EF Education First Activity Leader Reviews | Glassdoor

EF Education First Activity Leader Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
24%
Recommend to a Friend
6%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO    Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
4 Ratings
  1. "Getting paid to play and promote diversity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Activity Leader 
    Recommends

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    Students are curious and ready to learn of English and other different cultures. As a local of LA, I also experienced new and interesting places.

    Cons

    There could be some stress if there’s people who don’t do well under pressure. Communication skills are key as well. Overall, working with positive people makes the job experience worthwhile.

    EF Education First2019-08-01
  2. "Fun job, amazing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Activity Leader 

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Its an excellent company to work with. Work mates and whole team are extraordinary. Such a fun and great experience.

    Cons

    Have quite a lot of responsibilities and the pay does not match the amount of work.

    EF Education First2019-10-20

    EF Education First Response

    October 22, 2019Direector, Global Recruitment & Development

    Thank you for your feedback. Our people and culture are our greatest asset and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed coming to work and being surrounded by great people. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting but Unorganized Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Activity Leader in Thornwood, NY

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    dynamic team, exciting work culture, excursions, decent pay

    Cons

    Unorganized, don't generally respond to suggestions

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2019-07-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Former Activity Leader at Thornwood, NY branch...exhausting work but wonderful experiences."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Activity Leader in Thornwood, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    - Meeting awesome people from all over the world/experiencing different cultures - Frequent trips to NYC and other fun places - Great summer job for college students - Free room and board - Healthy and delicious food with tons of variety - In the woods but within walking distance of strip mall - Friendly staff

    Cons

    - Low pay - Requires a lot of planning - Management was disorganized and played favorites - Limited time off - Staff shortages - Language barriers between staff sometimes caused miscommunication - Protocol for handling children (especially when it came to taking roll call) was not clearly defined - Not a job suitable for those who don’t like working with children between ages of 7-18

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2018-10-03
  5. "Activity Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Activity Leader in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    really fun job, get to travel, explore and do cool things while getting paid, awesome co-workers, awesome kids, cultural experience

    Cons

    unorganized management, pay was not great, some days worked over 12 hours and didn't get paid overtime because it was a set salary per week.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2018-06-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Activity Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Activity Leader in Monterey, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    Job was easy to do for the most part

    Cons

    Management was a mess. We were seriously understaffed.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2017-05-17
  7. "My Summer with EF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Activity Leader in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The kids were great to work with, and the traveling was fun. I felt I made great bonds with the course leaders from other countries.

    Cons

    A young management team, who could not communicate and lacked attention to detail. The pay wasn't worth it, the kids and the experience made it worth it.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2016-09-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "EF Review By an Activity Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Activity Leader 
    Recommends

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    I worked with a team of great people! The kids were really fun and I really enjoyed my time there. It was a great experience working with kids and learning about other cultures.

    Cons

    The only issue that I have with EF is that at times things seemed a little unorganized and communication could be better.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2016-06-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great for recent grads, WILL NOT MAKE A LOT OF MONEY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Activity Leader in Madison, NJ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    Working with kids from all over the world. Working with a team of energetic, positive people. If the company likes you, you can work for them every summer from now until the end of time.

    Cons

    Run very top-bottom, so an order from the higher ups is translated through several people before it gets to you. Budgets are very strict, and provide little wiggle room.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2015-12-18
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Eh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Activity Leader in Long Beach, CA

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Getting to work with awesome people from all over the world. Fun environment.

    Cons

    Terrible organization. Terrible communication. No recognition. Must be in the right cliques to get recognition. Management does not know how to own their own problems.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2015-10-13
Found 32 reviews