EF Education First "low salary" Reviews | Glassdoor

EF Education First Employee Reviews about "low salary"

Updated Dec 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
737 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is required to work Long hours journeys(in 106 reviews)

  • "low salary (perks instead of pay)(in 92 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low salary"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tour Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Lots of opportunity for advancement. Great benefits and fun work culture.

    Cons

    Low salaries for entry-level employees.

    EF Education First2019-04-18
  2. "Great atmosphere!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Operations Coordinator in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    lots of perks-parties,travel, bar fitness studio young employees

    Cons

    low salary (perks instead of pay) high turnover

    Advice to Management

    there might be less turnover if the pay was slightly higher

    EF Education First2019-10-21
  3. "Finance/ Accounting Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Finance/Accounting Intern in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    Young Environment, Employees are happy to come to work, Amazing Building

    Cons

    Inexperienced Employees, Low Salaries and few opportunities for pay raises

    EF Education First2018-10-21
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Unqualified employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Not bad for an internships.

    Cons

    Work load is too high and expectations are high. Very little room for advancement. Low salaries. Bad Management and raw deals.

    EF Education First2017-12-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First part-time

    Pros

    Flexibility Always ready to help Meet different people

    Cons

    Low salary Technical problems Salary based on student reviews

    Advice to Management

    Try to reach out to teachers more.

    EF Education First2017-07-16
  6. "Sales Manager-Educational Tours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Great perks, colleagues, and sales training.

    Cons

    Low salary for work and time put in. Not much in line for career advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Develop more career advancement iniatives.

    EF Education First2017-07-25
  7. "Good for start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great social life, Excellent co-workers, Very interested people around you

    Cons

    Very low salary, minimal benefits, you can't take time off (only on New Year a few days).

    Advice to Management

    Take care about your employees.

    EF Education First2017-07-20
  8. Helpful (13)

    "A Great First Step, Not A Good Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I genuinely enjoy my colleagues that I work with, and am passionate about the mission of the product and company. My coworkers and I hang out often outside of work, and EF always has other things to get involved with. I've had paid travel opportunities presented on a regular basis. EF has a great benefits package, time off policy, and culture. Office is gorgeous and has both amazing views and natural light.

    Cons

    Very high amount of turnover, which senior management admits is a part of their business model. Generally low salaries for the amount of time spent in the office. Professional development programs are lacking. The open office plan is very loud and can be distracting.

    Advice to Management

    Find amazing people, and fight to retain them. So many hours and resources are spent training new staff that could instead be invested into increasing salaries and professional growth opportunities.

    EF Education First2017-04-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunities if you're in a clique"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Fast pace of work allows for experience across a range of fields Freedom Travel

    Cons

    Low salary Huge levels of red tape from central functions Preference for Swedes, and/or HBS grads Annual review process is poor. Personal development and growth is up to an individual managers discretion largely...you can be lucky or very unlucky.

    EF Education First2017-06-05
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Dont get sucked in by the "perks""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Was able to do a small amount of domestic travel

    Cons

    low salary, poor management, little opportunity for growth

    EF Education First2017-04-13
Found 92 reviews