EF Education First "low salary" Reviews | Glassdoor

EF Education First Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO    Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
758 Ratings
  1. "Tour Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First

    Pros

    Travel Great Perks Great location and office Amazing time off Amazing training

    Cons

    Low Salary Weak Management Turnover

    EF Education First2016-12-29
  2. "Great First Gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First

    Pros

    Great travel perks, open work environment, on-site bar/restaurant, young atmosphere

    Cons

    Low salaries, a lot of turnover, sometimes you feel undervalued

    EF Education First2016-12-02
  3. "Fun company, great travel benefits, little room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    Fun, vibrant company and great people

    Cons

    Low salaries, poor employee retention, limited advancement

    EF Education First2016-10-10
  4. "Academic Cordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    leadership role; combination of management and teaching, on job training

    Cons

    long hours , low salary, added responsibility with no added benefits

    Advice to Management

    salary should be increased; more training, personnel should not be required to teach classes

    EF Education First2016-05-15
  5. "So Far So Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends

    I have been working at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are some of the kindest, friendliest, smartest people around. Nice on-site perks (Lingo cafe and bar, Salon Pini, Manicube, Fitness Classes, on site events, etc) Very open and collaborative environment--managers encourage networking shadowing, and you never feel like you have to sneak around when think about pursuing other internal opportunities. Young, energetic feel. Beautiful building. Great products that you can feel good about spotlighting--I am proud to work for EF.

    Show More

    Cons

    Low salary. Student loans alone coupled with a very low salary has made it so I can't afford to live in the city/live close to work. Therefore my days can be very long. Upper management sometimes has a disconnect amongst itself/with lower levels in the company. Remember that we're all in this together!

    EF Education First2016-03-09
  6. Helpful (3)

    "EF- a wonderful place to start a career, don't stay too long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic opportunities for growth- if you know how to play the game, you can be catapulted to a managerial position in a short amount of time.

    Cons

    Extremely low salaries, unqualified management, internal politics

    Advice to Management

    EF manages to employ some of the brightest minds from some of the top educational institutions in the US. Create incentives, like living wages, to retain your top employees to guarantee you can hold on to this talent.

    EF Education First2016-03-07
  7. "Tour Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    -Great people, travel opportunities, benefits

    Cons

    -Directors have no relevant experience and low salaries -High turnover

    EF Education First2016-02-04
  8. "Eh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at EF Education First

    Pros

    - Flexible hours: since the "compensation" is a joke, if the flexible hours and the lack of commute did not exist as a huge draw for the position of an online English instructor, I don't think anyone would sign up to work as one, especially as an independent contractor without any benefit & prob. a rather steep tax rate owed to the IRS due to the 1099 status. - I love helping students (the nice ones who really want to improve their English) gain more confidence when they speak in a foreign language. - My mentor was actually pretty decent. I was able to reach the mentor whenever I had questions during my first stage as a newbie with the company. - Almost no prep required for Group Lessons ( The company provided group lesson materials are okay. They may not be out of the world fabulous, but they are enough to get the job done) - I think the company actually tries to improve its lesson materials and other support materials for the teachers. (Does it work effectively? That is another question. But I think the company tries.)

    Show More

    Cons

    - The online forum, AXIS, takes a bit of time to get used to. There are just WAY too many details a newcomer has to memorize in the beginning. Some details are bound to be lost in the shuffle. AXIS recently got a new format. It was confusing at first. I also noticed that some of the functions did not work as well as the old format. With every change, I am sure that there will be some confusion in the beginning. Still annoying though. - The company improved recently in terms of tech support, etc. There were times in the past when it was the company's server issue that kicked the teachers out of the online classrooms during class. This problem led to students in the class being dissatisfied & giving a bunch of low numbers on the ratings for the teachers & the headquarters saying basically "well, oops, sucks for you." Gee. That was nice, especially since it's not the headquarter employees' compensation being dependent on those evaluations. Yes, headquarters, screw you, too. - While group lesson materials are pretty sufficient by themselves, private lessons are another matter. There's a big range of students' capabilities in private lessons. Some students are a lot more demanding. They want a lot more than the company offered materials. If the student is sweet & a repeat student, I would not mind preparing for the lesson as long as it does not take too much of my time. But if it is someone I do not know/ never taught before (hence have no info. on the student's capabilities/ needs, etc.), there's often a misalignment of expectations at some points. It's a good thing that I can quickly find materials & already have lots of materials. This unfortunate scenario can be prevented. But that should not be my job- it should be the support team's to provide the teacher with as much information as possible about the student and his/her expectations. Plus, English Town, you simply don't pay me enough to create and use my own materials. So no, I don't feel like I should be required to do the extra preparation for these students unless I really want to. (to put it simply, "you don't pay me enough for this.") - some of the webinars & mentors are apparently a joke according to other teachers and reviews here. I also felt that way with one person who called him/herself an "expert" on one of the areas of teaching. Little did he/she know that I have a lot more experience in that particular area. It was laughable to read the comments/ feedback from him/her. But I can see how some of these webinars can help those who have 0 background in education or ESL. (then again, should you even dabble in "teaching" with such a lack of connection to this field in the first place?) - The After Class Report(ACR)s are downright annoying. I realize that they are important. And for private lessons, I agree that feedback would help. But to penalize teachers for not submitting them on time in the format the company wants? Puhhleeeze. Again, it's "you don't pay me enough for this." - Students' reactions to your style of teaching vary greatly depending on their background- their level of English, personality, the strength of their Wifi that particular day, their cultural background, etc. Some of the teachers and I noticed that we can say the exact same things for the same level of group lessons. But those lessons can have very different student evaluations. What does that say about student evaluations? NOT objective at all. And some students have unreasonably high expectations from their teachers/ lessons. They really make me say, "Oh sweetie, English Town really does not pay me enough for this." - Did I mention the low salary already?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management of this company reminds me of a teenager who is in that awkward stage between childhood and adulthood, complete with an acne ridden face, voice change and being self-conscious around the cool kids. Will the ugly duckling turn into a swan after all? Somehow, I think that English Town will have "its acne" and other issues for decades to come... Advice to New Online Teachers: Document everything when something goes wrong on the Adobe Classroom & report it. It is in your best interest to screen shot everything to have some proof (if taking a screen shot is possible).

    Show More
    EF Education First2016-01-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Don't get sucked in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    You will work with the best and brightest people, and have several opportunities to travel. This job is perfect for someone who just graduated or is new to Boston. You'll make a ton of friends and get force-fed a ton of alcohol. You learn a lot about sales and yourself. However, It's not a super sales culture (despite what they say in the interview). The product sells itself. You're barely managed and it's not really a big deal if you don't hit your goals. The company values culture over results. I loved working here. Just beware. It's easy to drink the kool-aid, but very few people get promoted. Don't stay for more than 2 years.

    Show More

    Cons

    Long hours, Low salary, Minimal upward mobility, No management, no recognition, outdated bonus structure

    Advice to Management

    A flat organization is great in the sense of innovation, collaboration, and creativity. They are also great in the sense of cost savings--something EF is very good at. Don't lose sight of what actually keeps your company running--your sales people! Your directors are spread too thin and your sales team have little to no direction. Middle management can be okay when you're growing so rapidly! My biggest recommendation is to focus more on developing and supporting your sales people.

    Show More
    EF Education First2015-09-26
  10. "ELS Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
     in Chicago, IL
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at EF Education First for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff, fun atmosphere, lots of liberty to be creative.

    Cons

    Low salary! No benefits for part-time

    EF Education First2015-09-20
Found 92 reviews