EK Health Services Reviews | Glassdoor

EK Health Services Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
EK Health Services CEO Eunhee Kim
Eunhee Kim
1 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Invoicing Specialist in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EK Health Services for less than a year

    Pros

    Great hands on training and offer support throughout your employment.

    Cons

    Building wasn't nice, saw a lot of bugs inside.

    EK Health Services2018-08-22

    EK Health Services Response

    August 27, 2018HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the recommendation. Your concern about bugs has been noted and investigated, including the Finance offices: we find no infestation to correct. We welcome additional information directly to hr@ekhealth.com at any time.

  2. "Average Admin Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EK Health Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training was in depth Ergonomics is taken seriously here

    Cons

    Management is questionable Dull environment Growth opportunities are slow, if any at all

    EK Health Services2019-03-11
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Do Not Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at EK Health Services full-time

    Pros

    None. You can make more doing the same work at other companies.

    Cons

    Pay - $15/hr for starting admin positions, with very little growth potential when moving to other more demanding positions. Too many positions are considered 'lateral' moves, despite the increase in expectations, responsibilities, etc. Intercare & Berkshire both generally pay more. They've lost employees to Intercare several times. Hostile Environment - At least 1 former employee has won an unemployment case... based on hostile environment. Many supervisors should not be in a managerial role. They lack professionalism in their communications (or just don't communicate at all), are often rude & condescending. The office itself is like a library - heaven forbid you need to make a phone call for work. Your coworkers will not take kindly to any noise made. If you bring personal belongings or food into the office, it's fair game for everyone too. Growth Opportunities - there are very few. Departments don't comingle enough to learn skills for other positions. When there are opportunities, they tend to hire from outside instead. Lack of Stability - Don't get used to your supervisor, they'll change it up on a whim. And your desk is temporary - be ready to move whenever management wants a change.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I really wanted to love this company. Make more of an effort to value your employees.

    EK Health Services2018-05-22

    EK Health Services Response

    May 30, 2018HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you left EK with these concerns. To answer a few of them: -There has not been an unemployment case won based on hostile work environment in EK Health's history. -Growth opportunities abound at EK Health. We always look internally for promotable talent before hiring externally, and have promoted internally on many occasions. -Our core leadership team has an average tenure of approximately 6 years with EKHS. While staffing decisions may be made to support changing business needs, we strive to offer stability for all employees. -We welcome actionable feedback at any time to improve our business. Thank you.

    Show Less
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EK Health Services full-time

    Pros

    flexible, knowledgeable, friendly, great pay and great people.

    Cons

    Absolutely none, honestly the best place I have ever worked.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    EK Health Services2017-09-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Licensed Vocational Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at EK Health Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work day is busy, room for growth, management was friendly, clients were great, good benefits. Work closely with MDs which offers a lot of educational opportunities.

    Cons

    Low pay initially & office job with no hands-on patient experience. I felt over-worked most of the time since we were almost always short-staffed.

    Advice to Management

    Higher wages for incoming new nurses to help with retention.

    EK Health Services2017-09-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EK Health Services part-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    None that I know of.

    EK Health Services2017-01-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EK Health Services

    Pros

    Excellent communication with staff, and the company clearly states how it expects an employee to do his/her job. Good training materials and educational materials.

    Cons

    I really can not think of any cons at this point. If anything new comes up I will return and post it. All is positive for now.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. EK has an important role to play in the health care system and appears to be doing its job well handling claims.

    EK Health Services2016-06-21
  9. Helpful (4)

    "CM review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at EK Health Services

    Pros

    They have a good system for case managers and are paperless. The reports populate and are straightforward. Good team and the VP of case management is great. Minimal supervision as long as you are getting your work done and your billable time.

    Cons

    May be a little lower on the salary scale competitively. They pay hourly which is good if you don't want to work over 40 hours as they discourage over time but bad if it gets slow as you don't have a salary to depend on.

    EK Health Services2016-04-11
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Spanish/English Interpreter in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at EK Health Services for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very flexible schedule for contract work.

    Cons

    Not enough interpreting assignments in my area.

    EK Health Services2015-10-07
  11. Helpful (3)

    "High Staff Turnover Rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Huntington Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at EK Health Services for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, good core service offerings.

    Cons

    Low salary, little support from Managers and Executives, high turnover rate and lousy commission structure.

    Advice to Management

    Be more supportive, empathetic and encouraging or you will continue to have high staff turnover rate and that costs more than training managers.

    EK Health Services2015-10-05
Found 15 reviews