EBSCO Industries "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

EBSCO Industries Employee Reviews about "upper management"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 139 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
EBSCO Industries CEO David Walker
David Walker
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Change is the only constant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. The profit share is much better than comparable plans in the area. Health insurance is excellent and the already low premiums decrease the longer you stay with the company. Annual pay increases, do well for the company and the company will do well for you. Company regularly asks for feedback and listens for the most part by implementing some things employees ask for.

    Cons

    Layoffs aren't uncommon, but the writing is usually on the wall. Upper management changes regularly, if not people then direction.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of laying off the end worker, what about all the managers. There are managers that manage managers, and managers that have one or two direct reports. There are so many layers at ebsco.

    EBSCO Industries2018-09-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Don't get comfortable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere and nice folks in general

    Cons

    Upper Management change direction to often

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people

    EBSCO Industries2018-09-05

    EBSCO Industries Response

    October 1, 2018EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your input. I hope that in your time with EBSCO Industries you took advantage of the opportunity to provide feedback via our annual survey. We completely agree with your advice, and we want our team members to be a part of our continuous improvement!

  3. "Time at EBSCO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great company, benefits, and culture

    Cons

    Upper management can be tough at times

    EBSCO Industries2017-03-01

    EBSCO Industries Response

    September 25, 2017EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for your review, and we are pleased to hear you thought we are a great company. We work hard to provide total compensation packages which are competitive.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, not without issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EBSCO Industries full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    EBSCO is a highly diversified company. It's hard to say exactly what EBSCO does because they have their hand in alittle bit of everything. That is a great thing because when the economy fluctuates, they aren't hit as hard. They also have great medical insurance where the cost goes down the longer you are with the company. One of the lowest in the area! They also have a great profit sharing plan. All in all, if something...

    Show More

    Cons

    I think the worst thing I saw was the upper management. They really seemed very disconnected from many of the teams/products that they oversaw. So much so that our team couldn't get the required infrastructure needed for our product, it nearly lead to the death of our product.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the strong benefits!

    EBSCO Industries2015-08-03

    EBSCO Industries Response

    September 18, 2015EBSCO Industries

    Thank you for the praise on our benefits! We really do have great benefits at EBSCO and it’s wonderful when we hear feedback that our employees agree. It is disappointing to see comments about management being disconnected -- our expectations for all employees, but especially managers ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Tough Market Poor Upper Level Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EBSCO Industries

    Pros

    Overall a good company to work for. Particular company I am with sells ads and it offers freedom.

    Cons

    Market is very soft and even though a new product is out acceptance not enough to save company. Upper management is struggling and thus not responsive. Income possibilities now are bleak. Business model outdated and not being changed to meet current times an.d demands

    Advice to Management

    Take care of employees better and look at changing business plan. Stop doing same thing over and over when it is failing.

    EBSCO Industries2015-01-12
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great benefits, but some poor management (division by division)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at EBSCO Industries

      Pros

      For the most part, there is a casual atmosphere. Pay may be a little lower than similar jobs at other companies, but the benefits really are great.

      Cons

      Most upper management I encountered while working here had serious problems communicating, making decisions and proactively making changes to carry the division into the future.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees. They are the ones on the front lines encountering the issues that need to be addressed. Keep them updated with what's going on, and engage with them for a team effort to benefit the company.

      EBSCO Industries2014-10-24

      EBSCO Industries Response

      September 25, 2017EBSCO Industries

      We heard you, and we want to continue to receive feedback from our teams. We implemented an annual employee survey, and encourage 100% participation - we know that the best ideas for moving our businesses forward are going to come from the team members working within our businesses.

    Found 139 reviews