ECPI University Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
ECPI University President Mark Dreyfus
Mark Dreyfus
106 Ratings
Pros
  • "Contrary to my initial perceptions, ECPI is not a degree-mill(in 12 reviews)

  • "I absolutely loved working and helping the students(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not enough individuals are aware of what an excellent University ECPI is(in 20 reviews)

  • "No room for advancement (though they like to dangle it in front of you to keep you on)(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Instructor in Roanoke, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ECPI University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The DON Debbie and ADON Teresa are wonderful.. they help you with any and everything Pay is pretty good for the area Co workers are awesome Management always has your back

    Cons

    Sometimes the student get out of hand

    Continue reading
    ECPI University2020-03-18
  2. "Nice place"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ECPI University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Evening Shifts and friendly staff to work with

    Cons

    Lengthy classes. Not much to say.

    ECPI University2020-05-01
  3. "It's OK but need work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ECPI University full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility to work from home and wonderful team of co-workers and boss.

    Cons

    There is no HR presence, benefits are too expensive, work-life balance is unheard of, compensation is way below market

    Continue reading
    ECPI University2020-04-22
  4. "Very Supportive Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty Member 

    I have been working at ECPI University part-time

    Pros

    The people that work here really love what they do; they are not here to just collect a check.

    Cons

    Terms are very short so have to stay on top of things

    ECPI University2020-03-05
  5. "Isolating environment, management is purposely oblivious to issues, there is no team, only cliques"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ECPI University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Occasionally the cafe would make a really good club sandwich.

    Cons

    Long hours, you are actively discouraged to take PTO for illness, important life events, and mental health purposes. Management does not understand having to miss work for doctor's appointments and goes out of their way to make it more difficult to do so. The culture is one of cliques who exclude others as if it's middle school and they're the Queen Bee mean girls. Innovative ideas are addressed and you'll get, "This is great! We'll get started on it right away!" and then nothing happens for several weeks. When you ask again, you get told you need to be patient, and months later nothing has been implemented and they hope you have forgotten about the project by this time. Moving up in the company is possible if you have a healthy dose of nepotism and a pulse. Everyone else is too insignificant to be paid attention to. Their level of "care" for employees is non-existent. I worked in the middle of the summer on the 6th floor of the building with the AC out and scorching temperatures. I also worked in the winter with no heat and had to wear my heavy winter coat all day and try to keep my hands from locking up from the cold. Overall, management likes to talk a good game. But it seems all the team meetings and exercise to help us team build are vacation bible school style tasks that result with everyone having a warm glow for a few minutes until they realize they didn't receive their yearly inflation raise.

    Continue reading
    ECPI University2020-03-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Roanoke location is terrible"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Roanoke, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ECPI University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great to work with students

    Cons

    Hours 7:30am-10:30pm. Lots of back-stabbing and favoritism. Pay is low. If students fail it is the instructor's fault.

    Continue reading
    ECPI University2020-03-08
  7. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agency Recruiter in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ECPI University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment & coworkers

    Cons

    A bit of micromanaging from the top

    ECPI University2020-01-29
  8. "Not a bad place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Web Specialist in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ECPI University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good Pay -Flex Hours (depending on lifestyle, this could be a pro or con)

    Cons

    -Leads were considered "warm" because they requested information at some point, but they felt "cold" when calling.

    Continue reading
    ECPI University2020-01-28
  9. "ECPI"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Loan Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ECPI University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    some good coworkers, free pizza sometimes, good experience for beginning in education

    Cons

    pay, management, culture, no bonus, outdated systems

    Continue reading
    ECPI University2020-01-24
  10. "A Quality Program with Great Support"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ECPI University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Contrary to my initial perceptions, ECPI is not a degree-mill. Their health sciences department is serious about maintaining integrity and high standards and faculty are not forced to push students through. Their faculty support is great with professional and understanding administration.

    Cons

    By its very nature of serving working students, class times are long and terms are short. Some people may not thrive with the long early or late hours.

    ECPI University2019-11-04

    ECPI University Response

    November 11, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the positive response. We hope you continue to foster the learning environment to our students.

Found 241 reviews