E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews | Glassdoor

E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 376 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Truly special company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The People - They are genuinely nice and make up the entire company. Respect - This is very clear as soon as you walk in the door. Everyone respects the other. There is no not saying hello to a VP level of averting a gaze from as higher up. (Which was very prominent at my last company.) Integrity - Most straight forward and honest people I've ever worked with Humility and Caring - All the family members who work here...

    Show More

    Cons

    Challenging to find an opening because not many ever leave this company!

    Advice to Management

    You are doing this right!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 6, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing feedback. We are so lucky to have you. Keep up the great work! Cheers!

  2. "Sales representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Temecula, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great schedule, great company culture. Very good pay.

    Cons

    use of own car for work

    Advice to Management

    None

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    March 13, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. Best of luck to you!

  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Fresno, CA

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Outstanding atmosphere , long vacations and freedom at work

    Cons

    Low pay, working outdoor in the heat.

    Advice to Management

    Need more training

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    March 13, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your Gallo experience. We appreciate all you do and will be sharing your feedback (regarding additional training) with our HR leadership team. Cheers to you!

  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Very good company to work for!

    Cons

    Fast pace may be challenging for some people

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    February 7, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and for your 8+ years at Gallo. We are lucky to have you!

  5. "Great overall experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barefoot Wine Ambassador in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Loved my experience, management was amazing and a great opportunity for growth leadership

    Cons

    I have no cons with this role.

    Advice to Management

    Work-life balance could be better

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    January 22, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We will be sharing your feedback with our leadership team and wish you the best of luck in the future. Cheers!

  6. "the best place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International Compliance Analyst in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    disarmingly friendly colleagues, the leadership takes a long-term look at success rather than only quarterly reports; it's cliche it seems like management will listen to any good idea regardless of whose it is; actual work/life balance; it's run by adults and not children with VC accounts; the wine shop is legit

    Cons

    technical and data infrastructure is on outdated or incompatible platforms (although some of this is being addressed); same instance of communication gaps that affects any company this big; most of Modesto's restaurants are stuck in 1997 (but the parks are nice)

    Advice to Management

    keep up the data/technical modernization, keep lines of communication open

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    January 14, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate all that you do to make Gallo such a special place to work. Cheers!

  7. "I love my Job, I love my Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    People and Leadership are some of the absolute best I've ever worked with and work for in over 30 years in our industry. Our brands and the way the Gallo Family care about them as more than just products is why Gallo is the best. Our brands are truly lifestyle brands and the entire Gallo Family and it's employees bring those brands to life in impact-full, innovative ways.

    Cons

    We can find ourselves on an island sometimes as remote employees but this is a very small "con" to working for this great company. There are many different business units and sometimes there is communication break down.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate, communicate, communicate. Don't think or assume employees know what you're thinking.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    January 7, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for the glowing review! We appreciate your kind words and constructive feedback e.g. "Advice to Management." We're lucky to have great employees like you. Cheers!

  8. "Great Company - Better Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Wine Specialist in Healdsburg, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management really knows how to empower their employees by educating them.

    Cons

    Lots of training either before or after business hours

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    January 3, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback!

  9. "Great Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    -Great sales & retail training. -Fast-paced industry -Great People

    Cons

    - Distributors not in-line with Winery innovation.

    Advice to Management

    -Invest in more people. Business is out there.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    January 15, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience as a District Manager. We appreciate all that you do and will be sharing your review with our Sales Leadership Team. Cheers!

  10. "The Absolute Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Culture, People, Product, Vision, Leadership

    Cons

    always more to do at the company

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 11, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you!

Found 376 reviews