EF Education First Employee Reviews about "low salary"

Updated Jan 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO  Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
1,017 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company culture and great people(in 95 reviews)

  • "Company Culture, Benefits, collaborative and teamwork(in 75 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes long hours because you care for your job(in 137 reviews)

  • "Low salary compared to other companies(in 117 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of EF Education First and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "low salary"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Amazing opportunity

      Jun 19, 2020 - TEFL Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      being in china! making a difference in students lives- great training and support- made life long friends

      Cons

      low salary and long weekend hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fine baseline for your carrer with poor pay and leadership

      Oct 19, 2020 - Traveler Support Specialist in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - 3 weeks PTO first year, then 4 weeks PTO - staff travel (the only way to attempt to validate the poor salary)

      Cons

      - compensation - salary - no upward mobility - if you are not sales, you are not cared about - inappropiate/ unfortunate CEO - office politics - toxic culture - high turn over (because of poor low salaries)

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      EF Education First Response

      Director of Recruitment & Employee Development

      Thank you for sharing your feedback on your experience at EF. We try our best to support our employees in their work, professional growth, and personal development. I'm sorry you felt this wasn't the case. Additionally, we regularly review our compensation package to ensure we are competitive in the market - this includes our fantastic benefits package. We wish you the best of luck in the future, and thank you again for your feedback.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great, but could be better

      Sep 17, 2020 - Marketer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance Great location Good community

      Cons

      Low salaries Tone deaf No bonuses for hardwork

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

      Online EF Teacher

      Sep 24, 2020 - Online EF Teacher in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great flexibility, good support, good hours

      Cons

      low salary, no career plan

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great atmosphere!

      Oct 21, 2019 - Travel Operations Coordinator in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      lots of perks-parties,travel, bar fitness studio young employees

      Cons

      low salary (perks instead of pay) high turnover

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Work!

      Apr 18, 2019 - Tour Consultant in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people. Lots of opportunity for advancement. Great benefits and fun work culture.

      Cons

      Low salaries for entry-level employees.

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Finance/ Accounting Intern

      Oct 21, 2018 - Finance/Accounting Intern in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Young Environment, Employees are happy to come to work, Amazing Building

      Cons

      Inexperienced Employees, Low Salaries and few opportunities for pay raises

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A Great First Step, Not A Good Career

      Apr 30, 2017 - Compliance Manager in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I genuinely enjoy my colleagues that I work with, and am passionate about the mission of the product and company. My coworkers and I hang out often outside of work, and EF always has other things to get involved with. I've had paid travel opportunities presented on a regular basis. EF has a great benefits package, time off policy, and culture. Office is gorgeous and has both amazing views and natural light.

      Cons

      Very high amount of turnover, which senior management admits is a part of their business model. Generally low salaries for the amount of time spent in the office. Professional development programs are lacking. The open office plan is very loud and can be distracting.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Don't get sucked in

      Sep 26, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You will work with the best and brightest people, and have several opportunities to travel. This job is perfect for someone who just graduated or is new to Boston. You'll make a ton of friends and get force-fed a ton of alcohol. You learn a lot about sales and yourself. However, It's not a super sales culture (despite what they say in the interview). The product sells itself. You're barely managed and it's not really a big deal if you don't hit your goals. The company values culture over results. I loved working here. Just beware. It's easy to drink the kool-aid, but very few people get promoted. Don't stay for more than 2 years.

      Cons

      Long hours, Low salary, Minimal upward mobility, No management, no recognition, outdated bonus structure

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to work but time to move on...

      Dec 23, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      EF is an awesome place to start a career right out of college. You're able to get a lot of worthwhile experience and obtain a good understanding of a how business operates. The people, benefits, and culture are great. Recent graduates will enjoy themselves because there's lots of partying, company events, trips etc. The office has a great location in Cambridge, about a 10-15 minute walk from North Station.

      Cons

      Really low salaries for the amount of work/time put in leads to very high turnover of staff. EF knows everyone can be replaced eventually so it's more beneficial for them to spend money on events/culture/PR. There are many entry-level type positions with few advancement opportunities so don't expect to get rich working there! If you're not drinking the " EF Kool-Aid" then it can be a discouraging place to work.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 115 Reviews

    Popular Careers with EF Education First Job Seekers

    Online English Teacher
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    EF360 Global Management Trainee Program
    Learn About the Job
    EF360 Global Management Trainee
    Learn About the Job

    Work at EF Education First? Share Your Experiences

    or