companies cannot. They are here to bring value to the company and its employees, not shareholders on Wall Street. Many people don't realize just how important that is. I have worked with Gallo as a consultant through many good times of fast growth. Now being on the 'inside' during this unusual time has made me even more excited to be a part of this team. I look forward to seeing what the future holds. Do not come to Gallo expecting to be able to set your work pace on cruise. To be a top leader in the wine industry, you have to put in the work. Gallo knows this and expects it from all employees at every level. Your hard work will be rewarded! This is a huge pro for me because I have worked at a large company where no matter how much or how little effort you put in, you followed the same prescribed path as everyone else. This is not true at Gallo which I think is a big reason why most everyone here is so dedicated to doing their best every single day. That culture and mindset is contagious.

    Cons

    I would not work at Gallo if you aren't ready for a fast-paced environment.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 24, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    We truly appreciate your thoughtful feedback. Thanks for all you do!

  2. "Gallo is a great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture, leadership cares about employees, mission for innovation

    Cons

    Although the main campus is amazing, Modesto is not the greatest location

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 31, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for sharing your experience. Cheers!


  3. "The Best!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consumer Engagement in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, diversity, family owned and the endless opportunities.

    Cons

    A bit difficult to understand what department or job functionalities entail when looking for opportunity to grow.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 31, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    We're so happy to hear it. Thanks for sharing!

  4. "Great Family-Owned Organization"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agency Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Truly a people-first organization Demonstrated commitment to work-life balance Excellent values-driven culture Opportunities for growth and career development Highly secure company and industry

    Cons

    Change is not rapid and takes levels of buy-in

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 31, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for all you do!

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    High paced environment that provides opportunities for professional growth. Flexibility given to assist with worklife balance. Great team environment. They care about their employees.

    Cons

    This is not a con but more of a statement. Your career has to be driven my you just like other companies. Have to be proactive, network, and build a team that will assist you in your career development.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 24, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Please be on the lookout for our 2020 (and beyond) D&I Initiatives and keep your feedback coming. Cheers to you!

  6. "Work hard play hard!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A fun, family owned company to work for. It is always clear that even the highest level corporate managers at the company truly care for their employees. Gallo has a fun, family culture and the importance they place on the well-being of their employees never goes unnoticed. They offer stellar training programs to develop employee skills and have great opportunity for growth and career advancement.

    Cons

    Slightly less competitive pay at entry level.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 27, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate all you do! Cheers!

  7. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Committed to Growth Strong and Consistent Corporate Values Feels Like Family Open to New Ideas

    Cons

    Need expanded work from home options after COVID

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 24, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate all of your hard work and dedication. Cheers to you!

  8. COVID-19

    "I LOVE MY JOB!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Gallo gives you the support and autonomy to thrive in your job. They are a family-first company and have been extremely supportive (especially with the challenges of being a parent) during COVID-19.

    Cons

    Watch out for that spin!

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 26, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your review. We LOVE hearing that you love your job so much! Cheers to you!

  9. "Great people, great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Elizabeth, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team environment, great leadership

    Cons

    Nothing worth mentioning on here

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 24, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your Advice to Management and will be sharing it with our Sr. Sales Leaders. Cheers!

  10. "General Sales Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GENERAL SALES MANAGER in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People-first culture, innovative spirit, winning history, industry leader, career development, fast-paced

    Cons

    early hours to meet expectations

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 24, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for all of your hard work and dedication. It does not go unnoticed. Cheers to you!

Found 555 reviews