EFI "flexible work" Reviews | Glassdoor

EFI Employee Reviews about "flexible work"

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 498 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
EFI CEO Jeff Jacobson
Jeff Jacobson
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work Environment, Upper Management, Realistic work schedules(in 28 reviews)

  • "The senior management doesn't understand how their company works or where the issue lie(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (9)

    "No Job Security if employed in EFI USA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Fremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EFI full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work times. Allows partial or full telecommuting.

    Cons

    They want as few Developers in USA as possible. Everything is moving to offshore (India)

    Continue reading
    EFI2016-11-03

    EFI Response

    November 15, 2016Manager Talent Acquisition Americas

    Thank you for taking the time to review your time at EFI. It sounds like you enjoyed the flexible schedule,and many of our employees do as well. We are sorry to hear that you felt we were moving our jobs offshore to India. While we do have an impressive development team abroad, we have continued to increase our headcount here in the US year over year and we don't see that changing anytime soon. Again, our sincere thanks for taking the time to review your time here and we wish you continued success in your future endeavors! Wendy Lague, Manager, Talent Acquisition Americas

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (16)

    "Not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EFI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Flexible work schedule -Some nice colleagues

    Cons

    -Low Salary for SF Bay Area -Low Morale -No career advancement -A lot of good people already left the company

    Continue reading
    EFI2016-10-18

    EFI Response

    October 25, 2016Manager Talent Acquisition Americas

    We are sorry to hear you are not pleased, we have heard from others that certain parts of our compensation plan (like 2 year lookback on employee stock purchases, and all employees eligible to participate in profit sharing) was considered best in The Bay. I hope you are currently participating in those. We always appreciate feedback on our compensation plans and will continue to use that feedback as we strive to make EFI and even better place to work! (Posted by Wendy Lague, Manager, Talent Acquisition Americas on behalf of Toby Weiss, Sr.VP/GM, Fiery Products)

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (21)

    "Sad Times for EFI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EFI full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very flexible work schedule, decent pay and benefits. Lot's of company holidays,

    Cons

    There isn't much I can add to the posts written since the beginning of 2016. It's all very consistent with my experience. No resources or training for employees, no concern for customers, other than how much revenue can be squeezed out of them, etc., etc. It is really sad, EFI has a large customer base that has grown to trust them and has not yet realized the level of dis-function going on internally at EFI. Mgmt is constantly making customer site visits to assure them all is well, when clearly it isn't. Products don't work and can't be used, yet more broken products continue to get pushed out the door on a regular basis. Promises to correct things are not kept because resources that could be dedicated to fixing the problems are diverted to focus on the vaporware needed to close 'the next big deal'. Or they have yet another round of RIF's (Reduction in Force) and long tenured, knowledgeable resources are laid off. Yet somehow customers keep trusting them and giving them another chance. I think they don't want to believe the culture has changed and they can no longer trust that EFI has their best interests at heart. When customers realize this the repercussions will be significant. It is unfortunate that what employees once regarded as 'a great company to work for' has fallen so far. Employees don't trust management. They don't believe they are listened to or appreciated. And they wont say anything for fear if they do, they will be in the next round of RIF's. No one I knew had a personal or professional development plan at EFI, they had an 'exit strategy' - how long can I hang on - until I find another job? Can I make it to retirement? Should I stay until they RIF me so at least I get to take some cash with me when I go? The last option seemed to be getting the most traction when I left. What does it say about a company whose employees want to get laid off? For a long time I thought mgmt really didn't understand or realize what was happening. Then one day it dawned on me that they totally understand what is happening, but they no longer care. This is the price the company has decided to pay to get to 1 billion dollars. I wish them well and really hope they can find a way to pull out of this downhill spiral.

    Continue reading
    EFI2016-10-13
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EFI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good colleagues and flexible work environment. Global opportunities and possibility to work with complex problems across teams and time zones.

    Cons

    Can be a bit out of touch with market rate salary in some locations and need to have a better focus on streamlining and making products and processes more lean to reap the benefits of the portfolios.

