EF Education First Reviews | Glassdoor

EF Education First Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO    Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
681 Ratings
  1. "Good place to start with ESL teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My center's DOS was wonderful!

    Cons

    Pay wasn't as good as competitors

    EF Education First2020-03-31
  2. "Flexible, good company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Choose your own schedule, work from home. Flexible. Always pay on time. Progression opportunities.

    Cons

    Parents/Students can cancel classes last minute. Schedule can be up and down. Hours not always guaranteed.

    EF Education First2020-03-30
  3. "Great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Tutor in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great training opportunities, very supportive staff

    Cons

    Students can cancel last minute

    EF Education First2020-03-30
  4. "A Fun and Engaging Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - UI-UX Designer in Bangalore

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    EF is an amazing place to work. Great culture, friendly co-workers and every person who works here are passionate about the product.

    Cons

    After a few years, there are not many opportunities for growth.

    EF Education First2020-03-30
  5. "Teaching is always fun."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends

    I have been working at EF Education First part-time

    Pros

    Fun, interactive lessons you don't plan Diverse student body

    Cons

    Technical issues and student no shows Low pay

    EF Education First2020-03-29
  6. "need to work under pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    can earn a high commission if you have the ability to achieve KPI

    Cons

    many overtime works because it is hard to make appointments and achieve sales target

    EF Education First2020-03-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "This is not a good place to work, take it from somebody who knows what they're talking about,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Zürich
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great people, office hours, office premises

    Cons

    Salaries are disastrous, some of these right just above poverty level in Switzerland. Non-existent HR department, absolutely no care for employees, opportunities only if you have the right Swedish, contacts, non-professional management, strong superior culture in top management.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-03-27
  8. ""Hire cheap, burn them out and replace!" - The mantra is clear."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager - Languages Abroad in Zürich
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It is the most multicultural environment you will find, nationality and gender-wise! Note: Visit any HQs and see that only Caucasians hold senior roles.

    Cons

    H-U-G-E turnover as a result of the company staff policy - don´t fall for it.

    Continue reading
    EF Education First2020-03-27

    EF Education First Response

    March 30, 2020Director

    Thank you for your feedback, your comments are valuable for us. Working in a highly international environment together with fun and outgoing colleagues is just as much part of our EF culture as getting to enjoy working in modern, spacious new offices. We are happy to hear you appreciate this. We are truly sorry to your feedback on our management team. As a company we believe they are a strong team and able to make the best decisions for the organisation, sorry to hear you don't agree with this. Best regards

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Unique company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Warehouse Manager in Bangalore
    Recommends

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Work culture Learning new technology Onsite Opportunity Monthly Happy hours Good Pay No restrictions on WFH

    Cons

    No Transparency in Performance review No proper Parking for CAR

    EF Education First2020-03-26
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Worst job in my 29 years of working."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    I took this job because i got to drive around the USA

    Cons

    Terrible management to much favoritism

    EF Education First2020-03-24

    EF Education First Response

    March 30, 2020Director

    Hello and thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear working at EF is not a living up to your expectations. We know we are not perfect and we are always trying to improve. We do not tolerate harassment or favoritism of any kind, please reach out to your your local RED team (Recruitment & Development) to discuss your input and we will do what we can to help. Best regards

    Continue reading
Found 1893 reviews