EFI Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

EFI Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 153 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
EFI CEO Jeff Jacobson
Jeff Jacobson
0 Ratings
  1. "Place to grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Mechanical Engineer Intern in Meredith, NH
    Recommends

    I worked at EFI

    Pros

    Freedom to control your project. Opinion is listened to.

    Cons

    Not always to move projects along in a timely manner.

    EFI2018-01-05
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Good coworker and direct Manager, Poor Upper Managment and Customer Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Manchester, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EFI full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, flexible schedule, fair benefits, wide variety of exposure to technologies. Direct managers are very good

    Cons

    Upper management, customer care, ignoring the advice of people they hire to help them make better decisions. Pay below average for the area.

    EFI2018-09-27
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Shrinking business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Fremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EFI full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Modern office, good cafeteria, good cooperative employees, good manager at least for me. Life-work balance was good until there is a deadline approaching - then you will be asked to work overtime and weekends for months in the row and no you will not get bonus for that in the end.

    Cons

    Toner based printing has no future and market for EFI toner based products is shrinking, competition from OEM developed DFEs is killing company. Inkjet based products are not as profitable as toner based ones. The company is a good place to retire but there is no growth if you are young and more ambitious. Do not expect to be awarded stock options, bonuses or salary adjustments once a year. Promotions are very rare... also. While I was working there company was only shrinking in size (in Fremont, CA) moving to smaller and smaller buildings and reducing workforce on regular basis.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be serious about accounting. Bad accounting cost company dearly causing drop in stock price.

    EFI2018-05-02
  4. "Company Culture with SPRINT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Engineer in Fremont, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EFI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Vacation Time No Micro Managing

    Cons

    Upper Management doesnt talk Transparency is missing

    EFI2018-03-13
  5. Helpful (16)

    "Too many layoffs. Constant financial lies. Stocks down 45%"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Meredith, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EFI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Team attitude - Good pay right out of college - Decent benefits & 401k matching - Fast paced & a lot of projects - Cafeteria that sold freshly cooked food - Free steal toe shoes every year - Receive bonus company stock as rewards

    Cons

    - Disgusting bathrooms (also, one review mentioned mice and that is correct) - Bad reputation of harassment from men. - A lot of managers take advantage of their job and sleep around with customers / team members (some have gotten fired since) - A LOT of people are stealing money from the company by lying on expense reports but the company is BLIND - Company lies about financial information, reports sales that... don't even go through yet. You think you have a good quarter and it is all lies - They screw up their financial records so much that our stocks went down 45% in 2017 and we all lost thousands of dollars - Too many lay offs - they lay off smart engineers that are loyal to the company when they should be firing the field engineers that are stealing so much money - When they do poor they don't give you raises, they give you company stock which you end up losing when the stocks drop 45%

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes and see where your money is REALLY going. Stop creating hundreds of new jobs right after you lay off 50 loyal people. EFI laid off 50 people in Feb 2016 (and another chunk in May 2017) so they could afford to relocate their HQ from Meredith to Manchester. Stop lying about your financial situation just so you can say you "hit one billion". They act like they care about their employees when they lay off... the most hard working engineers in the company.

    Show More
    EFI2018-01-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "working enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Fremont, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EFI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    nice and cooperative coworkers, many chances to learn new staff, encouraged to take more responsibilities.

    Cons

    compensation a little bit less than average.

    Advice to Management

    increasing engineer compensation

    EFI2017-11-27
  7. Helpful (15)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EFI full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    lots of parking spaces, very easy to find one

    Cons

    lay off people very often

    Advice to Management

    lay off managers too

    EFI2017-06-23
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Meredith, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EFI for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, great work environment, pay is high, benefits are great, work experience and career growth

    Cons

    They do lay offs normally every 3-5 years and unfortunately if you are at the bottom, or a newly hire, you may get the boot.

    Advice to Management

    Stop laying off people who work hard and lay off the people that take advantage of expense reports

    EFI2016-12-22
  9. Helpful (19)

    "Principal Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Manchester, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EFI full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting work, good benefits & employee stock program, good vacation allowance (unlimited w/approval), opportunity to travel

    Cons

    Corporate management are useless, focused on all the wrong things, treat employees bady, penny pinching to the extreme, then wasteful to the other extreme. Bought lots of successful companies, then completely changed & ruin them. Too many cliques within the company, harboring use-Les, worth-Les, Sycophantic people. If you like to get on by brown nosing, this is the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Stop seagul managing the companies you buy & let them run themselves the way they should be. Forget about revenue & concentrate on actual real profit (not the non-gaap rubbish you keep measuring everything by)

    EFI2017-01-01

    EFI Response

    January 30, 2017Manager, Talent Acquisition Americas

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We are thrilled that you have found your work here interesting and we are very proud of the benefits we offer to our employees. EFI being a global company has a responsibility to ensure that all of its business units work and ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (9)

    "No Job Security if employed in EFI USA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Fremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EFI full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work times. Allows partial or full telecommuting.

    Cons

    They want as few Developers in USA as possible. Everything is moving to offshore (India)

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent of your policies.

    EFI2016-11-03

    EFI Response

    November 15, 2016Manager Talent Acquisition Americas

    Thank you for taking the time to review your time at EFI. It sounds like you enjoyed the flexible schedule,and many of our employees do as well. We are sorry to hear that you felt we were moving our jobs offshore to India. While we do have an impressive development team abroad, ...

    Show More
Found 153 reviews