EBSCO Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

EBSCO Industries Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 140 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
EBSCO Industries CEO David Walker
David Walker
15 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Work is fun when you are surrounded by the best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company strives to do what is best for team members. There has been an abundance of changes over the past few years, but in my opinion, they have been for the better. Change can be scary, but I feel like the leadership team has done a good job of communicating the strategy behind these adjustments and the vision moving forward. I am very fortunate to say that I feel like my department is an extension of my family....

    Show More

    Cons

    Advancement opportunities are not plentiful in my area, but the ability to learn and grow as an expert in my field make up for it.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course and continue to communicate the company's vision to team members.

    EBSCO Industries2018-08-03

    EBSCO Industries Response

    January 28, 2019EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Our goal is for everyone to have a positive experience working at EBSCO Industries!

  2. "Great family owned and run business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They offered really great benefits.

    Cons

    Some of the companies under Ebsco are not run as efficiently.

    EBSCO Industries2019-02-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible Company - Own your career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Collaborative - Strong culture - Ability to own your career and make it what you want - Leadership listens and respects contributors - Growth opportunities - Strong leadership - Company transparency - Benefits - On-site gym - Remote capability - Profit sharing

    Cons

    - The drive down 280 is not ideal, but most teams have remote capabilities from time to time

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    EBSCO Industries2019-01-25

    EBSCO Industries Response

    January 28, 2019EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for providing a review on Glassdoor. It is nice to see you posting things like collaboration and culture at the top of your pros list. We know it takes all of us working together to ensure we create the kind of culture we strive to have.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start a career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Beautiful Campus/Onsite Gym/Onsite Physician's Office/Onsite Café

    Cons

    Long, beautiful walk from the parking lot.

    Advice to Management

    Keep our company diversified and growing.

    EBSCO Industries2018-07-19

    EBSCO Industries Response

    October 1, 2018EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for providing a review on Glassdoor. Having been with EBSCO ten years, we are glad to see that you think EBSCO is a great place to start a career, and obviously stay!

  5. "EBSCO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time

    Pros

    Great company and work culture

    Cons

    The trade publishing division dissolved

    EBSCO Industries2018-07-18
  6. "Great place to work and enjoy life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time

    Pros

    Good comp and good benefits

    Cons

    Senior management could be more proactive and visionary.

    EBSCO Industries2018-05-04

    EBSCO Industries Response

    May 8, 2018EBSCO Industries

    We are glad to hear that you are pleased with your total compensation. Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on Glassdoor.

  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time

    Pros

    Privately owned, provides multiple opportunities for professional development, cares about their employees.

    Cons

    Old mainframe application but that is changing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    EBSCO Industries2017-11-10

    EBSCO Industries Response

    February 20, 2018EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for your input. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your perspective.

  8. "Implementation Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Implementation Manager in Ipswich, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was recruited for a position that perfectly matched my background. After the first phone interview, I was consistently appraised of the timing and my status in the hiring process. This company sincerely cares about their employees and realize that the strength of their business is a direct reflection on the strength of their employees skills and satisfaction on the job, including the benefits offered. It is a progressive...

    Show More

    Cons

    Because EBSCO is a progressive company, changing with the times, technology, improvements and employee needs, it is a very dynamic environment, which is not a con or negative at all. If you are looking for a place to land where you can site back and let the grass grow under your feet, this would not be a good fit. Change happens all the time and for the GOOD!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to heavily collaborate with other teams to prevent teams working in silos.

    EBSCO Industries2017-11-08

    EBSCO Industries Response

    May 8, 2018EBSCO Industries

    It sounds like you work at our business in Ipswich - EBSCO information Services. It's great to hear that your hiring experience was a good one and you are pleased with your decision to join this team! Thank you for providing feedback on Glassdoor.

  9. Helpful (8)

    "Great Company with caring employees and strong business ethics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Installation Manager in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will be hard pressed to find a company that does more for their employees on a regular basis to insure their success and well being, encouraging team work and personal growth consistently.

    Cons

    Not really a negative thing, but some employees have been in the same work environment for many, many years - thus change does not come easily and skepticism naturally catches a ride. This shouldn't affect new progress, just slow it a little in taking place - but overall a reasonable trade off for loyalty.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up your interest and communications in a visible way, everyone appreciates it.

    EBSCO Industries2017-08-15

    EBSCO Industries Response

    September 25, 2017EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for your input and for reviewing the EBSCO business you work within. Change does not always come easy and we appreciate your positive perspective as we work together to continuously improve what we do across our organization.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internet Associate in Latham, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had a good experience overall. I worked for a small office in upstate NY that was owned by Ebsco. They offered great benefits, a 401K, and regular raises each year.

    Cons

    I did not feel that I had many opportunities for moving up in my department because we were such a small office and most of the new employees were hired in another state where the company was based out of.

    EBSCO Industries2017-07-11

    EBSCO Industries Response

    September 25, 2017EBSCO Industries

    We are glad to hear you had a positive overall experience working with us. Thank you for your review and feedback. We believe it's important for everyone to understand how their role connects to the purpose and objectives of the business so they can grow their own careers by contributing ...

    Show More
Found 140 reviews