ELS Educational Services Reviews | Glassdoor

ELS Educational Services Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 257 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Reiji Terasaka
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits for an ESL school (used to work for 2 other companies that didn't give any benefits)(in 24 reviews)

  • "Health Benefits, great international students(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay like most teaching position(in 16 reviews)

  • "There were not enough students to keep teachers on full time(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Academic Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Director in Cupertino, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    A wonderful, supportive, and positive work environment. Strong program with great teachers and dedicated students. Average salaries are balanced by excellent benefits - full health, dental, vision, pet, 401k, matching, and educational assistance. The leadership is taking strategic steps to keep the company strong and works hard to support the individual center administration teams.

    Cons

    Salaries are not adjusted enough for employees working in very high cost of living areas.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the wonderful work! We appreciate all you do to support the "boots on the ground".

    ELS Educational Services2018-06-24
  2. "Needs new blood"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Students were amazing to work with. So was much of the Center staff.

    Cons

    Bloated management Not keeping up with the times - Change how you do things!

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your stakeholders

    ELS Educational Services2019-05-24
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Soul-crushing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    paid time off and health insurance

    Cons

    curriculum is poorly designed and students' time is often wasted on non-academic activities

    Advice to Management

    I have been teaching ESL/EFL for ten years in many different capacities. I’ve worked at public elementary schools, universities, one-on-one tutoring services, and private language academies. I understand that no school is perfect and that some things must be compromised in order for teachers to make a living. That being said, I have loved teaching at all of those institutions. I loved teaching until I came to ELS. As...

    Show More
    ELS Educational Services2019-05-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "This kite is being dragged down by terrible management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ELS Educational Services part-time

    Pros

    Students are fun and interesting!

    Cons

    St. Louis local management is unqualified, inexperienced and incompetent-admins provide alcohol/party with students! Poor pay and, as overall company fails, fewer hours for teachers.

    Advice to Management

    Just go ahead and shut it down!

    ELS Educational Services2019-05-22
  5. Helpful (4)

    "You can do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good for a Language School

    Cons

    Low pay, disconnected, over-stressed, untrained management

    Advice to Management

    Understand that you and your administrative staff are less important than the product your selling - your teachers. Value teachers by paying them fairly and create an environment that nurtures a career worth keeping.

    ELS Educational Services2019-04-13
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Don’t"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor Specialiat 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Benefits are amazing. 4 weeks of vacation time is nice

    Cons

    Teaching isn’t where they make money so they don’t care about the teachers; pay is low

    ELS Educational Services2019-03-29
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Worst Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Nothing at all, it is a mess here.

    Cons

    I agree with all the negative reviews. Teachers are treated like trash, no respect for effort and time that we invest to keep this place running. Anyone close to the management are given salary raise and promotion even when the company's performance is all time low. In this company, you can grow only if you are a sycophant. This is quite evident , look around the people who are reporting to the executive vice president....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To Curt - You have an opportunity to turn around this company. Old timers will not help you in this pursuit. A jet-setter with an entourage of parasites are bringing down this company. Look around, start with Operations and Admissions.

    ELS Educational Services2019-04-22
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Only for those who cannot find a teaching job anywhere else!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Those who have no teaching experience and no advanced degree can find employment and get experience here.

    Cons

    Instructors are paid only for time in the classroom. You will spend 40-90 hours per week (no exaggeration!) on preparation and grading that is uncompensated. Essentially, you are volunteering your life to keep this cheap company in business. The maximum number of hours that the company will pay for your 80+ hours of work per week is 30. The company shamelessly exploits teachers.

    Advice to Management

    Fight for a salaried position for teachers that pays them fairly for at least a forty hour work week. You know your teachers are working twice that number of hours weekly and getting paid only for 30 hours!

    ELS Educational Services2019-04-22
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Directionless Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Vacation days - Thumbs up! Nothing else.

    Cons

    "Perhaps the less we have, the more we are required to brag" - Fine quotes for the people in operations. Focus on what really matters - Teacher! Pay them well, treat them well. Worst Admissions team - Outdated admission process. Focus on students, bring them to LC, that's where the money is! Sashing around doesn't help.

    Advice to Management

    Company needs a good leader from OUTSIDE.

    ELS Educational Services2019-04-14
  10. Helpful (9)

    "This job crushed my soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ELS Educational Services full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    1 month off paid vacation Teaching experience without a master's degree

    Cons

    This is the Walmart of education. They advertise an impossible model, charge their students a fortune, and pay their teachers nothing. Garbage company

    Advice to Management

    Look in your soul and ask yourself: " Am I a real educator, or just a scummy businessman?" Dean knows what I'm talking about.

    ELS Educational Services2019-04-06
Found 257 reviews