EJ Sterling Reviews | Glassdoor

EJ Sterling Reviews

Updated Jan 12, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
EJ Sterling CEO & President John Parmigiani (no image)
John Parmigiani
4 Ratings
  1. "Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EJ Sterling full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome! Learned a lot, great management! They really teach you what you need to succeed. A great place to learn and a great place to grow.

    Cons

    Not many Cons. Management really allocates you the tools you need to succeed. You need to be mentally tough and persistent in order to succeed in this business and you definitely develop those traits here. The only other Con that I can possibly think of is slightly upgrading the resources we're allocated. But overall, a great experience and a solid place to learn!

    EJ Sterling2016-06-11
  2. "EJ sterling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at EJ Sterling

    Pros

    None. I didn't learn anything.

    Cons

    No pay. No learning. all cold calls.

    EJ Sterling2017-01-12
  3. "Broker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EJ Sterling full-time

    Pros

    Paid for licences One or two of the partners were surprisingly really nice guys

    Cons

    Pure commission Glorified telemarketing Lied to me about compensation Yelling through a phone day in and day out is brutal

    EJ Sterling2016-09-07
  4. "OK Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Financial Advisor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EJ Sterling

    Pros

    Good people, supportive environment, lots of autonomy, a great place to learn

    Cons

    Disorganized, no written contract of how things are broken down or run as an organization, everyone has a different deal with the firm, no continuity, no goals, no vision as a company. Completely disorganized. Very high turnover rate. No base pay.

    Continue reading
    EJ Sterling2016-07-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not a fan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Stock Broker in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EJ Sterling

    Pros

    Learn to cold call pretty well

    Cons

    They know people won't last. The goal is to get as many cold calls out of you as possible.

    EJ Sterling2016-06-22
  6. "Serious potential for making a lot of money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Broker in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EJ Sterling

    Pros

    Daniel interviewed me and he seemed very honest and broke down everything I would go through as a broker trainee. He was extremely helpful and gave me a break down of the program. The program is amazing and has such a great and unique structure that is intended to help broker trainees pass the Series 7 and 63 exams and then you also study for the series 65 exam and life insurance exam. this company is great!

    Cons

    Not getting paid during the training, however, all of that is offset by the company picking up the tab for all 4 exams.

    Continue reading
    EJ Sterling2016-02-26
  7. "great opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EJ Sterling

    Pros

    Learn a great deal about the business. Especially the sale side of things. Senior brokers are helpful and willing to assist you every step on the way

    Cons

    Do not learn enough about trading in the initial stages of the training program. Long hours spend on the phone prospecting.

    Continue reading
    EJ Sterling2016-01-15
  8. "Extremely rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EJ Sterling full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most people that don't make it through the training program fail to realize that building a business is very different than landing a job. They provide very efficient training and require excellence in all the applicable proficiencies.

    Cons

    It simply isn't for everyone. The industry has a way of swallowing it's young... but those that survive become very successful.

    Continue reading
    EJ Sterling2015-11-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Anonymous Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at EJ Sterling

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere, partners available and willing to help, good mentors.

    Cons

    Don't use the interns. You can go a week with no work.

    EJ Sterling2015-09-25
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great company for self driven individual"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EJ Sterling

    Pros

    Great training and tools to build a business

    Cons

    Pay for own leads and basically everything else.

    Continue reading
    EJ Sterling2015-08-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 19 reviews