EBSCO Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

EBSCO Industries Reviews

Updated Jun 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 143 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
EBSCO Industries CEO David Walker
David Walker
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to work from home office.

    Cons

    The pay is 100% commission.

    EBSCO Industries2018-11-30

    EBSCO Industries Response

    January 28, 2019EBSCO Industries

    Based on your responses, it sounds like you worked within one of our businesses. Thank you for taking the time to provide your input. It's helpful to hear the experiences of our team members who are not located in the main office of the business unit.

  2. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time

    Pros

    Diversity of work and opportunity

    Cons

    Unclear direction for business road map

    EBSCO Industries2018-10-19

    EBSCO Industries Response

    January 28, 2019EBSCO Industries

    We are working to improve the transparency of our direction, beginning with the launch of our new mission. We believe momentum is achieved when everyone is working toward common goals. Thank you for providing your input.

  3. Helpful (5)

    "Depressing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flex time, profit sharing, zero consequences for performing poorly

    Cons

    Zero reward for doing your job exceptionally. No advancement opportunities. "Timid" management. Uneducated coworkers.

    Advice to Management

    Trim the fat on the on the talent you choose to keep on the pay roll. Identity and reward those who have potential.

    EBSCO Industries2018-10-04

    EBSCO Industries Response

    October 10, 2018EBSCO Industries

    We set a high standard for our businesses and our teams, aiming for our business leaders and managers to do the same. It’s disappointing to read that in your more than 3 years with EBSCO you have not experienced that. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on Glassdoor. ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Change is the only constant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. The profit share is much better than comparable plans in the area. Health insurance is excellent and the already low premiums decrease the longer you stay with the company. Annual pay increases, do well for the company and the company will do well for you. Company regularly asks for feedback and listens for the most part by implementing some things employees ask for.

    Cons

    Layoffs aren't uncommon, but the writing is usually on the wall. Upper management changes regularly, if not people then direction.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of laying off the end worker, what about all the managers. There are managers that manage managers, and managers that have one or two direct reports. There are so many layers at ebsco.

    EBSCO Industries2018-09-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Don't get comfortable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere and nice folks in general

    Cons

    Upper Management change direction to often

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people

    EBSCO Industries2018-09-05

    EBSCO Industries Response

    October 1, 2018EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your input. I hope that in your time with EBSCO Industries you took advantage of the opportunity to provide feedback via our annual survey. We completely agree with your advice, and we want our team members to be a part of our continuous improvement!

  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    EBSCO generally tries to do right by it's employees and provides good training opportunities.

    Cons

    The biggest Con is a lack of career growth. Advancement is very slow and opportunities are few and far between.

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to the tactical managers who are actually closest to the work being done.

    EBSCO Industries2018-08-09

    EBSCO Industries Response

    October 1, 2018EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for providing a review on Glassdoor. Making sure that our team members have opportunities for growth and advancement is very important to us. In the past two years, we initiated a new leadership development program and just recently, we have started an Accelerator program ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Work is fun when you are surrounded by the best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company strives to do what is best for team members. There has been an abundance of changes over the past few years, but in my opinion, they have been for the better. Change can be scary, but I feel like the leadership team has done a good job of communicating the strategy behind these adjustments and the vision moving forward. I am very fortunate to say that I feel like my department is an extension of my family....

    Show More

    Cons

    Advancement opportunities are not plentiful in my area, but the ability to learn and grow as an expert in my field make up for it.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course and continue to communicate the company's vision to team members.

    EBSCO Industries2018-08-03

    EBSCO Industries Response

    January 28, 2019EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Our goal is for everyone to have a positive experience working at EBSCO Industries!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start a career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Beautiful Campus/Onsite Gym/Onsite Physician's Office/Onsite Café

    Cons

    Long, beautiful walk from the parking lot.

    Advice to Management

    Keep our company diversified and growing.

    EBSCO Industries2018-07-19

    EBSCO Industries Response

    October 1, 2018EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for providing a review on Glassdoor. Having been with EBSCO ten years, we are glad to see that you think EBSCO is a great place to start a career, and obviously stay!

  9. "EBSCO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time

    Pros

    Great company and work culture

    Cons

    The trade publishing division dissolved

    EBSCO Industries2018-07-18
  10. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time

    Pros

    The staff is great to work with , the beautiful campus is a tremendous backdrop to the work environment, and the on-site cafeteria is very convenient and affordable.

    Cons

    The training is very ineffective and disorganized.

    EBSCO Industries2018-07-05
Found 143 reviews