EF Education First Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Developer

EF Education First Software Developer Reviews

Updated May 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, atmosphere and opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First

    Pros

    EF has great people with amazing team dynamics, making the work atmosphere very pleasant. Management offers many opportunities to developers to grow and own projects.

    Cons

    EF doesn't give out stock.

    EF Education First2016-06-10
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Somerville, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Travel all over the world, and great salary

    Cons

    managers have no idea what's going on

    Advice to Management

    spend more time training new hires

    EF Education First2017-01-05
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Place to start, not to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Party culture, young employees. Nice new facilities in Boston. Expect to make friends here. Great place to start a career, as a developer you'll get to contribute to software used daily, and interact with those very users. Great product you'll feel good working on. Potential for travel perks.

    Cons

    Little room for growth. Stale technology and ignorance towards developing trends. Noncompetitive salary. Poor retirement package. Company culture to hire young and replace with a new generation once they become dissatisfied. Very shallow depth of experience in tech team.

    EF Education First2016-07-29
  4. "A good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Freelance Software Developer in

      I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

      Pros

      It was a good experience

      Cons

      Lack of practical documentation for software spec

      EF Education First2019-05-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Not at all recommended"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Developer in Bangalore
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      => Monthly parties => Happy hours

      Cons

      => First and most important thing is job security. You can be fired at ay day => No hikes => Poor management

      Advice to Management

      Respect your own employees who served there for more than 5 years. Don't keep firing people for silly reasons.

      EF Education First2019-03-22

      EF Education First Response

      March 27, 2019Senior Director of People Operations

      Thank you very much for your feedback. We're sorry you left EF with this perspective. We are going through a lot of changes, with the ambition of improving employee development, satisfaction & pride as well as productivity and the quality of what we do. As you’d expect with ...

      Show More
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Development Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good culture, nice offices and locations.

      Cons

      Sometimes hard to figure out who is in charge of what.

      Advice to Management

      Take more risks in term of innovation. It's good and getting better but still not enough. Keep it up!

      EF Education First2019-02-10

      EF Education First Response

      February 11, 2019Senior Director of People Operations

      Thank you for this review -- and the reminder to continually focus on innovation, one of our core values! Thanks, too, for being a force for innovation on our tech team. Keep up the good work! Mike Kaufman, Sr. Director of People Operations

    • Helpful (4)

      "No Hike, No future, No Vision"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Bangalore
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      It used to be an awesome company but all is lost now, previously anything was possible in a good way now it's only in bad ways.

      Cons

      The managment changes every year exactly when hike is due and they do restructure. After that all they throw peanuts based on some evalution which is fake promises and stupid politics. - No hike to ppl (as msg that we don't need you)  - technical lead are asked to do more firing and political stuff than Technical thing  - technical skill measured by non technical ppl - stupidity in the name of scrum and...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      please think seriously and practically before doing so many change.relying on one person is a mistake there are other smarter ppl, stop covering up.

      EF Education First2019-02-19

      EF Education First Response

      March 2, 2019Senior Director of People Operations

      Thank you for your feedback, and we are sorry that your experience has been negative. We have clearly been unsuccessful in communicating what we are trying to achieve with these big changes that we are going through, but we are truly trying to create a significant improvement in ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (2)

      "Fun company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer in Bangalore
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Unlimited drinks, parties and dinners minimum twice in a month. Not much work, all are maintenance projects. Managers are friendly if we are close with them. No timings. Come anytime and leave anytime. Just stay at office for 9 hours

      Cons

      Mallu politics. If we are close with them good scope otherwise they ll trouble you. Hike will be 2-4%

      Advice to Management

      Nothing. Keep going

      EF Education First2018-03-16
    • Helpful (6)

      "Worst company I have worked in"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer in Bangalore
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      International brand, good value on CV (hopefully)

      Cons

      - HR is a team of foolish heartless people, especially Lavanya - Work hours are really long - Environment is not where one can learn new things or grow, its like we are the back office for a large company and HR treats us like cats and dogs employed as their servants

      Advice to Management

      Replace the HR with some people who know what people mean and how important they are to the company

      EF Education First2017-05-27
    • "Happy to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer in Bangalore
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Motivation, team Work, coordination, could learn with no limits, you get access to lot of materials on some of the best technologies. Work-life balance and fun. Dynamic work schedule. Office space is fun and happening.

      Cons

      No cons except it is very competitive and the hiring bar is very high but i am someone who loves a competitive environment since I believe it pushes you to do better!

      Advice to Management

      You want to hire great people - but don't hire overqualified individuals for a particular role.

      EF Education First2015-11-25
    Found 18 reviews