EF English First Online English Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

EF English First Online English Teacher Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
2%
Approve of CEO
EF English First CEO 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Online English Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at EF English First part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is an amazing company to work for. The management team is great, always ready to help if you need it. The training was good too. You can pretty much work as much as you want.

    Cons

    I don't have any complaints about this company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    EF English First2016-08-24
  2. "Descent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Decatur, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They always pay you on-time.

    Cons

    Recently I can't get enough hours.

    EF English First2019-04-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "A decent job that could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher 

    I have been working at EF English First full-time

    Pros

    (1) The system is relatively simple to navigate. (2) You can choose any hours. (3) You can recover from student no shows with writing corrections. (4) The lessons are straightforward and some of the best lesson materials I have ever encountered.

    Cons

    (1) The pay is comparatively low. (2) There is no opportunity for career advancement or raises. (3) Trying to have lessons with people who are extremely low level (who need bilingual teachers) is very frustrating. (4) Trying to have classes with people whose levels and lesson materials are mismatched is very frustrating. (5) People enrolling in the courses without any counseling as to their English... development path is frustrating. (6) Having to accommodate ridiculous custom lesson requests from students. (7) People who do not participate are permitted to remain in group classes.

    Show More
    EF English First2019-09-26
  4. "Let down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Teacher 

    I worked at EF English First full-time

    Pros

    They did give lots of hours to begin with and the schedule is flexible

    Cons

    I was working many hours a week. The pay is lot great, then, I lost my hours and had no work. Contact with try he office is chaotic to say the least

    Advice to Management

    Reward hard work, don't penalise us

    EF English First2019-10-10
  5. "I am currently working at EF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Online English Teacher in Milan

    I have been working at EF English First for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, I choose the hours I want to work, the lesson materials are already prepared and preloaded. You can make a decent amount of money per month depending on how many hours you teach.

    Cons

    Sometimes you will not have classes assigned to you but luckily this is rare.

    EF English First2019-01-25
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Do not work at EF!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Online English Teacher in Jakarta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EF English First for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to live in Indonesia.

    Cons

    The management is so stupid. They should name the company "profits first, teachers last."

    Advice to Management

    Go pound sand.

    EF English First2019-01-10
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Online Teaching Was surprisingly great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF English First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Structured work hours with regular classes Opportunities to develop into a team leader, take on new projects and advance in career Great curriculum Loved working with of my international colleagues Office environment was very good Lots of social activities Free Online Chinese classes

    Cons

    Took time to get used to the new teaching technology in the beginning. Everyone is expected to contribute ideas and mix with the group. As a shy person, I found this difficult at first.

    Advice to Management

    I am enjoying my time at EF. I think it would be great if I could do a work swap and try my hand at Kids teaching or Adults face to face. I know I can change, but just for a few days now and again would be great.

    EF English First2016-07-22
Found 7 reviews