EF Education First Reviews | Glassdoor

EF Education First Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO    Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
655 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Fun people and culture but bad pay and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of young fun people, good for just getting out of college, fun activities

    Cons

    Feel like you are in high school, terrible pay, poor management that only cares about goals and making their own money and not concerned with you, you are replaceable, long hours expected with no over time

    EF Education First2019-10-22
  2. "If you're looking for a company that cares about and values its employees, look no further."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment and Match Specialist in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    EF is truly a community that values its employees. At a surface level, it's very obvious that the benefits and salaries are more than generous. The people in my department are extremely respectful, and there is a huge effort put forth by management to be communicative and transparent. This is really a company that values teamwork, support, communication, and the happiness of its employees. I haven't been here long, but this is already, very clearly, the best company that I have ever worked for. It's no wonder that most people who work here stay here. If you're looking for a company that cares about and values its employees, look no further.

    Show More

    Cons

    I haven't been working here for long, but so far the only con that I can see is that sometimes it gets windy between the Boston campus's buildings. I think I'll live.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, because you're doing it amazingly. Your communication, consideration, thoughtfulness, and passion for what you do is completely evident and identifiable in every interaction.

    EF Education First2019-10-09
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Like getting paid (not enough) to go to high school again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Traveling for free but only if you have never left the states before. You could also just make more money elsewhere and travel on your own without high school children

    Cons

    Management is immature. Bizarre workplace all around. Culture sets out to be "cool" with start up vibes when in actuality you are working for an extremely corporate place. Money is #1 priority, not "mission driven"

    Advice to Management

    HIRE EXTERNALLY. As soon as I left EF I felt a an enormous weight lifted after 2 weeks working elsewhere. Trainings on appropriate workplace culture and dynamics between higher ups and their employees i.e. identifying behavior that is borderline abusive etc. NEEDS to be incorporated at EF. It's like the same people are recycled and moved around on the management level and no fresh insight/outlooks are brought to the table. Folks are hired as managers who have no business managing actual people.

    Show More
    EF Education First2019-11-07
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Toxic, exploitative and very poorly paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They will insist that traveling and company events are special perks and at first they seem like it. You have no freedom while traveling and once you’re on trips it’s no longer a “perk,” but suddenly a “privilege.” They do have the most flexible sick time policy, and the building is nice.

    Cons

    High school environment and attitude, all the way up to senior management. Managers that are absolutely unfit to manage others and behave in inappropriate, toxic and borderline abusive behavior. Managers Skyping with one employee about another teammate while you’re all sitting in the same pod is one small example. Pay is terrible and even if you do hit goals and benchmarks, your bonuses are contingent on technicalities that are often beyond your control. Insist on a culture of authenticity and sincerity while the meanest people you meet are promoted. Hire right out of college so employees don’t know better and are too young to speak up about illegal overtime and other exploitative behavior. ALWAYS being sued by former employees. Money matters more than anything else.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t send all of your employees an article about how the company’s founder is a billionaire and flew all his friends private to Hong Kong for his birthday and then tell them you can’t pay them more. Don’t build a rock wall on campus and then tell your employees you can’t pay them more. When you receive 4+ HR complaints about the same manager, do something! Hire from outside and invest in some management training.

    EF Education First2019-11-07
  6. "You get what you get"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educational Tour Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Working with incredibly interesting and adventurous people, MULTIPLE travel perks, fun office events/meals/drinks provided, well-known global education company, opportunities for growth and development (IF you put in the work - not rocket science), opportunities to join focus groups based on your strengths/interests which will help you develop in the long run, great PTO (in addition to said travel perks), great benefits, beautiful office

    Show More

    Cons

    The pay - BUT, $5-10k travel perks a year and a fun environment make it bearable and worth it, and it doesn't look any different than any other entry level salary in Boston

    Advice to Management

    Goal structures across teams (and even within teams) are totally unfair. There should be a product wide fixed guideline to hold everyone accountable for the same level of growth. Working for a more challenging manager screws you out of being able to earn your bonuses (but I'm thankful for everything else that comes along with a challenging manager).

    EF Education First2019-10-03
  7. "A great company for new college graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was an amazing environment to work at for recent graduate that wants to explore international education

    Cons

    After a few years, there are not that many opportunities for growth. It was difficult to keep up with the SF living standard after awhile.

    EF Education First2019-10-17
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Advisor in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Resident Advisors receive free room and board as benefits for living on-campus. Great work-culture and fun environment when supporting international students. Rewarding work.

    Cons

    Living on-campus means that you will need to be available to support students even when you're not on-duty. Company encourages a "can-do" attitude which means that you may be asked to complete tasks which are beyond your listed responsibilities. This could also be viewed as a benefit, depending on your goals.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    EF Education First2019-10-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "great people - not great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tour Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great people, great perks, great mission

    Cons

    you will be poor and perks cant pay the bills

    EF Education First2019-09-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company culture, great community, professional development opportunities.

    Cons

    Long hours, low pay, uncertain career growth

    EF Education First2019-09-25
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Underpaid, Overworked, Micromanaged, Juvenile Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have none. The most stressful, chaotic, place I've ever worked.

    Cons

    Trained to "provide support to foreign exchange students" according to the interview. Once you're an employee you find out your handling intense cases that should only be handled by a trained social worker. 80 host families and exchange students is a "normal workload" and you're expected to attend weekend conferences with no pay, which is completely illegal.

    Advice to Management

    I wouldn't waste my time. That company will never change. They make too much money by hiring just out of college employees that don't know how underpaid and overworked they are.

    EF Education First2019-10-29
Found 1923 reviews