EF Education First Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

EF Education First Project Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO    Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
3 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    Atmosphere and corporate culture is great, pay is fair

    Cons

    No cons, would work with them again!

    EF Education First2017-09-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of opportunities, little organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for those who work hard and prove themselves Travel Great benefits

    Cons

    Low starting salary for entry level positions

    EF Education First2018-08-27
  3. "“Great Place To Start Your Career""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best school director to work with! great co-workers, great corporate culture (innovated, detail oriented, people oriented; also there are trainings for staff, there are celebrations of holidays/ events like recently 50 years anniversary of EF), there is always an opportunity to grow personally and professionally.

    Cons

    while peak time the part-time employees (summer interns) should be trained well to deliver the best experience for our customers

    EF Education First2015-07-13
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Good job if you want to party hardy on a company's dime and don't have a life outside of EF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Project Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very inexpensive health care, good coverage. Management also has low ethics so there's very low expectation of employees. (pro, if you are lazy). Once in a while they will let you take one of their tours on the house.

    Cons

    Low pay, low standards, low company/culture ethics, not professional environment, not organized, too many meetings to discuss more meetings, too many egos.

    Advice to Management

    Why not use some of the entertainment money to compensate your employees better. Lots of us would rather pay our high Boston rent than get drunk, again.

    EF Education First2013-10-03
  5. "Great for me, not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Merit based pay, visa support, room to be creative & take risks

    Cons

    Sometimes chaotic, communication can be lacking

    Advice to Management

    Better to have vacancies than unqualified staff

    EF Education First2019-07-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager - Projects in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome place to work if you're self-motivated and if you are full of ideas

    Cons

    Not so good compensation package

    EF Education First2019-03-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Recommended as a step to find a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Project Manager in Zürich
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of projects to take care of (all sales oriented). Possible jump to other positions. Great colleagues.

    Cons

    Lack of knowledge in top-management positions. Salespersons are promoted to positions where they have little to no knowledge. There's no clear future path. Things are done on a weekly basis and driven by Country Sales Managers. The 360 (yearly) evaluations lack a purpose, they serve just as an incentive to push you further into accepting more requests. There's no real improvement to be taken from those feedback sessions. Salaries are beyond market rates. (25% below)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start taking more seriously all aspects of the business. After several years it's clear that we're trapped in the talking monkey problem. Our goal is to put a monkey on a stand and have him recite a few verses from Shakespeare. We keep focusing on building the stand, and we do not realize that without the monkey, the project lacks all sense. We build a new stand every quarter, burning out people that look at long-term career improvements and a sense of accomplishment.

    Show More
    EF Education First2018-01-15
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Good Ambiance but lack of profesionalism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Zürich
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *good ambiance *good atmosphere *work hard play hard attitude *give opportunities to change job within the company *a lot of opportunities to travel worldwide

    Cons

    *huge disparity in the wages (not based on skills at all) *no HR or real HR, when you have a conflict with your manager you are screwed and ask to leave, no HR to balance *half of the manager are not trained manager (although some do their job well) but a big part have no management experience or skills or know how to manage a team (especially in IT)

    Advice to Management

    - train your manager - trust the good one - get rid of the not good one. Leadership management is key in a company - get a HR department and system to help growing people or let go others on fact and not emotions - be more fair to the staff a lot of good people leave because of that unfairness

    EF Education First2017-12-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people! The culture! The passion! I don't really feel like I'm going to work, since I'm working with something I'm so passionate about and I get to work with amazing and inspiring people who truly believes in our mission. The entrepreneurial culture allows me to be creative, there's not many templates to use or strict rules to follow which, to me, is very empowering because I can do things my way and I get challenged every day. In such a large and global company I get to travel, meet and talk to people across the globe on a daily basis. As long as you're open location wise, there are career opportunities in every corner of the world.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you are a super structured person you might not enjoy it because things can be quite unpredictable sometimes (which I think is exciting and challenging). They could be putting more effort on work-life balance. Since it's such a decentralised organisation, a lot is up to the individual manager to decide upon.

    EF Education First2017-06-12
  10. "My EF experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Project Manager in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EF Education First for more than a year

    Pros

    EF Is a place for international do-ers. Challenge-seekers who are ready to make things and travel the world at the same time. It's a fast-paced environment with a lot of growth opportunities. By the way - best organizational culture in the world.

    Cons

    The company does not work as many other places as we know it - meaning no many internal processes are structured. Many employees can get lost since no many systems are interconnected. EF is also not known for its educational cycle.

    Advice to Management

    Continue having fun! :)

    EF Education First2015-07-10
Found 17 reviews