    Continue reading
    EFI2016-09-20
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Full time at EFI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA in Fremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EFI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Flexible work schedule. Don't have to be at work at any specific time. - Good work environment. People are nice and friendly around here. - Low stress - Good and spacious parking.

    Cons

    - Pay is not that great, below industry average - Not many opportunities to learn new skills - Assignments can be repetitive - Lack of passion/energy and incentive. - Too many meaningless meetings

    EFI2016-09-13

    EFI Response

    September 30, 2016Manager Talent Acquisition Americas

    Thanks for the feedback. We didn’t even realize our parking lot was a strength :-) Just saw a different review where variation of assignments was listed as a strength of EFI, but I know that feedback can vary from individual to individual. We will definitely take your feedback seriously about opportunities to learn new skills. That’s important in any organization and we appreciate your thoughtful feedback. Thank you (Posted by Wendy Lague, Manager, Talent Acquisition Americas on behalf of Toby Weiss, Sr.VP/GM, Fiery Products)

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (20)

    "SPRINT...than collapse!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EFI full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work arrangements, you can work from home every day and your boss either doesn’t know, doesn’t care, but most likely, it’s both. Team members who live in a city where there is an EFI satellite office are not expected to actually show up and work, even though they have a desk, filled with personnel effects, they go months, if not years, without darkening the door. There are benefits in the company, if you keep your eyes open. The best benefit to working for EFI is the Employee Stock Purchase Plan and if you are lucky, Restricted Stock Unit grants. Employees who are smart are in the ESPP for the maximum, 10% of their salary. Additionally, some of the more chosen employees are granted Restricted Stock Units. No one knows how it is decided who gets an RSU grant and who doesn’t, but, if you do, when the grant vests, SELL the shares and invest them in a mutual fund that actually increases in value. Most employees are afraid to sell their vested RSUs because they believe they will have to pay taxes; they don’t realize they already paid the taxes.

    Cons

    I was considered a mid level employee in the EPS group. I worked there long enough to live through the acquisition of printCafe and EFI, only to finally realize this business was a death march. The culture is SPRINT, and each letter stands for something each employee is conditioned to believe. The biggest laugh of the whole acronym is the T in SPRINT stands for Transparency, but, EFI is anything but transparent. People come on board and you are rarely informed. People leave, either on their own or through a reduction in force, and you are never informed. The transparency is centered around the constant drilling in your head to SPRINT to a billion dollars in revenue, find every drop of revenue, locate any and every engagement you can call off at month end/quarter end, and most importantly, don’t ask questions because they will go unanswered. There is so much internal fighting and back stabbing between the products. Monarch, Radius, Pace in the US, the staffers are constantly fighting to keep their product relevant in the eyes of the sales team and management. Everyone says their product does what “so and so” does and this leaves a very green and undereducated sales team confused and left to determine what is the best fit for a client. In the end, no one wins. The client is sold the wrong system, the client is unhappy, and ultimately, EFI is left giving concessions in order to keep the client on the roster. The sales team in EPS is in a constant state of reorganization. At a minimum, there’s a change every year, in 2016, there’s been at least 2 major changes to the structure of the team, one in January and one in July. Don’t worry about it, keep SPRINTing and reach $1 billion! I worked in a remote office, not Foster City/Fremont, and the upper management in our office was next to nothing. None of the team members I worked with had a direct manager in the office. We had no HR representation and no IS&T staff on site. Every day was a struggle if the servers went haywire, a workstation went kaput, the phones went offline, or someone was severed from the company, as these tasks were handled by someone inside the building, and most likely it was front line employees to did the server, workstation, phone repairs and the “building manager” handled the reduction process with HR on the phone from Pittsburgh. For EPS, Pittsburgh is the epicenter. If you don’t work in Pittsburgh, you don’t matter, unless there’s a pressing client issue, then you’re on the hot seat to resolve it. The staff in Pittsburgh is heavy on Prograph and marketing, but, when it comes time to reduce the workforce, the final decision comes from, you guessed it, Pittsburgh, so rarely, do you see the staff in Pittsburgh affected when Fremont decides to cut costs, and it is very rare that it is someone from the Prograph core employee base. The promoting of management is done either by favoritism or because someone has been there the longest. There is little consideration of the person’s ability, or desire, to be a manager or director. The typical interaction you have with your manager in during your weekly, and that is mostly your opportunity to sit quietly and let your manager tell you how busy they are, overworked they are, and that you are lucky you don’t have to deal with all their issues. Every month there seems to be a new senior manager or senior director. This is a great company for Kodak employees to land, it is almost a vacation for Vancouver staffers. The number of layers from the front line employee who interacts with the customer to the CEO is laughable. In some groups, it can be 7 or 8 layers of management. This person reports to this manager who reports to that manager who reports to that manager who reports to another manager who reports to the CEO. And all the while, the layers of overhead are constantly trying to show their value in EPS when they can’t even begin to explain how any of the application works, let alone solve a customer’s issue. As people leave, either through a reduction or voluntarily, there is rarely any effort to replace the staffer. Instead, the company looks at the savings and gives the workload to the remaining team members. The people who are left are either too afraid to speak up and call out how overwhelmed they are, or they are just biding their time until they can exit the company. With each departure, years, if not decades, of knowledge goes out the door and senior management has no idea how to back fill all the experience. Every time the company buys up a company, you’re left with trying to figure out what the management has in store to “connect” yet another product to the suite. Do the due diligence when you swallow up a company, really look at how that product will fit into the culture of the company, and be up front with the acquired company. If they are not going to be viable going forward, tell them that from day one, instead of leaving staff members blowing in the wind with the impression you bought them because their product is the greatest product ever when in reality, they were purchased because it helps the underlying goal of reaching $1 billion in sales.

