EBSCO Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

EBSCO Industries Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 138 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
EBSCO Industries CEO David Walker
David Walker
14 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    Work is fun when you are surrounded by the best.

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The company strives to do what is best for team members. There has been an abundance of changes over the past few years, but in my opinion, they have been for the better. Change can be scary, but I feel like the leadership team has done a good job of communicating the strategy behind these adjustments and the vision moving forward. I am very fortunate to say that I feel like my department is an extension of my family....

    Show More

    Cons

    Advancement opportunities are not plentiful in my area, but the ability to learn and grow as an expert in my field make up for it.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course and continue to communicate the company's vision to team members.

    EBSCO Industries Response

    January 28, 2019EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Our goal is for everyone to have a positive experience working at EBSCO Industries!

  2. Great family owned and run business.

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    They offered really great benefits.

    Cons

    Some of the companies under Ebsco are not run as efficiently.

  3. Helpful (1)

    Incredible Company - Own your career!

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Collaborative - Strong culture - Ability to own your career and make it what you want - Leadership listens and respects contributors - Growth opportunities - Strong leadership - Company transparency - Benefits - On-site gym - Remote capability - Profit sharing

    Cons

    - The drive down 280 is not ideal, but most teams have remote capabilities from time to time

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    EBSCO Industries Response

    January 28, 2019EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for providing a review on Glassdoor. It is nice to see you posting things like collaboration and culture at the top of your pros list. We know it takes all of us working together to ensure we create the kind of culture we strive to have.

  4. Helpful (1)

    Leadership

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    I recently heard of the negative post regarding the CIO and had to create an account. I’ve been with Corporate IT for several years and I believe morale has dramatically improved since our new CIO arrived. He has been quite transparent and for the first time I feel we have someone vested in our professional development. He is a good leader, holding people more accountable while empowering us to get the job done. ...

    Show More

    Cons

    I don’t have a con to post.

    Advice to Management

    Keep us growing :)

    EBSCO Industries Response

    January 28, 2019EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your input. Your feedback is important to us.

  5. Helpful (1)

    Information Technology

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time

      Pros

      EBSCO IT has gone through a bit of a leadership crisis over the past 4 years. Not anymore. New Leader in the CIO who has brought desperately needed stability and vision. 100% turn around.

      Cons

      Still some residual chaos left from previous years so there is work to do to transform the mentality of every team member. But the CIO is taking the organization to positive new highs.

      Advice to Management

      Stay the course and continue to hold the line.

      EBSCO Industries Response

      January 28, 2019EBSCO Industries

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your input. Your feedback is important to us.

    • Helpful (9)

      CIO

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time

      Pros

      EBSCO is a great company with great benefits.

      Cons

      The current CIO puts on a good face for those he feels he needs to keep as allies like HR and Board members, but treats anyone he feels that he outranks in a rude manner. He is the picture of narcissism. He even parks in an area reserved for Engineering because it’s close to the building, rather than parking in the lot like everyone else. He won’t hesitate to throw someone under the bus to make himself look good. ...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      David Walker should ask around for the truth about how his CIO treats people under him, as well as how he treats people in other departments who he sees as being beneath him.

      EBSCO Industries Response

      January 28, 2019EBSCO Industries

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your input. Your feedback is important to us.

    • Helpful (1)

      Great company

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Territory Manager in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Able to work from home office.

      Cons

      The pay is 100% commission.

      EBSCO Industries Response

      January 28, 2019EBSCO Industries

      Based on your responses, it sounds like you worked within one of our businesses. Thank you for taking the time to provide your input. It's helpful to hear the experiences of our team members who are not located in the main office of the business unit.

    • Business Analyst

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time

      Pros

      Diversity of work and opportunity

      Cons

      Unclear direction for business road map

      EBSCO Industries Response

      January 28, 2019EBSCO Industries

      We are working to improve the transparency of our direction, beginning with the launch of our new mission. We believe momentum is achieved when everyone is working toward common goals. Thank you for providing your input.

    • Helpful (5)

      Depressing

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Flex time, profit sharing, zero consequences for performing poorly

      Cons

      Zero reward for doing your job exceptionally. No advancement opportunities. "Timid" management. Uneducated coworkers.

      Advice to Management

      Trim the fat on the on the talent you choose to keep on the pay roll. Identity and reward those who have potential.

      EBSCO Industries Response

      October 10, 2018EBSCO Industries

      We set a high standard for our businesses and our teams, aiming for our business leaders and managers to do the same. It’s disappointing to read that in your more than 3 years with EBSCO you have not experienced that. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on Glassdoor. ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (1)

      Change is the only constant

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Overall
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time

      Pros

      Great pay and benefits. The profit share is much better than comparable plans in the area. Health insurance is excellent and the already low premiums decrease the longer you stay with the company. Annual pay increases, do well for the company and the company will do well for you. Company regularly asks for feedback and listens for the most part by implementing some things employees ask for.

      Cons

      Layoffs aren't uncommon, but the writing is usually on the wall. Upper management changes regularly, if not people then direction.

      Advice to Management

      Instead of laying off the end worker, what about all the managers. There are managers that manage managers, and managers that have one or two direct reports. There are so many layers at ebsco.

    Found 138 reviews