EF Education First "low salary" Reviews | Glassdoor

EF Education First Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO    Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
757 Ratings
  1. "Low pay and hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Activities Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    - International brand on CV - Good office space - Discounts/ free visits to London attractions

    Cons

    - Low salaries - Hard work and no compensation - No work life balance - No training but high expectations on performance

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your teams/employees and actively support them so that they can succeed in their roles and bring real value to the business.

    EF Education First2019-12-07
  2. "....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales and Marketing Coordinator in Bursa
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    company culture, comfortable working environment

    Cons

    sales pressure, low salary, non-payment of overtime work

    EF Education First2019-09-20
  3. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Residential EFL Teacher 

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    great environment, good experience, lovely places

    Cons

    very low salaries, long hours

    Advice to Management

    reward your employees more!

    EF Education First2019-09-10
  4. "Fun job but low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Activities Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First

    Pros

    Lively , exciting atmosphere. Good at marketing/sales.

    Cons

    Low salary. Over working hours. Sales pressure

    EF Education First2019-09-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Work here if you want a stable job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly working environment - Nice office

    Cons

    - Low salary - No HR support, you do an exit interview with the manager of your direct manager - Lack of internal promotion, no career path whatsoever - No budget for you to join business trip, resources are reserved for management levels only - No overtime pay

    EF Education First2019-05-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Operations Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Operations Management Trainee in Zürich

    I have been working at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    Great, young company with international staff

    Cons

    Low salary for Zurich and high turnover

    Advice to Management

    Great!

    EF Education First2019-04-19
  7. Helpful (2)

    "EF could be a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Accountant Trainee in Zürich
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First for less than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, international environment, team building events

    Cons

    Low salaries, micro-management, growth opportunities are low and not very interesting, no HR department. Lack of clear trainings and processes leading to poor work and management quality

    Advice to Management

    Talent management is needed, listening more to employees' needs, having nice events does not compensate for low salaries and over hours

    EF Education First2019-04-18
  8. "Corporation wrapped up as a school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - English Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at EF Education First for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you work with

    Cons

    Dreadful working conditions Very low salary, especially bearing in mind all the sacrifices they ask you to make, and the money they get from students Everyone is replaceable for them, so they drain you up, and simply replace you when you cannot take it anymore

    Advice to Management

    Work on your human skills

    EF Education First2019-04-15
  9. "EF Education First"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Good environment, cool and friendly office spaces

    Cons

    Low salary, vague strategies, bad planning, very high product prices

    EF Education First2019-03-23
  10. "Hourly wage, a lot of paperwork without pay, good atmosphere, fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EFL Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good atmosphere - Fun place to work - I like my bosses - Media in most rooms - Room for progress - Exciting working environment - Development workshops

    Cons

    - Low salary - Contract hours are bad - No sick leave - Feel overworked - Too much paperwork - Must do a lot of work for free i.e. correcting tests, correcting homework, writing lesson plans for every lesson - Some rooms do not have a media

    Advice to Management

    - Please pay us more, we can't afford health insurance or rent - We feel overworked and underappreciated. Please pay us for non-teaching hours. - Please give us sick pay

    EF Education First2019-03-06
Found 92 reviews