E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews | Glassdoor

E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 373 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    Truly special company!

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The People - They are genuinely nice and make up the entire company. Respect - This is very clear as soon as you walk in the door. Everyone respects the other. There is no not saying hello to a VP level of averting a gaze from as higher up. (Which was very prominent at my last company.) Integrity - Most straight forward and honest people I've ever worked with Humility and Caring - All the family members who work here...

    Show More

    Cons

    Challenging to find an opening because not many ever leave this company!

    Advice to Management

    You are doing this right!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 6, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing feedback. We are so lucky to have you. Keep up the great work! Cheers!

  2. the best place I have ever worked

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International Compliance Analyst in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    disarmingly friendly colleagues, the leadership takes a long-term look at success rather than only quarterly reports; it's cliche it seems like management will listen to any good idea regardless of whose it is; actual work/life balance; it's run by adults and not children with VC accounts; the wine shop is legit

    Cons

    technical and data infrastructure is on outdated or incompatible platforms (although some of this is being addressed); same instance of communication gaps that affects any company this big; most of Modesto's restaurants are stuck in 1997 (but the parks are nice)

    Advice to Management

    keep up the data/technical modernization, keep lines of communication open

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    January 14, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate all that you do to make Gallo such a special place to work. Cheers!

  3. I love my Job, I love my Company!

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    People and Leadership are some of the absolute best I've ever worked with and work for in over 30 years in our industry. Our brands and the way the Gallo Family care about them as more than just products is why Gallo is the best. Our brands are truly lifestyle brands and the entire Gallo Family and it's employees bring those brands to life in impact-full, innovative ways.

    Cons

    We can find ourselves on an island sometimes as remote employees but this is a very small "con" to working for this great company. There are many different business units and sometimes there is communication break down.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate, communicate, communicate. Don't think or assume employees know what you're thinking.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    January 7, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for the glowing review! We appreciate your kind words and constructive feedback e.g. "Advice to Management." We're lucky to have great employees like you. Cheers!

  4. Great Company - Better Management

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Wine Specialist in Healdsburg, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management really knows how to empower their employees by educating them.

    Cons

    Lots of training either before or after business hours

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    January 3, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback!

  5. Great Training

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    -Great sales & retail training. -Fast-paced industry -Great People

    Cons

    - Distributors not in-line with Winery innovation.

    Advice to Management

    -Invest in more people. Business is out there.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    January 15, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience as a District Manager. We appreciate all that you do and will be sharing your review with our Sales Leadership Team. Cheers!

  6. The Absolute Best

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Culture, People, Product, Vision, Leadership

    Cons

    always more to do at the company

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 11, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you!

  7. Leadership Development

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Development Program in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Occasional opportunities to learn about the industry in depth (WSET). Not much else. Gallo “family tree” doe not help low level sales rep in the hardest part of their career.

    Cons

    Limited room for growth unless it worked for the “bigger picture”. No initial training - was placed in front of buyers with to no training. No holidays, insanely little PTO (5 days), Terrible district managers that provided only criticism. Upper level did not understand what was happening at the ground floor aka sales rep position. Would have taken 2+ years to be promoted within or to another division minimum. Such physical...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Offer better benefits to all employees. Listen and help your sales rep employees. Their well being is better than the numbers you hit. Just because your Gallo family members work at the distributors does not be you can not take care of them.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 28, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We will be reviewing this with our sales leadership in an effort to make improvements moving forward. To address your comment around training, we put great importance on training to ensure all employees are properly trained as we know our ...

    Show More
  8. Amazing Forward-Looking Culture

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing forward-looking culture Great communication from management Opportunities for meaningful work in multiple areas All opinions are considered worth considering

    Cons

    *Glassdoor specifies I need at least five words in the 'cons' box*

    Advice to Management

    Continue the great open communication and horizon aiming mindset.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 6, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. We appreciate you! Cheers!

  9. Never a Dull Moment

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I have a great cross functional position wherein I get to work with different Sales and Marketing teams across the business. I am consistently impressed with both the quality and engagement of those I interact with, as well as the future plans management shares with us. People here are smart and they work hard and they seem to enjoy it. I do! Company policy has also been very generous--early on I had a lot of family...

    Show More

    Cons

    Honestly for me there aren't many--asking for a better type of free coffee is too petty!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 6, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Your review made our day! Thanks for all you do to make Gallo such a great place to work. Cheers to you!

Found 373 reviews