EBSCO Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

EBSCO Industries Reviews

Updated December 7, 2017
107 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

107 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Unfair raises, no room for growth (in 4 reviews)

  • Poor management structure; ultra-cliquey; Manager was not open to suggestions and took any criticism personally (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, excellent sales tools, compensation

    Cons

    long sales cycle, high use of SalesForce

    EBSCO Industries Response

    Sep 25, 2017 – EBSCO Industries

    Salesforce isn't used by all of our divisions, but many of our businesses have found it to be a helpful and incredibly useful tool! Thank you for providing your feedback on glassdoor.


  2. "Good part-time work as a typist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Typist in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Typist in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at EBSCO Industries part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly staff
    Easy work
    Management is helpful and understanding
    Profit-sharing benefits for part-time employees
    Good schedule for students

    Cons

    Can't think of any. Good company

    EBSCO Industries Response

    Sep 25, 2017 – EBSCO Industries

    We are pleased to hear you've had a positive experience. Thank you for providing your feedback on glassdoor.

  3. "Software Engingeer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Dynamic
    - Good people.
    - Verify good process

    Cons

    - Commute
    - No bonus
    - Complex Management

    EBSCO Industries Response

    Sep 25, 2017 – EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review for EBSCO Information Services. We appreciate the transparency of Glassdoor. This site is playing a role in helping us recruit top talent and... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Birmingham, AL
    Former Employee - Accountant in Birmingham, AL

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits, Great Co-Workers, Opportunity

    Cons

    Lack of Management, Bad Technology,

    Advice to Management

    Better Upper Management Planning and Direction

    EBSCO Industries Response

    Sep 25, 2017 – EBSCO Industries

    We continuously look for opportunities to improve and we listen and respond to the feedback provided in our annual employee survey. Thank you for providing your feedback on glassdoor. This past year... More


  5. Helpful (4)

    "Common Themes- company is cheap, cheap, cheap."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Professional in Ipswich, MA
    Former Employee - IT Professional in Ipswich, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The CEO, Tim Collins was actually quite good, however has a number of executives without a clue. There is an onsite cafeteria if you value such a thing, which is subsidized- but serves subsidized quality food.

    Cons

    There are countless reviews here about EBSCO not not being a place for growth, along with a poor pay scale. This company is perfectly content with bringing folks onboard at Alabama Equateable payscales and providing the menial 2-5% salary adjustment each year.
    The company has adopted every single methodology known to mankind, and cannot apply a single one of them. Agile, Lean, SAFe, whatever. Please search for the Dilbert comic "Scrumbag" for an accurate portrayal of EBSCO meetings and their department of redundancy department.

    Advice to Management

    Value Employees.
    Dont be such penny pinchers.

    EBSCO Industries Response

    Nov 7, 2017 – EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of EBSCO information Services. We appreciate and value the feedback from our teams!


  6. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive
    Current Employee - Account Executive
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits, salary, earnings potential, supportive upper mgmt.

    Cons

    Travel heavy, stress levels can be high

    Advice to Management

    More support from management to sales team. Address turnover rates.

    EBSCO Industries Response

    Sep 25, 2017 – EBSCO Industries

    Some positions do require extensive travel. We aim to be sure those requirements are communicated during the interview process as we realize that a career filled with a lot of travel isn't the right... More


  7. "Time at EBSCO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great company, benefits, and culture

    Cons

    Upper management can be tough at times

    EBSCO Industries Response

    Sep 25, 2017 – EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for your review, and we are pleased to hear you thought we are a great company. We work hard to provide total compensation packages which are competitive.

  8. "automation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Good work culture amazing people

    Cons

    No cons for this company

    EBSCO Industries Response

    Sep 25, 2017 – EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for providing your feedback on glassdoor.


  9. "All-around great company to be a part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Level III Developer in Birmingham, AL
    Current Employee - Level III Developer in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Nice work/life balance
    Good benefits
    Big focus on efficiency and continuous improvement
    Processes kept efficient and useful as possible
    Very mature and open management
    Flexible hours and work-from-home time

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. It's working great from my view.

    EBSCO Industries Response

    Sep 25, 2017 – EBSCO Industries

    We appreciate the positive feedback! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and create a review on glassdoor.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Has it's ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time

    Pros

    The benefits are some of the best around. Fairly easy to get a job, don't necessarily need a college degree.

    Cons

    Pay is way under market value. Sometimes they are so ruled by procedure that they stop treating you like people, and think of you as numbers and assets. Almost constant procedure and methodology changes makes it difficult for employees to learn something and get to stick with it.

    EBSCO Industries Response

    Sep 25, 2017 – EBSCO Industries

    We are focused on continuous improvement and that includes total compensation packages - we strive to be competitive in order to attract and retain top talent for our businesses.


Showing 107 of 110 reviews
Reset Filters