EFI Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

EFI Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 93 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
EFI CEO Jeff Jacobson
Jeff Jacobson
0 Ratings
  1. "Fast-paced high tech company that rewards productivity and creativity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Meredith, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EFI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people from many different engineering disciplines all working together to bring innovative technologies to market, set in a beautiful location.

    Cons

    Some of the facilities are old and run-down looking. Priorities are constantly changing. Difficult to lure top-quality engineers to this location.

    EFI2013-08-20
  2. Helpful (16)

    "Too many layoffs. Constant financial lies. Stocks down 45%"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Meredith, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EFI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Team attitude - Good pay right out of college - Decent benefits & 401k matching - Fast paced & a lot of projects - Cafeteria that sold freshly cooked food - Free steal toe shoes every year - Receive bonus company stock as rewards

    Cons

    - Disgusting bathrooms (also, one review mentioned mice and that is correct) - Bad reputation of harassment from men. - A lot of managers take advantage of their job and sleep around with customers / team members (some have gotten fired since) - A LOT of people are stealing money from the company by lying on expense reports but the company is BLIND - Company lies about financial information, reports sales that don't even go through yet. You think you have a good quarter and it is all lies - They screw up their financial records so much that our stocks went down 45% in 2017 and we all lost thousands of dollars - Too many lay offs - they lay off smart engineers that are loyal to the company when they should be firing the field engineers that are stealing so much money - When they do poor they don't give you raises, they give you company stock which you end up losing when the stocks drop 45%

    Continue reading
    EFI2018-01-24
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Meredith, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EFI for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, great work environment, pay is high, benefits are great, work experience and career growth

    Cons

    They do lay offs normally every 3-5 years and unfortunately if you are at the bottom, or a newly hire, you may get the boot.

    Continue reading
    EFI2016-12-22
  4. Helpful (9)

    "No Job Security if employed in EFI USA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Fremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EFI full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work times. Allows partial or full telecommuting.

    Cons

    They want as few Developers in USA as possible. Everything is moving to offshore (India)

    Continue reading
    EFI2016-11-03

    EFI Response

    November 15, 2016Manager Talent Acquisition Americas

    Thank you for taking the time to review your time at EFI. It sounds like you enjoyed the flexible schedule,and many of our employees do as well. We are sorry to hear that you felt we were moving our jobs offshore to India. While we do have an impressive development team abroad, we have continued to increase our headcount here in the US year over year and we don't see that changing anytime soon. Again, our sincere thanks for taking the time to review your time here and we wish you continued success in your future endeavors! Wendy Lague, Manager, Talent Acquisition Americas

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Okay company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Fremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EFI full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting works if you are in the right group. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Promotion is not transparent. Process especially fixing bugs is tedious as company tries to save money by moving supports to India. Not much monetary incentive to speak of, no stock grant, bonus or profit sharing is in name only, yearly salary increase is not even keeping up with inflation.

    Continue reading
    EFI2016-10-30

    EFI Response

    November 2, 2016Manager Talent Acquisition Americas

    Thanks for the feedback – especially around making promotions more transparent. We hope you were able to take advantage of some programs like 2 year lookback on employee stock purchases during your 10 years. We certainly want to encourage anyone to openly discuss with their manager or VP what they can do to get a bigger raise or stock grant. Additionally, we welcome your feedback on how to work on managing bugs so as to free up more time for developing the next great thing - thank you for bringing it up. (Posted by Wendy Lague, Manager, Talent Acquisition Americas on behalf of Toby Weiss, Sr.VP/GM, Fiery Products)

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great mentors, loved the support group. Company as a whole didn't seem to mesh with my personality."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer in Fremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EFI for less than a year

    Pros

    Great supportive teams that really go out of their way to help each other out. Fantastic people and everyone is incredibly friendly.

    Cons

    An attempt to be a company like those across the bridge but not quite there. Across the Dumbarton are companies like Facebook and Google. EFI's campus (more like building) is really nice and modern. They really seem to aim for the modern tech company vibe and culture but it's not quite there yet.The CEO was big on hitting a billion dollars in revenue, that's it.

    EFI2016-09-12
  7. Helpful (11)

    "The worst 4 years of my life, no kidding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Foster City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EFI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When I was there they had a nice building in Foster City overlooking the bay, not anymore. The company has moved its headquarters to Fremont.

    Cons

    The company has existed for a long time, the code base is old and not too much new development is going on. Instead, it's they follow the principle, if it works don't touch it. And sure it does work, but that is not the question, the question is how well? Most people do bug fixes. Only maybe 10% of engineers do actual development. So, if you're young and you're smart (I don't mean you're a genius, I mean you're a capable engineer who can get the job done and you are good with basic algorithms so you can prepare for interviews) and you feel like you're not challenged enough, then GET OUT OF THIS PLACE. There are plenty of companies that pay at least 30-40% more than EFI does. And you'll get to learn new technologies and work with a lot of smart people. If you talk to others within the company you'll get the feeling that they feel the same way, at the same time they don't want to do anything about it... Do not be like them. Go out and try and change and it'll most likely be good.

    EFI2016-08-24

    EFI Response

    September 30, 2016Manager Talent Acquisition Americas

    Ouch. :-( We’ve been in Fremont for three years now, your feedback might be a bit dated, but our facility in Fremont is state-of-the-art and facilitates great collaboration among our employees, which is exciting. We have also since redone a lot of our product with modern tech and more than half of our people are working on new development projects. Appreciate your feedback and hope that our response helps. (Posted by Wendy Lague, Manager, Talent Acquisition Americas on behalf of Toby Weiss, Sr.VP/GM, Fiery Products)

    Continue reading
  8. "International Company with Low pay for engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Fremont, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at EFI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice Headquarters office in Fremont CA, onsite gym, nice cafe, nice management. Many mature employees in their 50-60s. Old fashioned culture, like in 90s Stable company, not a startup

    Cons

    Compensation is lower that in other hi-tech companies in the bay Area.

    Continue reading
    EFI2016-06-09
  9. Helpful (17)

    "One of worst company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software QA Engineer in Fremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EFI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great, this is only one pros to work at EFI.

    Cons

    Once you join the company, you will never get a raise. Manager will always come up with or other excuses. And If you come under bad manager, you can see lots of racial discrimination. They will make you work day and night and still do not appreciate your hard work. There is No work life balance and upper management doesn't truly listen to their people at all. I would not recommended this company a good place to work.

    EFI2016-06-17
  10. Helpful (15)

    "If you are looking to be unappreciated and stabbed in the back, this is the place for you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lead Software Engineer in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EFI

    Pros

    The hours are flexible and there are some employees that have the option to work from home. There are some really good people that do good work.

    Cons

    You better negotiate a good starting salary because you won't see much in the way of any raises, ever. The company only cares about getting to 1 Billion in sales by 2016 and will do whatever it takes to get there. Teams work in silos and there if very little cooperation and communication between the teams. Don't expect for any of your supervisors to have your back. I know mine didn't. Not only was I laid off but I had asked to move to an up and coming team before I was let go and my boss did nothing to help me. After I was laid off my boss worked to get himself on the team. There is virtually ZERO chance for advancement. Company offers zero training and does nothing to allow you to grow.

    Continue reading
    EFI2016-03-17
Found 93 reviews