EF English First English Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

EF English First English Teacher Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
5%
Approve of CEO
EF English First CEO 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
24 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Online English Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at EF English First part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is an amazing company to work for. The management team is great, always ready to help if you need it. The training was good too. You can pretty much work as much as you want.

    Cons

    I don't have any complaints about this company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    EF English First2016-08-24
  2. "It's alright as a part time gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - English Teacher in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First for less than a year

    Pros

    You can set your own hours and work as little or as much as your want. It is also remote and you don't have to speak like a character from a children's cartoon.

    Cons

    The starting pay is only about 12 bucks an hour. You can find other jobs teaching children for 18-24 bucks an hour. I will probably seek employment at another company You can increase your pay but you have to work with them for a long period of time. The maximum is only 15 bucks.

    Advice to Management

    Raise base salary if you want to keep your teachers. Your good teachers are going to leave for other companies.

    EF English First2019-05-01
  3. "Descent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Decatur, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They always pay you on-time.

    Cons

    Recently I can't get enough hours.

    EF English First2019-04-12
  4. Helpful (48)

    "Racist and will treat you like trash. If you aren’t white don’t apply!!!! Please stay away from this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher in China, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They will like only white people. If you are white this is great for you!

    Cons

    They will only treat white people like gods. If you are darker than white you will be harassed, watched like a criminal, ignored and forced into slavery like conditions.

    Advice to Management

    Warn anyone not white because you cause psychological damage to ANY minority. If you hire anyone yellow, brown or black tell them your racist history so they don’t get stuck in modern slavery

    EF English First2018-07-01

    EF English First Response

    July 4, 2018Vice President

    We are extremely disappointed to hear your negative feelings. EF has been opening the world through education for over 60 years and we pride ourselves on being an equal opportunities employer with an amazing mix of cultures and backgrounds. If you feel you have been treated unfairly by any individual within our network of schools please do write to us at teacher.feedback@ef.com.

    Show Less
  5. "Let down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Teacher 

    I worked at EF English First full-time

    Pros

    They did give lots of hours to begin with and the schedule is flexible

    Cons

    I was working many hours a week. The pay is lot great, then, I lost my hours and had no work. Contact with try he office is chaotic to say the least

    Advice to Management

    Reward hard work, don't penalise us

    EF English First2019-10-10
  6. "Massive disconnect between management and staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International English Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Set Schedule Limited Hours Career Progression Lateral Movement Diverse Work Force

    Cons

    Disconnected Management Corporate structure is flawed

    Advice to Management

    Standardize the working life between teachers at all centers. Centers are completely disconnected from each other and if you get one that doesn't care about your work life, prepare to be doing lots of extra things on the side in your own time, with no extra compensation.

    EF English First2019-10-09
  7. "Online English Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher in Beijing, Beijing
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get the hours you request so you can work whenever you want and work as many hours per week as you want (probably even 80 if you wanted!).

    Cons

    The salary increases over time are a joke, management is a joke, they have rigid rules and if you break them at all they will be happy to fire you, even if you are one of the top ranked teachers who dozens of students personally request weekly.

    Advice to Management

    Offer better promotions / pay increases to teachers as they continue to waste away their lives helping the EF empire grow. Offer teachers who are willing to commit to 40 or more lessons a week health insurance and a 401K option.

    EF English First2019-10-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A decent job that could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher 

    I have been working at EF English First full-time

    Pros

    (1) The system is relatively simple to navigate. (2) You can choose any hours. (3) You can recover from student no shows with writing corrections. (4) The lessons are straightforward and some of the best lesson materials I have ever encountered.

    Cons

    (1) The pay is comparatively low. (2) There is no opportunity for career advancement or raises. (3) Trying to have lessons with people who are extremely low level (who need bilingual teachers) is very frustrating. (4) Trying to have classes with people whose levels and lesson materials are mismatched is very frustrating. (5) People enrolling in the courses without any counseling as to their English... development path is frustrating. (6) Having to accommodate ridiculous custom lesson requests from students. (7) People who do not participate are permitted to remain in group classes.

    Show More
    EF English First2019-09-26
  9. "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helpfull assimilation process 2 week hotel stay on arrival

    Cons

    They did not cover my flight expenses while "Free Flights" is advertised almost anywhere you look

    EF English First2019-09-14

    EF English First Response

    October 7, 2019Vice President

    Thanks for sharing your experience of working with EF to teach online. While we often run campaigns that offer free flights, this isn’t part of the standard package for working in China. Understandably this can be disappointing, but we hope that you enjoyed other benefits of the package that you were offered. The class simulations always get such positive feedback from teachers, so we’re happy that you enjoyed that part of our Onboarding. Thanks again for your feedback!

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (1)

    "more cons than pros"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English As A Second Language Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    sense of community in the office, lovely to work with local teachers

    Cons

    Your salary hardly goes up, there are no HR resources at all, paid way less than other teachers at language centres, duties far exceed what one it told in the beginning, no paid sick leave, some centres very rundown compared to other high tech and comfortable ones.

    Advice to Management

    make sure all schools and offices are at the same level of comfort and efficiency.

    EF English First2019-09-13
Found 80 reviews