EBSCO Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

EBSCO Industries Reviews

Updated Jun 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 143 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
EBSCO Industries CEO David Walker
David Walker
17 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Work is fun when you are surrounded by the best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company strives to do what is best for team members. There has been an abundance of changes over the past few years, but in my opinion, they have been for the better. Change can be scary, but I feel like the leadership team has done a good job of communicating the strategy behind these adjustments and the vision moving forward. I am very fortunate to say that I feel like my department is an extension of my family....

    Show More

    Cons

    Advancement opportunities are not plentiful in my area, but the ability to learn and grow as an expert in my field make up for it.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course and continue to communicate the company's vision to team members.

    EBSCO Industries2018-08-03

    EBSCO Industries Response

    January 28, 2019EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Our goal is for everyone to have a positive experience working at EBSCO Industries!

  2. "Great Benefits Bad Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Sales in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked at ebsco for over a decade. Love the company and the benefits. Senior Mgmt hired some really bad managers that are very educated but lack life experience and sales experience. Unfortunately, I ended up with a terrible manager that destroyed an entire division.

    Cons

    Lack of communication between senior management and middle management

    Advice to Management

    Talk to sales and sales support teams to gauge health of each division. Don’t rely solely on the senior leadership team

    EBSCO Industries2019-06-27
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, work-life balance and wonderful corporate campus

    Cons

    Big picture strategic business reorgs made for stressful day-to-day and lack of job security

    Advice to Management

    Hopefully management has arrived at an optimal mix of profit centers and divisions that are aligned with long-view corporate goals.

    EBSCO Industries2019-06-26
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great insurance and benefits for employees

    Cons

    Wish I would have started working here at a younger age

    EBSCO Industries2019-06-15
  5. "Wonderful Benefits, Great Parent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, profit sharing and wonderful company culture

    Cons

    I worked for a subsidiary and our management team took a profitable company and turned it into a chaotic money losing disaster

    EBSCO Industries2019-04-19
  6. "Great family owned and run business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They offered really great benefits.

    Cons

    Some of the companies under Ebsco are not run as efficiently.

    EBSCO Industries2019-02-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible Company - Own your career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Collaborative - Strong culture - Ability to own your career and make it what you want - Leadership listens and respects contributors - Growth opportunities - Strong leadership - Company transparency - Benefits - On-site gym - Remote capability - Profit sharing

    Cons

    - The drive down 280 is not ideal, but most teams have remote capabilities from time to time

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    EBSCO Industries2019-01-25

    EBSCO Industries Response

    January 28, 2019EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for providing a review on Glassdoor. It is nice to see you posting things like collaboration and culture at the top of your pros list. We know it takes all of us working together to ensure we create the kind of culture we strive to have.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I recently heard of the negative post regarding the CIO and had to create an account. I’ve been with Corporate IT for several years and I believe morale has dramatically improved since our new CIO arrived. He has been quite transparent and for the first time I feel we have someone vested in our professional development. He is a good leader, holding people more accountable while empowering us to get the job done. ...

    Show More

    Cons

    I don’t have a con to post.

    Advice to Management

    Keep us growing :)

    EBSCO Industries2019-01-10

    EBSCO Industries Response

    January 28, 2019EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your input. Your feedback is important to us.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Information Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time

      Pros

      EBSCO IT has gone through a bit of a leadership crisis over the past 4 years. Not anymore. New Leader in the CIO who has brought desperately needed stability and vision. 100% turn around.

      Cons

      Still some residual chaos left from previous years so there is work to do to transform the mentality of every team member. But the CIO is taking the organization to positive new highs.

      Advice to Management

      Stay the course and continue to hold the line.

      EBSCO Industries2019-01-08

      EBSCO Industries Response

      January 28, 2019EBSCO Industries

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your input. Your feedback is important to us.

    • Helpful (9)

      "CIO"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time

      Pros

      EBSCO is a great company with great benefits.

      Cons

      The current CIO puts on a good face for those he feels he needs to keep as allies like HR and Board members, but treats anyone he feels that he outranks in a rude manner. He is the picture of narcissism. He even parks in an area reserved for Engineering because it’s close to the building, rather than parking in the lot like everyone else. He won’t hesitate to throw someone under the bus to make himself look good. ...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      David Walker should ask around for the truth about how his CIO treats people under him, as well as how he treats people in other departments who he sees as being beneath him.

      EBSCO Industries2019-01-02

      EBSCO Industries Response

      January 28, 2019EBSCO Industries

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your input. Your feedback is important to us.

    Found 143 reviews