    Continue reading
    EFI2016-07-26
  7. "Talent Acquisition Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EFI

    Pros

    - great people - nice office - flexible work schedule

    Cons

    - low salary - not a lot of opportunities to network

    EFI2016-06-02
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Overall good people to support your efforts. But a risky environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EFI full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work from home office. Commissions were good when overachieving quota. Plenty of technical support for the sales team by very good people. Generous with expenses. Market leader as they acquire companies who have the best software. If you want to play in the Print MIS space, this is the leader.

    Cons

    Re-organization in the sales department year over year. So you never really feel safe as these decisions are out of your control. Customer satisfaction is a concern, but with the hiring of Gaby there is the sense EFI is working on improving it.

    Continue reading
    EFI2016-02-14
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Mixed Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EFI full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule. Ability to work and contribute in areas not normally associated with a given job title. Day-to-day this was a fine place to work if you could ignore the bigger issues and the continual shrinking of the office headcount.

    Cons

    Company is overly focused on meeting quarterly numbers to the detriment of long-term goals. I worked in the Pittsburgh office and it was pretty much expected that there would be one or two people missing just prior to quarterly numbers being announced. There wouldn't be any notice/all-clear notice. You'd just notice that a cube was empty or realize somebody was missing a week later. Layoffs are part of the tech industry, but shouldn't be a regular heartbeat so that a division can squeak out another percentage or two. Bonuses are tied to meeting corporate sales goals which makes perfect sense. But the goals were so overly aggressive that they weren't attainable. Middle management (at least in the Pgh office) were largely people that had little experience outside of EFI. There was little advancement or formal management training. So things which are commonplace in the rest of the industry like agile are either not implemented or not understood. I held out quite a while mostly due to inertia (and the vague hope of a severance package after a layoff) but finally left on my own accord. I'm very happy I did so.

    EFI2015-08-17
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Employees are not the priority. The grass is probably greener..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee -  
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EFI full-time

    Pros

    The benefits package is great. The employees are awesome. Having a flexible work schedule is a bonus.

    Cons

    Salaries are below market. The shareholders come first, the employees come second. Constantly changing priorities lead to frustrated employees feeling a lack of accomplishment. Too many meetings (yes, this company has meetings to discuss having meetings). The review process is meaningless. Goals are established which are impossible to measure.

    Continue reading
    EFI2013-03-18
Found 498 reviews
</>Embed