EF Education First Activity Leader Reviews | Glassdoor

EF Education First Activity Leader Reviews

Updated Feb 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
24%
Recommend to a Friend
6%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO    Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
4 Ratings
  1. "Activity Leader Brighton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EF Activity Leader in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun to work with students!

    Cons

    Bad management Underpaid Lack of information and communication

    EF Education First2018-07-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Have to learn on the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - EF Activity Leader in Manchester, England

    I worked at EF Education First part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun/get to meet lots of interesting people from different background/staff were great to work with

    Cons

    With almost no training you have to think on your feet

    EF Education First2018-04-24
  3. "Activity Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EF Activity Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Highly young and international environment

    Cons

    Mostly outdoor, sometimes schedules would change with very short notice

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2018-03-11
  4. "Nice students but not well organised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Contractor - EF Activity Leader in London, England

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    Enjoyed spending time with students Free trips e.g. on London Eye, London Dungeons

    Cons

    Information not always clear Not well managed Disorganised Often left in stressful confusion

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2018-01-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "EF Malta activity leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Contractor - EF Activity Leader in San Ġiljan

    I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    it's a great human experience, sincerely I have spent my best summers being an activity leader it's awesome. I couldn't say all the advantages that it brought me because it's so many. You have fun, you enjoy, you meet people from around the world and you build a real relationship with your students which is very rewarding.

    Cons

    salary very low ( at least they could give accommodation and food for activity leaders) It will take all your energy

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2017-05-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic and rewarding work, but hard long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Activity Leader in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You will work hard and often long hours as an activity leader. However it is lots of fun and there is a good team vibe always built. Would recommend for anyone looking to develop in a fast paced environment

    Cons

    Long Hours Shift Work Lots of ambiguity

    EF Education First2017-03-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Activity Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Activity Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to meet some amazing people. Students and course leaders are great. Good opportunity to gain experience in a leadership role. Activities were fun. Overall a really rewarding experience.

    Cons

    Lack of organisation from management. The managers were great people but they were overloaded with work and seemed to be stressed most of the time. Being paid 6 hours a day is a joke, especially as you end up working lots more than that on a daily basis. Can be stressful, you need a good support network around you to get you through it (i.e. other activity leaders and course leaders). Teachers seem to have the better job. Three hours per day teaching (plus planning classes) and no late evening activities. They have to do one excursion and evening activity at the weekend, seems like a much better deal!

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2017-03-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "EF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Activity Leader 
    Recommends

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    Meet some amazing people from all around the world, whilst getting to do fun activities. Working with students can also be really rewarding, as you see how much they progress during the course of their stay.

    Cons

    Sometimes hard to handle large groups of students, especially in busy cities. The time that you are paid for does not take into account the extra hours you spend working, such as researching activities, chasing students for payments, and going to the bank.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2016-09-07
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Underpaid Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    EF Activity Leader in London, England

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    International colleagues/ community. Great fun with students and course leader. Activities such as Madame Tussauds, London Eye, London Dungeons etc. are all paid for. Great experience for testing your management and organisational skills.

    Cons

    I was very disappointed by the management of the company and the lack of organisation. The senior staff are over-worked and can't keep up with the workload resulting in the job of an activity leader becoming 10x harder. They don't even provide something as simple as a list of students attending an activity - I had to make one myself so that I knew who I was missing when at an excursion. They also forgot to tell me that I had at least 5 students who were claustrophobic, 1 student with diabetes and 1 student with panic attacks. This caused some serious stress during the activities and could have been avoided by clearly communicating these health issues to the leaders responsible for the 30+ kids! The contract states that activity leaders work 6h/day - often with a gap of 3 hours in-between. This is usually never the case and you will find yourself working more than just overtime (which by the way are hours you won't get paid for). I was on my 3h break and got a call from a senior member of staff telling me that I had to pick up a student of mine because she was alone and wasn't allowed to wander around London by herself. I had no choice but to interrupt my (non-paid for) break to pick her up and entertain her until the evening activity started. The training provided seems to be different for each countries as I had a conflict with an Italian leader. According to the London office the students have to attend all activities no matter what (the only exception is if they are ill). So I had told my student that she had to attend the Disco despite heavy rain. Her roommates however were told by their Italian course leader that they could stay in. The Italian leader then phoned me up and told me that they should all stay in due to the weather conditions. This misunderstanding and disagreement led to me passing on the phone to a senior staff who assured the Italian leader that I was right and that she should advise the students to come to the activity. Lastly, they expect you to keep track of your students. Thus, when one or two are missing all I can do is call them to check their status. Most of the students do not have a local number and this will naturally result in high phone bills by the end of the month. HOWEVER, EF does not pay the phone bills of activity leaders - so if you aren't prepared to have a bill as high as £100+ then I suggest you keep clear from EF.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2016-07-29
  10. "Fun but long hours work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Activity Leader in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with staff from different backgrounds Many Activities Great short term experience

    Cons

    Very stressful sometimes long hours work hard to communicate with management team

    EF Education First2016-06-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 33 reviews