E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews | Glassdoor

E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 435 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Well ran family owned business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Individual Contributor in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A family owned company that runs its business with a long-term focus. Gallo understands that its employees are an important component to their success and compensates accordingly. A lot of effort has been placed in improving the organizational culture and it is working; I feel like I am part of a large family. Between the culture, job security, and compensation; it is hard to convince yourself to leave for another...

    Show More

    Cons

    Gallo functions like any large corporation with rivalries, cliques, and empire building. But if I were to identify one major opportunity it is: Gallo is conservative and is indecisive with slow bureaucratic processes impeding action, until something goes wrong. When something goes wrong, anxiety rises and the answer is to try to do everything now without really fully understanding the problem we are trying to solve....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Failure is essential to learning. It should be embraced when practiced within a controlled environment. When we bet big, expect to succeed but prepare for the worse. Planning for failure is not being negative; it is essential to executing a successful project.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-20

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 20, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you so much for your articulate and thoughtful review. We will be sharing it with our Executive and HR Leadership teams. Thanks for all you do and for your 8+ years at Gallo!

  2. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible Culture that fosters creativity and hard work!

    Cons

    There is no cons with this company!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-16

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 18, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your amazing feedback! Cheers to you!

  3. "Multiple Avenues for Professional Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Ambassador in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Being the largest winery, the brands that you're able to work with are endless.

    Cons

    With this rapid growth, they're constantly looking to better their organizational structure in which you need to be flexible and go with the flow.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-12

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 14, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your insight!

  4. "Dynamic Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    In the adult beverage industry CHANGE is happening at an historic pace and Gallo is leading the charge with portfolio innovation, systems upgrades, and investing in people. Exciting time to be with an amazing, family owned company.

    Cons

    Must be a self starter capable of working independently. If you need constant direction and motivation Gallo may not be the best fit for you.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in people of all experience levels. From year 1 to, in some cases, year 40 or more people feel the investment Gallo makes in training, incentives, and job security and give back to their job an incredible level of engagement.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-11

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 14, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoy working at Gallo and will pass your "Advice to Management" along to leadership. Cheers!

  5. "Good job and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Can make a good career

    Cons

    Too much middle management and too many to take credit for your work.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-25

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 25, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is important to us and we will be sharing it with Sr. Leadership. If you would like to elaborate, we encourage you to contact us anonymously via feedback@ejgallo.com. Thanks for all you do!

  6. "Great Company and Great Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Hospitality Supervisor in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Gallo provides a great environment to work in. Promoting growth and development from within. Great leadership who continue to hire the best which makes for some of the best team members ever!!

    Cons

    As with all large companies your ability to move positions is limited without a college degree.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-10

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 11, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your 5+ years of hard work. We appreciate all you do to make Gallo a great place to work!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "People matter here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People here are dedicated and care about their work. Employees are more than a number - people matter to the leadership of the company. I feel like an individual who is known and valued, and I can drive my career where I want it to go!

    Cons

    The heavy workload is intense and constant. We often don't stop to celebrate our successes before moving on to the next challenge. Change is also constant. Be prepared to handle it!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-05

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 5, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you taking the time to share your feedback. While we appreciate that our employees are so dedicated, we 100% agree that all of us need to stop and celebrate the wins. We will be sharing your feedback with our IT leadership team. Cheers to you!

  8. "Review2019"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bookkeeper in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Schedule, Competitive salary, flexibility

    Cons

    Until now I didn't find any, I am very pleasure working here

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-06

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 7, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks so much for the review, we appreciate it!

  9. "Great Company !!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Statistical Processor in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The mission that drives this company is amazing, and it really unites everyone to work together as a team.

    Cons

    None so far, keep it up!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-06

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 6, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your review and for your 10+ years at Gallo!

  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Great group of co-workers -Company genuinely follows the values it preaches -Very collaborative environment -Everyone is willing to roll their sleeves up and do the work -Great healthcare and retirement benefits -Lots of perks, including shuttles from the East Bay

    Cons

    -Location makes it tough to retain talent -Tough to push marketing priorities through the organization when faced with urgent vs. important problems

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-06

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 6, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for the great feedback! We appreciate you!

Found 435 reviews