EF Education First Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

EF Education First Teacher Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO    Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
100 Ratings
  1. "So Rewarding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Teacher 

    I have been working at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility Great students Staff is very helpful

    Cons

    Pay.... It's very low. Is there any opportunity for increasing?

    Advice to Management

    I love my students! I absolutely enjoy teaching the kiddos! I even sang with one of my students today! It was great! I hope you all will consider raises on the salary, though! Hope there are opportunities to work for corporate remotely.

    EF Education First2019-12-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Online English Teacher in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    Best educational platform, competitive salary with great salary incentives, understanding tech staff when dealing with an on-line structure, able to fill up class schedule quickly, 1 to1 student/teacher ratio once a week, 24 hours to have write-ups done.

    Cons

    Early early early morning class times if you live on the west coast (PST), no leeway if you're late logging in (which is understandable for parents) but 3 minutes is not fair or long enough before system locks you out and it becomes a TNS. You're hired as an independent contractor so you have to do your own taxes.

    Advice to Management

    Have a more inviting teacher portal and access to helpful information. I really enjoyed the Chinese children I was teaching, but I think the online platform needs a different log-in system so great teachers don't have their contract terminated if they were a couple of minutes late because of technical difficulties.

    EF Education First2020-01-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "If you're teaching in China, this is a safe option"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - English Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Safe and legal. Regular, reliable payment

    Cons

    Poor work-life balance and unpaid overtime

    EF Education First2020-01-15
  4. "Great starter ESL job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Redondo Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to gain experience as a language teacher. Nice facility clean classrooms and fun areas. Friendly co-workers, supervisors , and teacher library filled with resources and books. Fun creative environment with great workshops for teacher development

    Cons

    In two words: the pay. Lots of work lots of prep but pay is not so great.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay so good teachers can stay

    EF Education First2020-01-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "EF Education First: A Predatory Company that Fishes for Naïve and Unaware Graduates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English As A Second Language Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Met some good friends there

    Cons

    Lies about travel opportunities Company refuses to help in times of need Flight to China is, in fact, not reimbursed First paycheck is a loan (unless you don't take it in which case you wait a month or more to get money) Most things recruiters tell you are lies, so take it with a grain of salt

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to new recruits, pay them what they're worth, and work on bettering retention of your teachers, not just your over-paying students

    EF Education First2020-01-16
  6. "unknown"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Teacher 

    I have been working at EF Education First

    Pros

    It was a good interview process

    Cons

    I can't say what the cons are

    EF Education First2019-12-04
  7. "Misleading Information"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Teacher 

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    Get to work abroad and explore different parts of the world.

    Cons

    Company provides misleading information related to work benefits.

    EF Education First2019-12-09
  8. "Good for one year experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Give you all the materials you need.

    Cons

    Salary can be a bit low compared to other schools.

    EF Education First2019-11-14
  9. "Poor Service Affects Student Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - ESL Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First for more than a year

    Pros

    great students; good learning content

    Cons

    No real-time teacher support; no performance feedback; immediate dismissal if you miss a class

    Advice to Management

    Give teachers a real-time method to contact you as other platforms do. Relying on having internet access to email you when a problem occurs is not enough. Students build long-term relationships with their teachers but the teachers can be fired at any time. How is that helping students to engage with an already tough learning platform?

    EF Education First2019-11-20
  10. "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Esol Teacher 

    I have been working at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, make own schedule, children are fun to work with

    Cons

    Low wage and room for advancement

    EF Education First2019-09-16
Found 388 reviews