E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews | Glassdoor

E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated November 7, 2017
244 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery Co-President and CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
183 Ratings

244 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance is spoken about but often not a reality (in 51 reviews)

  • During harvest you will work long hours (in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, healthy industry, exponential opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent organization. I've worked here for 2 years and spent my prior 12 on other very reputable organizations but there is no comparison. Here are some of the pros:
    - The leadership team and the company's vision are truly inspiring
    - The work life balance/work flexibility is outstanding. It is encouraged to not miss family time. You can work from home on Fridays and the summer hours are really great
    - The industry is growing and our business is healthy
    - The people that you work with are both smart and kind
    - The support to the community is remarkable
    - I feel I can make a mark and impact my business
    - Your manager supports your development
    - It's WINE, we have over 100 brands and you get a discount :)

    Cons

    There are very few cons but if I had to be picky the location could be a challenge for people without families or a support network.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support your employees and continue to invest in their learning and growth.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    Sep 27, 2017 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review. We aim to provide our employees with a fun and inclusive work environment while promoting work/life balance and we're so glad that your experience reflects that. We're... More


  2. "Creative Services Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative Services Intern in Modesto, CA
    Former Employee - Creative Services Intern in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Culture, , Energy, Campus and Benefits. The employee store has some really amazing discounts!

    Cons

    Location - Modesto isn't the best city, but I like to say it's 2 hours from everywhere else you'd want to be.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    Nov 8, 2017 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for sharing! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Gallo. Cheers!

  3. "Associate Brand Manager Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery as an intern

    Pros

    Culture and focus on employee satisfaction

    Cons

    Sometimes a focus on relationship building gets in the way of daily work and you have to find time outside of the work day to finish it.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Modesto, CA
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excellent company that invests and develops their employees. The care, concern, and support that is given by leadership and the Gallo family is best in class! The work is challenging yet rewarding. The benefits are amazing and the people who you get the honor to work with are best in the industry!

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can report.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    Nov 6, 2017 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in our wonderful employees and appreciate all of your hard work. Cheers!


  5. "An unreal company to work for!! :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chain Sales Representative in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Chain Sales Representative in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    •Amazing people, everyone here at Gallo is so fun and easy to work with
    •Creating your own schedule and never working the weekends
    •Training here can not be matched
    •Mangers are all awesome! They let you be the master of your territory and never micromanage
    •You get to sell wine! I mean come on, its a no brainer

    Cons

    •Truly have none :).

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what are you are doing. Continue to innovate and hire the way you hire and train and manage the way you do.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    Nov 6, 2017 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for the review. It's great to hear your feedback so please keep it coming!


  6. "Finance Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Modesto, CA
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Modesto, CA

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery as an intern

    Pros

    Helpful management, Challenging work and presentations

    Cons

    Sometimes needed more work, more projects


  7. "Wine and Spirits Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Off-Premise Wine Sales Representative in Sacramento, CA
    Current Employee - Off-Premise Wine Sales Representative in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, amazing benefits, plenty of interaction with people throughout the day, amazing work life balance

    Cons

    Can't think of any right now!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for all you do and for sharing your experience!

  8. "Love the Family Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Our culture, and the way Gallo treats their people, is like no where else that I have worked. This is a company that truly encourages collaboration and learning from your mistakes. Every company has their opportunities, but I would honestly work nowhere else.

    Cons

    A remodel of the bathrooms in the Operations building would be great.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that you are doing pulse checks with your employees to make sure that they feel empowered to share their ideas, thoughts, and concerns. Keep up the great work!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    Oct 27, 2017 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We have a plan to remodel our Operations Building in the upcoming couple of years and will be working with our managers to ensure they are continuing... More


  9. "Wine Industry Is As Cool As It Sounds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The culture is great. The employees are brilliant and truly care about each other and the community. It is a culture of learning, fun, and family. Benefits are good and includes a wellness program that gives rewards for living a healthy lifestyle (i.e. gym reimbursement, points that can buy fitness gear/gift cards, etc.) We work hard but do enjoy the perks of being in the Wine & Spirits industry. The Wine Shop gives great discounts and we have a ton of fun tasting events throughout the year, free holiday case of wine or spirits, new product tastings, etc. . It's a great place to work for those who like to surround themselves with innovative thinkers and who want to be challenged. Managers are supportive of your career development and want you to succeed.

    Cons

    The food and service in the DCB cafe could improve. No on-site company gym as of yet.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to foster employee learning and career development across all departments. Make sure you have a good read on employee goals and wok/life balance as it can vary given department/position.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    Oct 30, 2017 – Human Resources Leadership

    We appreciate your thoughtful review and are so glad to that you love Gallo as much as we do! Cheers!


  10. "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great opportunities to advance in the company. The employee culture at the company is really fantastic, everyone works together and accomplishes major goals that help the company grow and continue to be an industry leader.

    Cons

    The company has been great for me in my career, nothing negative to say.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to grow and develop your employees and keep them engaged in their work.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    Oct 30, 2017 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your time in writing this review. We are lucky to have great employees like you and we're glad to hear about your positive experience. Thank you for all of your hard work and please keep... More


Showing 244 of 523 reviews
Reset Filters