Cover image for EF English First
Logo

EF English First

Engaged Employer

EF English First

Add a Review

EF English First Reviews

Updated Mar 28, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 909 of over 1K reviews
3.4
51% Recommend to a Friend
EF English First CEO Adele Bai
54% Approve of CEO

Found 901 of over 1K reviews

3.4
51%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
EF English First CEO Adele Bai
Adele Bai
35 Ratings

Got a burning question about EF English First? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with EF English First employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

Ask a Question

What are your colleagues talking about?

Find your private company bowl on Fishbowl, join the hottest conversation with your colleagues anonymously.
Join the Conversation

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Pay is low for NES starting at $10.00 an hour and it will take you 3 year to get to $13.00 an hour.(in 116 reviews)
  • "The salary is low for the amount of work you have to do as well as the hours and days.(in 86 reviews)
  • "Poor management and exploitative franchise investors(in 69 reviews)
  • "Long hours and very sales oriented.(in 37 reviews)
  • "Academic managers hold meetings on topics with no qualifications while making innapropriate remarks that are immoral and unethical.(in 19 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of EF English First and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing Company

    Aug 15, 2022 - ESL Instructor in Tarrytown, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lesson plans provided, training offered, and great staff

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Token Diversity Hire

    Mar 19, 2023 - Cafe Owner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Saw the world, experienced a different culture and met some wonderful people.

    Cons

    No benefit to job excellence, only marketable as a white foreigner.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the EF English First team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Starter Job

    Feb 2, 2023 - English Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They brought me to China and were very organized with all of the logistics. They helped me develop my teaching foundation and were supportive during Covid.

    Cons

    Any local staff that aren’t teachers are treated very badly, this is normal in Chinese culture as they don’t care about employees.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Do not go for training centers

    Mar 12, 2023 - ESL Teacher in China, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you are lucky, they pay for your flight

    Cons

    Low pay and poor management

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Mixed Bag

    Feb 10, 2023 - English Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great resume builder Lots of travel opportunities

    Cons

    Wasn't prepared for the culture shock Covid-19 pandemic wasn't handled well

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great partnership with them

    Oct 25, 2022 - Online English Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Teaching English online with them was easy and professional. I mean that lessons were easy to navigate, students were fun and I never had a problem with receiving pay.

    Cons

    Teaching English online with them is no longer an option due to changes in policy in China.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    EF English First Response

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Regulation changes have meant we have had to restructure our academic offerings, but we're glad you enjoyed working with us while you could! Best of luck for the future and thanks again for your comments.

  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    not bad, not good. just okay

    Nov 2, 2022 - TEFL Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good coworkers lesson plans good entry level job

    Cons

    low pay big classes too much scaffolding classes too long

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    EF English First Response

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re glad you enjoyed developing with us, and especially glad you worked with good teammates. We regularly review our salary structure to be in line with industry standards and try and ensure our classroom time and content fit the needs of our students wherever they are in their learning journey. Thanks again and we wish you the best in your future career!

  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good management

    Oct 24, 2022 - Senior Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Quality of training is super good, work hard and its pretty easy to move up.

    Cons

    Time off isn't great for employees from other countries besides the US. Salary could be more competitive

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Review headline

    Sep 26, 2022 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedules small class setting

    Cons

    Not so good at pay

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    EF English First Response

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re glad you enjoyed working with us and were able to experience a flexible schedule. We regularly review our salary and compensation to be in line with industry standards. Thanks again!

  11. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great start!

    Oct 31, 2022 - ESL Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They teach you a lot of about ESL

    Cons

    Some schools can be very difficult and there isn't a lot of support for conflict resolution

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    EF English First Response

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re glad you have enjoyed working with us, and especially glad you have been able to develop so much! We're proud of our training programs and work continuously to ensure our managers are able to guide teachers to reach their full potential. Manager training includes a focus on conflict resolution and we are always looking to improve our support. If you would like to share more please note you can do so - confidentially - at teacher.welfare@ef.cn. Thanks again.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 901 Reviews
</>Embed

EF English First Reviews FAQs

EF English First has an overall rating of 3.4 out of 5, based on over 1,104 reviews left anonymously by employees. 51% of employees would recommend working at EF English First to a friend and 38% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, EF English First employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at EF English First. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

51% of EF English First employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated EF English First 3.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.3 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at EF English First to be workplace, coworkers, career development and the cons to be culture, benefits, management.

Popular Careers with EF English First Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at EF English First? Share Your Experiences

EF English First logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

EF English First Photos

+ Add Photo
EF English First photo of: Team building in Guangzhou
EF English First photo of: Our Leadership Panel at the teacher's forum
EF English First photo of: CertTESOL training in Guangzhou
EF English First photo of: Relax and chat in the lounge or work in the computer lab!
EF English First photo of: Teach in one of our light and airy classrooms
EF English First photo of: One of our colourful and fun kids and teen centres
EF English First photo of: Our students are never bored with all our activities
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

EF Education First LtdEF Education First InternationalEF English First East Java, Bali and Lombok Group
EF Education First Ltd.

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

EF English First Job Seekers Also Viewed

EF Education First Logo
EF Education First

3.5

4,715 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,104 EF English First reviews submitted anonymously by EF English First employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if EF English First is right for you.